athenahealth Reviews

Updated 29 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth Chairman and CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
98 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Managers are worst, full of politics"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at athenahealth full-time

    Pros

    Flexible timings Good work life balance

    Cons

    Don’t join this company and make your life miserable. Managers are the worst doing every kind of politics that you could ever imagine. There were many talented people, most of them left due to their managers and internal politics. Now most of the people who are still working here are the once who doesn’t know working and are survived mainly by their political skills. These people can’t switch their jobs because no one else is going to hire them.

    athenahealth2017-11-10
  2. "Great company culture and hardworking team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have really enjoyed my time at athena. I feel like my work makes an impact and my team is so hardworking and in it together. Everyone has the same mission in mind and I love it!

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any downsides

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-05-29
  3. "great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Executive in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    strong culture with employee first focus great campus best in industry software w/ name brand recognition great place to start a sales career

    Cons

    some leadership turnover over years lack of upward mobility

    athenahealth2020-05-28
  4. "Great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Diversity, opportunity, collaboration and the ability to grow

    Cons

    Management out of touch with mid-level employees

    athenahealth2020-05-27
  5. "Getting good again"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Associate in Belfast, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance They're finally focusing on getting us thorough training (this is LONG overdue) Interesting, impactful work Excellent response and support during COVID. No complaints at all there.

    Cons

    Pay is okay for the area, but it could definitely improve.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-05-25
  6. "Great analytics team rocked by questionable leadership choices"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Science Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When I arrived, athena had an excellent analytics/data science team culture, with a pronounced emphasis on successful onboarding. The people on my team were very positive and operated with a great deal of integrity. While the company was focused on serving the smaller provider practices, leadership was effective at staying on mission. They company made continual improvements to the Watertown campus with meaningful perks like a high-quality, healthy, subsidized cafeteria and bonding events off-site.

    Cons

    The company took a turn as they over expanded into the hospital space and started to take heat from activist investors (you can read about it in the New Yorker). Leadership panicked and got confused, which resulted in multiple re-orgs which laid people off and left the remaining people without a clear role (Some teams were so purposeless that the phrase 'athenacation' was coined to describe the state of permanent goofing off.) At that point I left, and the company was taken private and may be a very different place now.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-05-11
  7. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, allows people to be autonomous

    Cons

    Commute to Watertown challenging at times

    athenahealth2020-05-06
  8. "Great place to learn and grow"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people who care about your success If you put the work in you will be rewarded Truly care about their clients

    Cons

    Can be a bit political

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-04-23
  9. "Good company but unclear strategy"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Provides good benefits - Great work-life balance

    Cons

    - Being a healthcare-tech, you won't get to work on latest tech such as ai/machine learning - Because of acquisition, its strategy is not yet in place. It might become better though in the coming years

    athenahealth2020-05-07
  10. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Watertown, MA

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time

    Pros

    Nice work environment, friendly coworker

    Cons

    Nothing really come to my mind for this

    athenahealth2020-04-17
Found 1147 reviews