next Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Find jobs for Store Manager

next Store Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
next CEO Simon Wolfson
Simon Wolfson
10 Ratings
  1. "Strong company but could be better for the retail teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at next full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good discount, pay is lower than some retailers but consistent and fairly paid. Good working conditions, clear management direction.

    Cons

    Difficult to progress, bonus and salaries have stagnated due to the lower returns on retail sales

    Advice to Management

    More manhours will improve service and sales

    next2019-09-12
  2. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at next full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hard work but rewarding, strong in training and following up.

    Cons

    The area management were reluctant to give praise where it’s due.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to value all staff.

    next2019-09-10
  3. "A Great Grow From Within Ethos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Guildford, England

    I worked at next full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I started out working as a part time Sales Assistant one afternoon a week and in the stockroom on day a week. Next took the time to develop and train me along with all other staff and encouraged me to push my own boundaries. In my time there I went from being part time to full time, then head team coach, then floor coordinator and then to an assistant store manager role within a short period of time. There was an... incredible family feel to the team, not only in the store we were in but also with other stores in the area. There were clear lines of management. Not to mention a decent staff discount and great sales stock. On the whole I loved working for Next, the people were fantastic and I felt supported and encouraged. Next was a really varied role where you are expected to spread yourself a little thin and get involved with all aspects from health and safety, HR, budgetiting, planning ect but it is becasue of this I do the role I do now. It was a great start to my career.

    Show More

    Cons

    Towards the end of my time at Next, staff cut back had been pretty dramatic, leaving everyone under a lot of pressure and there was an expectation that levels of service would stay the same with a greatly decrease staff. We had a new higher management structure/ team and there was a lack of communication from the top. With the new higher up management there was a feel of favouritism.

    Advice to Management

    Since leaving Next I have seen improvements with staff numbers going up. Next used to have fantastic communication between all levels and I hope this continues. Overall, I loved my time at Next.

    next2019-05-23

    next Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Social Media Editor

    Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Thanks for the pros and the cons! We'll be sure to take your comments about communication on board and make sure we get better!

  4. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at next full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, great benefits, great clothes

    Cons

    Retail sick pay poor, Regio al Managers out of touch

    Advice to Management

    Review sickness procedures

    next2019-04-14
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at next full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great organisation to work for as a Manager great training and support.

    Cons

    Not many opportunities to progress onto senior roles.

    Advice to Management

    To listen to alternative ideas for business opportunities.

    next2019-03-23
  6. "Best decision I’ve ever made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Dundrum, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at next full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The People.Customers and staff .Ive worked for a few big name retailers before and Next is by far the best company to work for. Their support for all areas of the business from AM’s to Store Managers to the staff is outstanding. Training is vital for any staff member Or manager and they invest time into everyone. They never do anything flippantly and every decision is people or brand focused. Best decision that I... was lucky enough to ever make was to join next and I can see a long career with Next.

    Show More

    Cons

    System Issues with rfid.Huge benefit to the business but can be slightly frustrating when it doesn’t work correctly from the start. Invest more staff into supporting customer service during Christmas time which will benefit customers and at store level so stores can focus more time on customers.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing an amazing job.

    next2019-01-21
  7. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at next full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, energetic environment with great people

    Cons

    Expectations unrealistic with minimal resources

    Advice to Management

    Be involved with the team

    next2018-08-10
  8. "A disgrace of a business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at next full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some decent systems for scheduling & staff management Discount

    Cons

    The whole business is a shambles. Very little regard to its people & as for Health & Safety, they talk the talk, but in reality this is way down the priority line. Forced to work in a dangerous store, which had many issues reported, however these were just given lip service by anyone outside the store. If you weren't in the inner circle at area level, you were treated appallingly & marginalised at every... opportunity. Line Manager was invisible & ineffective. The worst career move ever made - don't do it to yourself.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    They were so poor I'd advise sacking yourselves & letting competent people take over

    next2018-04-30
  9. "The regime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at next for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Colleagues Discounts and uniform Share shave scheme

    Cons

    Hours Lack of support from some head office departments Unrealistic expectations

    Advice to Management

    Throughout my time with Next I often wondered whether those at the top of the chain knew exactly what was going on in stores, or whether it was so sugar coated by the time it reached them that the 'problems' were never recognised!? Massive respect for the directors at the top, but I think there given info on a "need to know" basis without actually ever been given the truth!

    next2017-09-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits, too rigid in terms of procedures"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Shrewsbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at next full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, pay even at sales assistant level is good when you include generous bonus scheme, uniform allowance is very good.

    Cons

    Too strict in terms of procedures, very rigid, no autonomy given to stores, VERY robotic. Not allowed or encouraged to think for yourself

    next2017-02-16
Found 12 reviews