next Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

next Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
next CEO Simon Wolfson
Simon Wolfson
491 Ratings
  1. "Next is a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England

    I worked at next part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the uniform discounts are desireable

    Cons

    The pay could be more than it currently is at the moment

    next2019-10-02
  2. "Good starting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Next Sales Consultant 

    I have been working at next full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working, shift swap, monthly bonus, uniform allowance

    Cons

    Hard to progress your career if you wanted to

    next2019-09-17
  3. "Glad I left"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at next part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice working environment career progression

    Cons

    Little regard for staff by the business. Have to purchase the uniform each fashion season Have to buy own ticket to Christmas Party

    Advice to Management

    Remember who makes your money

    next2019-10-01
  4. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at next part-time

    Pros

    The staff I worked with were really friendly

    Cons

    It can be tough working long hours during sale periods

    next2019-09-16
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at next part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team actually became my friends. There is a portal where you can offer up shifts and take other people’s shifts, it’s a great way of getting cover without having to take holiday. Good discount.

    Cons

    Working weekends and long hours, hard to get shifts covered at the weekend. Working Christmas and sale.

    next2019-09-17
  6. "Not the most helpful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Livingston, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at next part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can work whenever you want - always shifts to pick up/swap with someone else Continuous training

    Cons

    Work is much more manual labour than you would expect with retail. Not much flexibility in terms of illness, especially if you're part-time. The threshold to hit a 'pressure point' for getting spoken to about day off can sometimes mean you get a warning after a single day off. Managers not very open to advice from people who work under them. Lots of people really don't care since its retail work

    next2019-09-30
  7. "Typical deadend job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Team in Oldham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at next part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    a Great environment and a great atmosphere

    Cons

    Lack of progression/appreciation Low morale Very little opportunity

    next2019-10-01
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at next part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ability to pick up hours

    Cons

    Not really that many to be honest

    next2019-09-14
  9. "Too much work and poor wages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stockroom Assistant in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at next part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Shift flexibility, good work experience

    Cons

    Poor wages, too much work always tidying up the store

    next2019-09-28
  10. "Not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Sales Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at next

    Pros

    Good people and nice teams.

    Cons

    Changing contracted hours without prior discussion, sometimes till 11pm at night, to me this classes as shift work.

    Advice to Management

    Have more respect for your employees, taking into account their personal lives and discussing any shift amendments before just changing them on shift marketplace.

    next2019-09-29
Found 1898 reviews
</>Embed