athenahealth Reviews

Updated 11 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth Chairman and CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
274 Ratings
Pros
  • "good comapany to work with,good work life balance(in 206 reviews)

  • "Great culture, People Oriented company with challenging work(in 77 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There has always been a bit of a sacrifice on the work/life balance(in 81 reviews)

  • "Senior Leadership tends to micromanage(in 43 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      Highly recommended place to work

      12 Feb 2021 - Senior Manager in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very progressive company that values all employees and what they can contribute; there is a lot of career growth and ton of hiring going on; financial outlook looks strong; they empower employees to work independently without being micromanaged; the campus in Watertown is beautiful - really a first-class work environment; employees are very high caliber with a lot of talent and drive to contribute. The company has a great mission that affects the lives of all Americans. If you like dogs, you can bring your dog to work. I highly recommend the company and am happy working there.

      Cons

      Not many cons, if any. I think it's the best company I've worked at.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Absolutely bad

      16 Mar 2021 - Credit Support in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Casual dress that’s all that’s good

      Cons

      Everyone is under 20 years old, they act like children and pass the buck

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Managers are worst, full of politics

      9 Nov 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible timings Good work life balance

      Cons

      Don’t join this company and make your life miserable. Managers are the worst doing every kind of politics that you could ever imagine. There were many talented people, most of them left due to their managers and internal politics. Now most of the people who are still working here are the once who doesn’t know working and are survived mainly by their political skills. These people can’t switch their jobs because no one else is going to hire them.

      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Have never been happier

      20 May 2021 - Marketing Manager in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I cant say enough about this company. I have had the SUPER large corporation experience, I have had the midsize company experience and last but CERTAINLY least, I have had the startup company experience. Explaining athena is so difficult because it is a "larger" company, but never have I felt so valued by not only my immediate team, but the executive leaders at athena. The work life balance is unbeatable and real conversations about mental health and how to make the work place even better are happening every day. I absolutely love my job, my company and the people I work with. I am surrounded by innovative and collaborative minds that give everyone in the room a chance to speak and share their ideas. I am both commended on my work and pushed to be an even better version of myself everyday both professionally and personally. You will not regret becoming an athenista!

      Cons

      -If you have animal allergies- you might have a hard time with all of the pups! Stock up on your allergy meds. I do miss seeing the cuties in-office (boo COVID) -new hire orientation is pretty cookie cutter, nothing special, don't let this discourage you from whats ahead once you are united with your team!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A Great Place To Start Your Career

      25 May 2021 - Internship in Chennai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice culture and a great place to start your career you will given enough time to learn the technologies and to get used to the software culture and teammates are also very helpful as a fresher i have learnt soo many things here within very less span of time. I havent felt any work pressure here because of the environment that the team has created work will be very nice with lots of fun and learning totally a very nice experience for me to start my career in such a good company.

      Cons

      Till now i havent feel anything bad about the company so i have no cons to mention.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Big Dissappointment

      1 Jun 2021 - Systems Engineer II in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Executive level management seemed to have the best of intentions at fixing cultural issues and making the company a good place to work for everyone but tangible results were falling short due to incompetent and overloaded low-level managers.

      Cons

      Everyone in the lowest level management positions, and the employees below them, were seriously overloaded with work (it was common for managers to be doing non-management work and thus failing to be great managers), and director level and above were overly focused on cost reduction on tools to the detriment of morale. Two-thirds of the job openings were in the India office. Opportunities in the USA required many years of experience, so the only way to move to something different and grow was to leave the company.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company

      2 Jun 2021 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Company culture (e.g. Athena-ween; Dogs on campus; very communicative leadership; etc.) 2. Stability and growing - been stable and growing since new owners took over. 3. Become very flixible about working remotely since the COVID epidemic started. 4. Competitive compensation

      Cons

      1. Medium-term goal and direction has solidified, however long-term outlook (vision/direction) is not clear. It is not clear where the company will be beyond the exit of the current owners - clearly depends on who buys it. 2. Dogs in the office; if you have a dog allergy

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      It’s ok

      11 Jun 2021 - Operations Associate in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I made great friends, I enjoyed the flexibility of start and end time, overall a good company in the industry. The pay and bonus structure was very strong.

      Cons

      Some of the groups were incredibly cliquey and overall I was bored in my role

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      good to work

      10 Jun 2021 - Athenahealth MBA in Chennai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good company to start with

      Cons

      nothing so far that i know off

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work for!

      25 May 2021 - Associate Member of Technical Staff (AMTS) in Chennai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Extremely knowledgeable and helpful peers - Thriving for excellence is a core company value - Get to work on latest tech stack - Every effort is recognized - Competitive salary and good perks act as a cherry to the cake - Special Covid Relief support like 10 days leave and healthcare benefits

      Cons

      - Some teams have to work on perl as a backend - No other cons as such

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,501 Reviews

    Work at athenahealth? Share Your Experiences

    athenahealth logo
    or