next Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

next Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1720 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
next CEO Simon Wolfson
Simon Wolfson
449 Ratings
  1. "Some glaring issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at next part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You'll make some good friends with people in your team but I guess this goes for every retail type job

    Cons

    For the most part management was decent but one higher up was aggressively demeaning and disrespectful towards us despite only being one rung higher on the ladder. She was enabled by our site manager and she was ridiculously rude and patronising, to the point where you start to think she doesn't want you to succeed at the job she wants to add further hurdles just so that she can ridicule you. Also the hours given were...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Better rota structure, don't enable people who let the smallest amount of power get to their heads

    next2019-07-04
  2. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales 

      I worked at next part-time

      Pros

      People were okay I think

      Cons

      Couldn't schedule shifts v well

      next2019-06-16
    • "Not very stimulating"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Birstall, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at next part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Some of the staff were very nice and helpful

        Cons

        A lot of the staff can be very cliquey Not very stimulating work

        next2019-07-01
      • "Pros and Cons"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Assistant Merchandiser in Leicester, England
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at next full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Some really great people at Next Great trainee scheme Above average salaries for the industry

        Cons

        Difficult to move on in the role Variations in management style

        next2019-06-15
      • "Not too bad, could be better"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at next part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Wide range of shifts, there is union on board.

        Cons

        Hard job, not equal targets, mostly not polite managers.

        next2019-06-14
      • "Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Warehouse Picker in South Elmsall, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at next full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Nice atmosphere at work, opportunity to learn many activities

        Cons

        high temperature in a warehouse in the summer

        next2019-06-14
      • "Great work environment, no cons"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at next part-time

          Pros

          Great management team and collegues Good hours

          Cons

          No cons, great work environment

          next2019-06-14
        • "Poor pay"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Milton Keynes, England
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook

          I have been working at next part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Good colleagues, some nice managers

          Cons

          Poor pay, lots of responsibility

          Advice to Management

          Offer better hours - less late nights and early mornings. Try to remember staff names

          next2019-06-28
        • "Good place to work (last worked 2009 not 2015 as no option to select 2009)"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Senior Sales Manager in London, England
          Recommends
          No Opinion of CEO

          I worked at next part-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Enjoyed my time there and plenty of opportunity to move departments and gain new skill

          Cons

          On late shifts they most of the time make you stay extra 15min to tidy up unpaid

          next2019-06-12
        • "Good for retail work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Sales Consultant in York, England
            Doesn't Recommend
            Neutral Outlook
            No Opinion of CEO

            I worked at next part-time for less than a year

            Pros

            There is a decent variety of work to do in the bigger stores. The worst thing about working retail is the boredom while you wait for customers. However, Next upholds relatively high standards for the stores and provides a lot of different services (including sales). There is always something to do. Also, most of the information, training and rota-related activities can be accessed through the employee portal online...

            Show More

            Cons

            Working in the Home section can be uneventful if you are not trained for it. This is a problem because a lot of the people who end up working on Home are untrained (including me). This means much of work becomes taking customers to the trained staff rather than doing stimulating work yourself.

            next2019-06-13
          Found 1720 reviews