3M Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

3M Reviews

Updated 23 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3074 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
3M CEO Mike Roman
Mike Roman
235 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Falta um plano de carreira para equipe de promotores e vendedores(in 64 reviews)

  • "More conservative when it comes to working remotely which impacts work/life balance - basically working from home is frowned upon by management(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "I Love My Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've worked at 3M for over 10 years and truly love it. If you bring value to this company, then it will bring value to you. I'm compensated very well, but there are days when I'd do the job for free. It's both fun and challenging. Employees - at least in my division - are equipped with all the tools necessary for them to succeed. All my managers have been supportive.

    Cons

    The cons are trivial in light of the pros. No company is perfect.

    Advice to Management

    No advice is necessary. My managers have been great - both personally and professionally.

    3M2019-05-19

    3M Response

    May 24, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you love working for 3M.

  2. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits, good opportunities to advance, nice people.

    Cons

    Big company so it doesn't always feel like you make much difference

    Advice to Management

    nothing specific

    3M2019-05-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company slipping"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Top brands, high quality, longevity,

    Cons

    Been left behind as the world / markets race ahead

    Advice to Management

    Walk the talk. Digital, Customer first, corporate values, leadership. Push and develop core business vs pushing M&A initiatives. Time to start reinvesting in people and marketing.

    3M2019-08-12

    3M Response

    August 19, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you feel as though 3M is not keeping up, and appreciate your feedback and advice.

  4. "Been with 3M Australia for 6yrs and 4 months."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Manager in North Ryde
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great products, friendly working culture.

    Cons

    Clunky systems, very siloed in operations takes long to get things done.

    Advice to Management

    There are so many great things about this company, but it takes so long to get minor things done due to its approval process. Also, they seem to be entrapped with high margins on their products and are ready to loose business to maintain margin.

    3M2019-07-19
  5. "Was a great place to work but the new corporate direction is loosing customer focus and employee confidence."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting product lines and challenging work

    Cons

    Head office direction is too dominant

    Advice to Management

    Directed more at regional management team : Anz is technically part of Asia but you need to trust and allow each country to deliver as they have best local knowledge.

    3M2019-06-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at 3M

    Pros

    There are some good folk with leadership qualities. Shame about the bullies.

    Cons

    Bullying is rife. Old school marketing. Sold into a job that was jnr and non digital. Company has no integrity.

    Advice to Management

    Do something about bullying. If you hire people for a role make sure it exits.

    3M2019-02-07

    3M Response

    February 11, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review! We are very sorry to hear that you feel you have experienced bullying and don't feel that 3M has integrity. As we hope you are aware, the company has processes that address your concerns and we continue to train all employees on how to address ...

    Show More
  7. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Marketing Intern in Sydney

    I worked at 3M for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to take on my own project

    Cons

    Not very structured environment so it can be confusing at times

    3M2018-12-14
  8. "Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Marketing Intern in Sydney
    Recommends

    I worked at 3M for less than a year

    Pros

    Supervisor was very helpful, culture and spirit are very cooperative and supportive, and the company's mission/values is evident in everything they do.

    Cons

    It seemed that my coworkers were kept as "contingency workers" for far longer than they should have.

    3M2018-11-07
  9. "The world is changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and range of innovative products

    Cons

    Short term focus and lack of emapthy

    Advice to Management

    Understand the broader workplace and what can be achieved through strong leadership and employee engagement

    3M2018-08-29

    3M Response

    August 31, 2018Employment Brand Team

    Hello, We really appreciate your feedback and you providing this review. Thank you!

  10. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Intern in North Ryde
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3M for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with, fun atmosphere, everyone is very supportive and helps you grow as a professional, great learning environment

    Cons

    There are no downsides, this is a terrific company

    3M2018-07-04

    3M Response

    July 6, 2018Employment Brand Team

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We are so glad that you are enjoying your internship, and really appreciate you sharing your experience with us.

Found 3074 reviews