nearmap Reviews

Updated 20 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
54%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
nearmap CEO Rob Newman
Rob Newman
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "The free food is a huge added bonus(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great people at lower levels here in the states(in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best place I've worked"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at nearmap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Collaborative Culture - Lots to learn (I've learnt more from my colleagues here than any other workplace) - Not scared to have hard conversations - Growth mindset, everyone here is ambitious and motivated - Opportunity for progression The extra things like Food and Gym allowance are great, but these are secondary to the team and opportunity within Nearmap

    Cons

    - High growth targets can put a lot of pressure on people, some people within the team are more affected by this than others.

    Continue reading
    nearmap2020-03-08
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Regret"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at nearmap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Product is good, the office is nice

    Cons

    A huge problem with bullying exists within the business. When I asked about the negative reviews in my interview and the HR person told me it was just disgruntled ex-employees. Upon starting I quickly realised this was not the case. The culture they've created is really hard to show up to every day and the disengagement that I can see within the employee mix is very sad for such a great product.

    Continue reading
    nearmap2020-03-05
  3. Helpful (9)

    "It’s time to go Mr CEO"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at nearmap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great offices Intelligent like minded team Free food

    Cons

    Toxic environment Non compliant issues hidden CEO can not be trusted

    Continue reading
    nearmap2020-02-25
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Unprofessional & Toxic Sales Environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at nearmap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Office Location The Product Company perks and incentives Work life balance

    Cons

    Sales Management Career Progression Lack of product innovation Exec team out of touch I would like to start first by saying this review is aimed purely at the Sydney office sales team, not the broader company as a whole. After a lengthy tenure at Nearmap i felt compelled to warn anyone who is potentially considering a role in the sales team in Sydney. The environment/culture here is the worst i have ever been apart of. Every week there is a new scandal of gossip and high school behaviour. New starters are exiled unless they agree to participate in excessive alcohol consumption on a daily basis. The long term managers in particular set the worst example possible and have no qualifications to justify the position they are in. The attrition rate is close to 50% as high performers/managers and new starters leave en mass due to the lack of direction, professionalism and unchecked bullying that is handed out by certain members of staff. I can't stress enough that this is not a company you want to be apart of in it's current state. It's a shame because the product has huge potential, other teams within the business are great but until particular toxic staff move on the reality show that has become Nearmap's sales team will never change.

    Continue reading
    nearmap2020-01-19
  5. "It was a lot of fun."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at nearmap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people and environment are amazing.

    Cons

    Nothing really that bothered me there.

    nearmap2019-12-17
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Office"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office in Sydney
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at nearmap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great location, some really amazing people, social events.

    Cons

    People get promoted by not the actual work they do but who they know. Very very sad, pay structure doesn’t make sense for some employees who can’t even understand what they have to do but learn from long term employees in the business. Quite buearocratic, you will only advance if you know someone in the business. You could be the worst worker but still get ahead.

    Continue reading
    nearmap2019-11-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company and product!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at nearmap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and product. Lots of events to keep staff happy. Great office.

    Cons

    Long hours with lots to do.

    nearmap2019-09-12
  8. Helpful (20)

    "Woeful culture going backwards by the day"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at nearmap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, good location in Barangaroo

    Cons

    Culture of gossip, complete lack of professionalism or integrity from HR department, which starts and ends with the VP of People and Culture. Said VP has had countless formal complaints lodged against them, for embarrassing breaches of conduct. Said HR team spends half its time on Glassdoor trying to balance out the well-deserved poor reviews that Nearmap is attracting - and presenting a facade of being a "great place to work". Ironically, these very people are the ones who are steadily ruining the company. This, coupled with a VP of Sales completely out of touch with employees, and under the thumb of his best mate in HR, makes for an officious and nasty place to work.

    Continue reading
    nearmap2019-08-30
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Amazing technology, this company is on the UP!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at nearmap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Some really smart people work here. There's a great opportunity to learn from them. - Very high spec computers for engineers (although not sure if this is the case for other roles). - The company is going through a phase of high headcount growth right now, and onboarding is topnotch (I started a few months ago). - Colleagues are all friendly, and there is an atmosphere of collaboration as opposed to competitiveness. - Good office location in Barangaroo. Modern office interior with standing desks etc. - Well stocked kitchen (better than my kitchen at home). Easily can put together something for lunch each day without having to buy takeout. - Relaxed office culture. Beers on Friday afternoon to finish off the week etc. - Good work/life balance. People work hard then they go home. - Extremely competitive remuneration.

    Cons

    None are apparent to me yet.

    Continue reading
    nearmap2019-05-11
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Best company I've ever worked for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at nearmap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I recently started at Nearmap and I have to say what a great place to work! Everyone is super friendly, very helpful and everyone makes you feel like a part of the team from day one! The company on boarding process has been the best I've ever been apart of when starting with a new company. Your direct report takes you for a 1:1 lunch on day one which I found very helpful especially with busy schedules that you’re able to form a relationship from day dot. The kitchen is fully stocked with food for breakfast, lunch and snacks with an awesome variety. The office is very modern with every desk a raiseable desk.

    Cons

    Don't believe the negative comments on here.

    Continue reading
    nearmap2019-05-09
Found 87 reviews