nearmap Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

nearmap Reviews

Updated 16 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
nearmap CEO Rob Newman
Rob Newman
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "The free food is a huge added bonus(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great people at lower levels here in the states(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "The staff turnover is very high and i can understand why with the current direction of the company(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company and product!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at nearmap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and product. Lots of events to keep staff happy. Great office.

    Cons

    Long hours with lots to do.

    nearmap2019-09-12
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Woeful culture going backwards by the day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at nearmap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, good location in Barangaroo

    Cons

    Culture of gossip, complete lack of professionalism or integrity from HR department, which starts and ends with the VP of People and Culture. Said VP has had countless formal complaints lodged against them, for embarrassing breaches of conduct. Said HR team spends half its time on Glassdoor trying to balance out the well-deserved poor reviews that Nearmap is attracting - and presenting a facade of being a "great... place to work". Ironically, these very people are the ones who are steadily ruining the company. This, coupled with a VP of Sales completely out of touch with employees, and under the thumb of his best mate in HR, makes for an officious and nasty place to work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put more capable people in charge of the aforementioned positions.

    nearmap2019-08-30
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing technology, this company is on the UP!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at nearmap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Some really smart people work here. There's a great opportunity to learn from them. - Very high spec computers for engineers (although not sure if this is the case for other roles). - The company is going through a phase of high headcount growth right now, and onboarding is topnotch (I started a few months ago). - Colleagues are all friendly, and there is an atmosphere of collaboration as opposed to... competitiveness. - Good office location in Barangaroo. Modern office interior with standing desks etc. - Well stocked kitchen (better than my kitchen at home). Easily can put together something for lunch each day without having to buy takeout. - Relaxed office culture. Beers on Friday afternoon to finish off the week etc. - Good work/life balance. People work hard then they go home. - Extremely competitive remuneration.

    Show More

    Cons

    None are apparent to me yet.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing (it seems to be working well). Try to maintain the company culture as the company expands. Strong culture comes from the top, so it's your responsibility to get it right.

    nearmap2019-05-11
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at nearmap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I recently started at Nearmap and I have to say what a great place to work! Everyone is super friendly, very helpful and everyone makes you feel like a part of the team from day one! The company on boarding process has been the best I've ever been apart of when starting with a new company. Your direct report takes you for a 1:1 lunch on day one which I found very helpful especially with busy schedules that you’re... able to form a relationship from day dot. The kitchen is fully stocked with food for breakfast, lunch and snacks with an awesome variety. The office is very modern with every desk a raiseable desk.

    Show More

    Cons

    Don't believe the negative comments on here.

    Advice to Management

    Loving the open door policy, please never change that!

    nearmap2019-05-09
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Do NOT work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at nearmap full-time

    Pros

    Office location Fully stocked kitchen Flexible working hours The office in Barangaroo is fantastic, very spacious and right by the water. You have a large selections of cafes/bars/restaurants to choose from. Like most successful companies these days they provide a kitchen which is stocked for most of the week with a selection of food for breakfast and lunch. Other employee benefits include a fortnightly... massage, gym and phone allowance. However these benefits are all just a way to hide the deep ridden issues that plague the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    CEO HR team Culture of bullying and gossiping Minimal professionalism After working for this company for a long time, i have a real understanding of the many problems that need addressing. It starts at the top with the CEO, whilst he is an intelligent, successful man he is a poor leader and as such members of the exec team are unprofessional and abuse their power. The CEO is out of touch with most of the... employees and spends very little time engaging staff. HR in particular is non existent, people can and do bully as they please, complaints go unanswered and they will make you redundant if they don't like you. There is very little consistency and managers with big egos are allowed to do as they please. Across areas of the business there is a heavy drinking culture and with this goes unchecked despite everyone well aware. The product itself is fantastic but with new competitors in the market the results are starting to suffer. The staff turnover is very high and i can understand why with the current direction of the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start actually leading by example and managing people. Currently everything is swept under the rug and no one will make the necessary and hard decisions. Practice what you preach.

    nearmap2019-04-27
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Potential without a leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at nearmap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is above average in the sector.

    Cons

    The CEO on the service is good, but the closer you get to him you realise that he is fake.

    Advice to Management

    Succession planning, succession planning and succession planning. Some members of the current Executive is ready to step up.

    nearmap2019-03-21
  7. Helpful (16)

    "Australia’s Worst CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at nearmap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some very intelligent people work here. Nice office location. Good tech. Ease of doing business and simplicity score very highly.

    Cons

    Thought I’d give Newman a go and see if he’d improve with some experience but my goodness what disaster. Worst CEO I’ve ever seen in action. This guy is literally winging it everyday and offers no executive management, leadership or basic operational skills to the teams he manages. We see outbursts, devious behaviour, nutty antics and outright inappropriate judgment calls every week. Employee turnover is massive.... HR are full-time PR machines for the Boss. If you are reading this - stay away from Nearmap! You’ll end up like the rest of us - disappointed and worn out trying to understand the direction of a first time 60 year old CEO who has no clue what he’s doing day to day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire a female CEO instead of the token management you swap in and out right before your annual reports to shareholders.

    nearmap2019-03-17
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Love It!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at nearmap full-time

    Pros

    Nearmap is overall a really enjoyable place to work - from the open office space and collaboration zones to the open-door management style and fun culture. Despite some recent changes to the executive team, it is nice to see a clear vision and complete transparency on the realistic goals we are looking to achieve in the next few years. There are also a number of killer benefits on offer too which tick all of the... boxes, can't really complain!

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing springs to mind, but if I had to say one thing it would be clearer communication between teams, however I feel as though this is something that can always be improved anywhere you work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing - we are heading in the right direction.

    nearmap2018-07-10
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at nearmap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work, really nice people and we are treated exceptionally well. There seems to be focus on getting and holding onto employees long term. So expect plenty of opportunities to upskill / grow. And flexible hours should you need to run errands, do baby stuff etc. Smart people to learn from. Friendly inclusive environment.

    Cons

    Company mission / purpose stuff is cheesy and feels forced. Being a publicly listed company can mean senior management play it safe with some decisions.

    Advice to Management

    The CEO Rob Newman is incredibly nice / approachable. And I think he’s doing an excellent job. Keep doing what you’re doing.

    nearmap2017-11-23
  10. Helpful (28)

    "Culture, Culture, Culture SHOCK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at nearmap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All the things people say on here is true there are loads of good points to cover. Mostly it is free food and drink. Office move is good for a nice change but harder for people to get to. Few big parties coming up which is good for us. Bit of social buzz, chance to let hair down a bit and drink up company tab My manager is great, working for a woman is good because they care about your feelings and make time for... you.

    Show More

    Cons

    We think the CEO is the biggest problem and anxious culture he created is next. Rob is up and down and all over the place. When he first started, he was okay and seemed very happy chappy and smiley and fun. Not long after that many people (you'd be shocked how many) started leaving or sacked then he flipped out a few times (banging fists on tables, walls while screaming very loud ) and people started talking.... Temperamental, moody outbursts and a inconsistent emotions day-to-day creates anxious employees. This is a big reason for my negative review - and to warn others. To people looking at working here. Do you research and ask lots of questions about company history. Ask about your role, who was in it before, and why they left. Ask about your Manager – how long have they been with company and why did the last Manager leave? Ask for reference staff, perhaps meet them for coffee. Get to the bottom of what is real and what is not because it will put you and family under lots of stress if you leave stable good job to come work here for a mad little man.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Can the cheesy pep-talks and silly antics in your attempts to create a “fun” environment. We want serious, seasoned professionals in charge, not clowns running around trying to make us laugh. We know you pay a lot of attention to this site, so please do something about Rob because he is scary to work for and people don’t feel safe talking to HR. Too many good employees gone for this reason.

    nearmap2017-11-01
Found 80 reviews