next Reviews

Updated 29 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
next CEO Simon Wolfson
Simon Wolfson
564 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Christmas period is long hours and disruptive(in 96 reviews)

  • "Only national minimum wage paid for high intensity customer service(in 62 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales consultant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Consultant in Ipswich
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at next

    Pros

    Fast paced work, good bonus, great working wardrobe clothes

    Cons

    Training, red weeks and boxing sale day

    Continue reading
    next2015-10-12
  2. "Good for students"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Christmas Casual/Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at next part-time

    Pros

    Most of the staff were friendly

    Cons

    Some rude staff that were not helpful

    next2020-02-09

    next Response

    February 12, 2020Internal Recruiter

    Really glad to hear that you feel Next was a great place to work and you got on with your colleagues. We encourage our employees if they have any issues to raise with their management or HR so that they can be resolved.

  3. "Good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at next part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great colleagues and great working environment

    Cons

    lack of progression opportunities and work sometimes goes unrecognised

    next2020-05-28
  4. "Working at Next"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends

    I worked at next part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always something to do, take your own initiative. Very friendly

    Cons

    Not everything is taught, some things are you learn as you go along. Sales are crazy!

    next2020-05-27

    next Response

    May 28, 2020

    Thank you for your review . We're glad to see that you have enjoyed your part-time role with us, and you found the environment and team friendly and supportive. We're sorry to hear about your training. We recognise this is a key area and we would always advise to book a meeting with your team leader or line manager if you are unsure of how to conduct any tasks as they are always there to help assist your development. As a key period for us, we recognise our sales are a busy time and we'd like to thank our people for doing their best to provide the best service during this time.

  5. "Good"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Team Coach 

    I have been working at next part-time

    Pros

    Good friendly staff. . .

    Cons

    Sometimes poor management and high staff turnover

    next2020-05-26

    next Response

    May 28, 2020

    Thank you for your review. Great to see you have enjoyed working with us and your found the team friendly. We're sorry to hear about your experience with management. We'd like to take the time to apologise. We'd always recommend consulting your line manager or a team leader with any issues you may oversee during your working shift.

  6. "great job"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Sales Support 

    I worked at next part-time

    Pros

    Supportive, collaborative environment - good pay

    Cons

    NONE, great place to work overall

    next2020-05-19

    next Response

    May 21, 2020

    Hi and thank you so much for your review. It is great to hear that you are have enjoyed your role within our Next team and you felt support and collaborations was good.

  7. "Okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Birmingham, England

    I worked at next part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    its a calm job but that depends on the time and location.

    Cons

    My manager was pretty harsh with employees.

    next2020-05-29
  8. "Good, recommend it for students"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at next full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours for part time job at uni. Work isn't that intense.

    Cons

    Management at my branch was a mess, may vary from branch to branch.

    Continue reading
    next2020-05-12

    next Response

    May 21, 2020

    Hi thanks for your review. We're glad to see you have enjoyed working with us during your education and practising independence for the future. We are really sorry to hear about your experience with management. We'd like to suggest that if there are issues, we'd recommend booking in time to discuss this with your line manager.

  9. "Worked the Summer Sale"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at next part-time

    Pros

    Friendly people, there was no formal interview for the job just an induction day explaining what we had to do during the sale period.

    Cons

    I was only there for the sale period, so I don't have any cons for working here.

    next2020-05-11

    next Response

    May 21, 2020

    Thank you so much for your review. It's good to hear you have enjoy the experience with working with us part-time and got to meet some good and friendly people, this a big part of our Next culture

  10. "Great flexible part-time job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at next part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexibility, friendly staff, staff discount

    Cons

    seasonal hours, pay less than living wage

    next2020-05-10

    next Response

    May 28, 2020

    Thanks for your review. It seems that there were a lot of pros in your time working at Next which is great to hear. We always reward hard work and are we are glad to know you have enjoyed the flexibility approach to work. This is a big part of our company as we like to ensure we practice maintaining a healthy work and lifestyle balance for our employees. We have lots of different shift patterns and try to be as flexible as possible dependent on what the workload for that particular time period is as we recognise during points within the year there may be higher demand in store, especially for sale periods. We will feed the above back to our teams.

Found 2197 reviews
</>Embed