3M Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

3M Reviews

Updated 16 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2575 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
3M CEO Mike Roman
Mike Roman
178 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "More conservative when it comes to working remotely which impacts work/life balance - basically working from home is frowned upon by management(in 48 reviews)

  • "If we need contract workers all the time, then the position should be full time 3M especially in customer facing positions(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "I Love My Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've worked at 3M for over 10 years and truly love it. If you bring value to this company, then it will bring value to you. I'm compensated very well, but there are days when I'd do the job for free. It's both fun and challenging. Employees - at least in my division - are equipped with all the tools necessary for them to succeed. All my managers have been supportive.

    Cons

    The cons are trivial in light of the pros. No company is perfect.

    Advice to Management

    No advice is necessary. My managers have been great - both personally and professionally.

    3M2019-05-19

    3M Response

    May 24, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you love working for 3M.

  2. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits, good opportunities to advance, nice people.

    Cons

    Big company so it doesn't always feel like you make much difference

    Advice to Management

    nothing specific

    3M2019-05-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at 3M

      Pros

      There are some good folk with leadership qualities. Shame about the bullies.

      Cons

      Bullying is rife. Old school marketing. Sold into a job that was jnr and non digital. Company has no integrity.

      Advice to Management

      Do something about bullying. If you hire people for a role make sure it exits.

      3M2019-02-07

      3M Response

      February 11, 2019Employment Brand Team

      Hello, Thank you for your review! We are very sorry to hear that you feel you have experienced bullying and don't feel that 3M has integrity. As we hope you are aware, the company has processes that address your concerns and we continue to train all employees on how to address ...

      Show More
    • "Internship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Marketing Intern in Sydney

        I worked at 3M (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Opportunity to take on my own project

        Cons

        Not very structured environment so it can be confusing at times

        3M2018-12-14
      • "The world is changing"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Great people and range of innovative products

        Cons

        Short term focus and lack of emapthy

        Advice to Management

        Understand the broader workplace and what can be achieved through strong leadership and employee engagement

        3M2018-08-29

        3M Response

        August 31, 2018Employment Brand Team

        Hello, We really appreciate your feedback and you providing this review. Thank you!

      • "What a company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at 3M full-time

        Pros

        Great company that operates in some great markets. You can gain experience in various markets without having to leave. Matrix structure does provide some good checks and balances.

        Cons

        The matrix structure can be difficult to navigate and does slow responsiveness, reducing agility.

        3M2018-06-21

        3M Response

        June 22, 2018Employment Brand Team

        Thanks so much for your review! We are happy to hear that overall you loved your time at 3M, and really appreciate you providing feedback on how we can improve.

      • "Marketing Support"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Ethical company some good people

        Cons

        Poor management waiting for redundancies

        Advice to Management

        Stop waiting for your retirement and your huge payouts. Start moving(faster) with technology or else you are going to be left behind

        3M2018-06-21
      • "Great company but stuck in the past"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Industrial in Melbourne
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        - Autonomous role - Great products - Great reputation - Good immediate manager

        Cons

        - Product Prices far above market value. - Poor foresight with business decisions - Decisions take far to long to make, opportunities have passed before 3m acts. - Below market salary, promises on massive bonuses. Not very achievable. - Stagnate salary, lots of promises at start of employment on healthy increases, results have been around 1% for the last 2 years.

        Advice to Management

        If you want to be a industry leader you need to hold on to good staff through remuneration. Each business unit needs to look at the 'market' value of reps in their specific industry and pay accordingly. At the moment the long term staff are the ones happy to plod along with minimum pay but that is how they go about their work as well.

        3M2018-03-03
      • "Sales Specialist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Specialist in North Ryde
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Ethical company, world class products, leader in field, opportunities for career advancement across multiple divisions, both local and international jobs available.

        Cons

        Stagnate salary after initial entry salary. Erosion of benefits over time. Focus towards reduced head count, offset by contact and casual employees.

        Advice to Management

        Employees are your greatest asset, the world is getting smaller and the competition is always searching for new employees. Contract and casual employment does not guarantee loyalty.

        3M2017-03-06
      • "Challenging and stimulating"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales in Melbourne
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Never be bored, so many businesses and divisions to work within, and always change.

        Cons

        Can get bogged down in internal processes.

        Advice to Management

        Keep us agile and nimble to swifty anticipate and respond to customer needs

        3M2017-03-05
      Found 2575 reviews