swissbäkers Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

swissbäkers Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
22%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Helene & Thomas Stohr
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "You must be assertive to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at swissbäkers part-time

    Pros

    The pay is fairly good, though you really have to go after them to give you a performance review/raise. Many of my fellow "guest huggers" were great to work with. This is a great place to fit in part-time work while you're at college. If you show up on time and get your work done, you will be on track to a raise.

    Cons

    - Success at Swissbakers depends on a heavy level of independence. Your availability requests will not be honored unless you repeat and enforce them many times. They will guilt you into upending your work/life balance if they can. - Trans people, proceed with caution. The general manager doesn't respect they/them pronouns, and I only felt safe broaching trans/queer topics after months of working there. - It is also...

    Show More
    swissbäkers2019-01-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "DO NOT WORK HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pastry Chef in Allston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at swissbäkers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool Coworkers, free onsite parking, free brunch on the weekends

    Cons

    HORRIBLE FAMILY who have no idea how to be respectful to their team. No concept of team, team building, or how to be a good leader. AVOID THIS COMPANY!!!!

    Advice to Management

    Grow up, get your act together, take some team management and leadership classes and stop being so disrespectful to your team.

    swissbäkers2018-12-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth the stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at swissbäkers

    Pros

    Free food along with awesome co workers

    Cons

    Awful management, last minute shift changes. Expect to do things out of your job description. Owners and upper management have no respect for employees and it’s their way or the highway. Owners constantly disagreeing with each other. Pressured to constantly bother the customers to buy things when they are just looking .

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees advice and stop micro managing to an extreme.

    swissbäkers2018-12-10
  4. "Excellent, enjoyable workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Allston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at swissbäkers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • Outgoing, kind, responsible co-workers • Excellent, approachable management • Delicious, unique baked goods • Interesting, friendly clientele It was wonderful to work for a local business with a high-quality product. I have been a customer for years and it was nice to be contributing to a business I greatly appreciate!

    Cons

    I had to return to school. I wish I could work for swissbäkers year-round.

    swissbäkers2018-09-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible Bosses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Allston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at swissbäkers full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, decent food, one week paid vacation

    Cons

    Owners create a high stress environment. Worked above and beyond pay rate

    Advice to Management

    Back of, stop nitpicking amd let ypur staff do their job

    swissbäkers2018-08-18
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Complete disaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at swissbäkers full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers Free/Discount delicious Food They remember your birthday

    Cons

    This place is so disorganized and mismanaged it is nearly comical. Months later, though I wish I could write my experience with this company into a witty sitcom, I simply can’t — I’m still having nightmares. Oh I wish I was joking. I’ve never been more belittled or humiliated as an employee in my life - and I came from cleaning hotel bathrooms. Expect low wages (and your paycheck mysteriously short occasionally), long...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Release your iron fists and let people work. Don’t try to control every single thing in every department. You can’t, that’s why you need to hire and actually trust managers.

    swissbäkers2018-07-24
  7. "Watched a company grow from the inside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at swissbäkers part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I loved the contact with many happy guests. Explaining good quality European style food was satisfying. The work environment was fair, my boss jumped in to help at stressfull times. In a fast growing company everyone was expected to pull their weight, from the owner all the way down. Good work was recognized and rewarded.

    Cons

    Work schedules were sometimes very late.

    Advice to Management

    Be better organized for staffing issues.

    swissbäkers2018-05-04
  8. "Guest Hugger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Guest Hugger in Reading, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at swissbäkers part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Fun, bake and taste everything!

      Cons

      After 10AM it gets slow .

      Advice to Management

      Continue to allow singing and tap dancing!!

      swissbäkers2018-05-02
    • "One of my favorite jobs"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Co Entrepreneur in Reading, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at swissbäkers full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      It's a family owned company and you get to partake of their baked goods while working with an energetic and friendly group of people!

      Cons

      You'll eat a lot more than you may want to

      Advice to Management

      N/a

      swissbäkers2018-05-02
    • "Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Management in Allston, MA
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at swissbäkers full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Product is without peer. All hand made, daily. Ability to learn and in turn lead others. Opportunity to directly contribute to the growth of the company. Company culture promotes pride.

      Cons

      Separating work and private life can be difficult. It is up to you to stand your ground.

      Advice to Management

      Find a way to keep the good people, it is imperative.

      swissbäkers2018-04-24
    Found 22 reviews