nearmap Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 127 of over 134 reviews

3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
nearmap CEO Rob Newman
Rob Newman
90 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good location, great waterview kitchen, and free food(in 10 reviews)

  • "Good work/life balance and good product(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Staff Turnover is very high including 2 HR Managers in 2 years(in 6 reviews)

  • "exec team(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Jul 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good teamwork, Nearmappers are friendly and approachable

      Cons

      We're in lockdown so can't enjoy our nice office

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Understand management strategy and know where you stand

      Sep 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They can paint a picture of what they want to be and take you with them. Obviously, the company has grown and has come along a long way but there is a longer way.

      Cons

      HR Things only might look exciting when you are in a certain part of business and for the rest it is just very normal. NO VALUE FOR WORK DONE - GET SENT HOME EASILY CALLING REDUNDANCY Career progression - promise and word games - can't find better wordsmiths Think before you join. If you have other options choose them over this company

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      fun culture, exciting tech

      Jul 7, 2021 - Executive Assistant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great offices, the culture was fun, execs open door policy

      Cons

      can't think of any cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Greed is getting the better of Nearmap.

      Jul 11, 2021 - Sales Representative in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great Office Location, in Barangaroo.

      Cons

      Greed is at an all time high. Do not join this company if you are a hard worker, an over achiever - or both. You will not be met with reward or recognition for your efforts. COVID has treated Nearmap very kindly - sales are through the roof. So much so, that a statement was released to the ASX on the 4th May saying that we are increasing our FY21 ACV Guidance (which means how much we will sell for the FY). A strong year despite all hurdles is due to the value proposition (less time on site, work remotely ETC), but it is also down to the hard work, professionalism and dedication from the Sales Reps. FY21 efforts were met with unfair increases in targets across the [many different] sales teams. 30-50% increases across the these teams. The real insult is that on top of this our OTE's didn't increase with the targets, which results in you having to sell much more to earn the same money as the year prior. This is the third time in as many years that this has happened, this year being the largest change, and why i feel that enough is enough and i am taking to GlassDoor to share my experience. Nearmap is going to struggle to hold on to their talent, i see many people leaving in the coming months. When word spreads through the industry, they will also have a hard time in recruiting.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Nice

      Jul 3, 2021 - Software Engineer in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of autonomy and trust given to the engineers. Many interesting and challenging technical problems to overcome. Understanding from management that we need the balance of time spending paying the technical debt and adding new features. Salary is highly competitive. Many smart people to learn from and most people will take some extra time to help you out and mentor you.

      Cons

      Feels like sales team is the focus of senior executives. Feels like Tech Company dressed in the clothes of a salesman.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Product & People

      Jun 18, 2021 - Account Manager in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Fantastic product -Good culture -Rewarding commission structure

      Cons

      -Little to no formalised career progression

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fast paced, diverse, open minded

      Jun 15, 2021 - Software Engineer in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm learning a huge amount. Great people. Intimidating at times with how smart the people are. Incredibly accommodating to employees (I have a disability and the level of support around that has been amazing). True diversity of thought exists in the organisation - left wing, right wing, people are quite open minded, which leads to better problem solving and honesty.

      Cons

      Highly competitive, high expectations, could do with a more holistic focus on creating community. That said it's understandable given the huge growth that this is taking time. The cons are expected - it's a great environment and you need to perform to be in it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Very creative, talent people

      Jun 15, 2021 - Software Engineer in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Great people to work with 2. Fantastic office 3. Nice project.

      Cons

      Not that I can think of so far.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Smooth Interview Process

      Jun 16, 2021 - Software Engineering Manager in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interview process was efficient and well structured. A good overview of the role was given by the hiring manager and I was able to ask plenty of questions during the first round to ensure it would be a good fit before progressing so far. 2nd round consisted of a technical assessment and follow up discussion. 3rd round was a F2F with senior leadership. Technical assessment was well scoped and only took a couple of hours to complete. The talent acquisition reps promptly followed up each session and gave feedback, and the 3 formal rounds, plus initial discussion with TA were completed within 2 weeks. Very happy with the overall experience.

      Cons

      No cons in my experience.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great work culture and interesting problems to solve

      Jun 16, 2021 - Principal Software Engineer in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large scale problems to solve Great location Great remote working cadence Excellent culture Look after their people

      Cons

      No downsides i can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 127 Reviews

    Popular Careers with nearmap Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at nearmap? Share Your Experiences

    nearmap logo
    or