7-Eleven Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

7-Eleven Reviews

Updated 18 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
7-Eleven President and CEO Joe DePinto
Joe DePinto
823 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long Hours without direction or mobility(in 88 reviews)

  • "responsible for Franchisees who do not understand the basics of retail or the basics of running a business(in 75 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "7-Eleven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 7-Eleven part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great rates for weekend work

    Cons

    Extremely busy on weekdays and not the greatest working conditions

    7-Eleven2019-09-01
  2. "Fast paced role, with high standards overall."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Perth, Western Australia

    I worked at 7-Eleven full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management conferences twice a year interstate, all accommodation and flights paid for. Free coffee/slurpee's Oppurtunity of up to $6,000 bonus per anum

    Cons

    Long hours, working overnights to cover staff and bullying amongst managers and obvious cliques amongst the W.A management team.

    7-Eleven2019-11-29
  3. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at 7-Eleven part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The ability to choose your shift hours, and the work-life flexibility.

    Cons

    No career progression, and low moral in management

    7-Eleven2019-11-04
  4. "Console Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wollongong

    I have been working at 7-Eleven part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent environment to work and develop

    Cons

    Night shifts are a little hard.

    7-Eleven2019-10-27
  5. "Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wollongong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 7-Eleven part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great Team and really good working conditions - They ensure good wages as well as best customer service -follows occupational safety measures at all costs.

    Cons

    - the system fails miserably which can cause tension and problem during busy hours - no allowance for part-time workers. - rotating shifts can be difficult as had to fill in for day shift just after previous night shift on many many occasion

    Advice to Management

    work structure and staff rostering can be considered more organised.

    7-Eleven2019-10-26
  6. "Main focus on SOP's."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 7-Eleven part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment, Work ethics, great salary, Customer service experience

    Cons

    Had to deal with tough situations sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    organising work structure

    7-Eleven2019-10-24
  7. "Comfortable, great pay but can be stressful with no room for advancement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 7-Eleven part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Comfortable, great pay but can be stressful with no room for advancement.

    Cons

    can be stressful with no room for advancement.

    7-Eleven2019-10-02
  8. "Not what I expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Console Operator in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 7-Eleven part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved my fellow team members, made some amazing friends there. High pay rate.

    Cons

    Where to start. You work alone (depending on your store and time of day) so there were many cases were I had a burn or cut, but couldn't take care of myself because there were customers to serve. If you scare easily, this is not the place for you because customers can get aggressive. Management was a mess and their whistleblower service conveniently didn't work (not sure if it does now, fingers crossed it does). Blatant and gross favouritism from manager. Reported manager for bullying, inappropriate and malicious behaviour. Corporate just defended management and ignored the problem. Manager often spoke poorly behind their staffs' backs. Horrible environment to be in, made me feel like I was back in high school. Wasn't allowed to take a break. You get whats called a 'crib break' but if my manager caught anyone sitting down, they got an earful. (Again this depends on your manager, some let you take a break and sit down, even though a crib break is defined as a rest by Fair Work) So many other things I could list, but moral of the story is that corporate didn't care, they didn't even have the nerve to reply to any staff member who quit.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get better management. Totally unprofessional. LISTEN to staff who tell you their worries about their manager, and TAKE ACTION. Especially when there is more than one staff member having a problem.

    7-Eleven2019-10-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Your hours are dependant on your manager and your attitude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Console Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 7-Eleven part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generally, if you're a good worker the manager will give you hours. The pay is really good, especially for over-night rates and weekends. If you're willing to do the over-night shifts then usually you'll receive hours. Getting to know the community. Free coffee/slurpee per shift.

    Cons

    If your manager doesn't like you, chances are they won't roster many hours for you and will fail to communicate why. Only ever working by yourself with a rare 30 minute overlap. No breaks.

    7-Eleven2019-09-06
  10. "Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Brisbane

    I have been working at 7-Eleven part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, friendly staff members

    Cons

    Safety concerns, less flexibility to work

    7-Eleven2019-08-15
Found 2293 reviews