AHPRA Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

AHPRA Reviews

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

1.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
18%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
AHPRA CEO Martin Fletcher (no image)
Martin Fletcher
21 Ratings
  1. "Excellent regulator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AHPRA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Perfect place to gain exposure to the National scheme and be surrounded with professional, dedicated staff who care

    Cons

    Could perhaps do with offering discounted health fund insurance

    Advice to Management

    Incredible leadership and strategic thinkers. Well done

    AHPRA2018-09-07
  2. "Not disgruntled just honest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AHPRA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Got out, still sane and amused to see the decay continue, sad to see a community purpose organisation ruined by self obsessed mgt and (lack) of executive leadership (so tremendously self indulgent)

    Cons

    Bullies, inept, feeble minded leadership, quick to blame lowest level staff for the failures in leadership and management blame shifting from the “in crowd” to anyone else

    Advice to Management

    Resign - the staff are better without you. Stop cronyism recruiting, get good leaders in, then listen - reflect -and leave. You should all be ashamed, you know the truth.

    AHPRA2019-09-12
  3. "Awful place to work, but it could have been so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AHPRA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is excellent. Purpose and mission of the organisation is commendable.

    Cons

    Senior management is disconnected from the organisation. Organisation pretends to care about staff, but it is simply lip service. Literally no training for years. No desire to help staff improve. Mid-level management roles created for particular staff - as they get created, all the staff know who that role has been created for (and lo and behold, that staff member miraculously ends up in that role).... Unrealistic workloads and an obsession with KPIs ahead of all else means that all that management cares about is getting green ticks on the KPI report - as if that actually protects the public. AHPRA decided not to provide any form of exit interview, so prior to leaving, I provided a ten page document outlining my concerns with the organisation. I received in response a one page response from HR saying, in essence, "enjoy your career!" - no one reached out to ask about things. I indicated to senior management that I was seriously concerned about the stress on my staff and about some staff in particular - management's response was to remove me from the role. They never asked about the staff I was concerned about - who they were, what I was concerned about, or anything like that.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually care about what your staff think. Learn what they do. Care about the quality of the work and not just KPIs - the corporate world in the 90s and 00s were obsessed with KPIs and they have now, rightly, moved away from that because it's a poor way to manage your business. KPIs should be a useful tool, and that is all - not the guiding light for your organisation.

    AHPRA2019-07-27
  4. "You'd have to be insane to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Worker in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AHPRA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Small number of colleagues are decent people

    Cons

    - No opportunities for progression or promotion - Bullying, discrimination, nepotism, favouritism, micromanagement, disrespectful behaviour, harassment rife throughout the company - Little done to combat bullying even after a scathing company wide survey revealed that bullying was a major issue - responses to the staff survey have been minimal and piecemeal -Toxic people in positions of power making the... workplace toxic - managers hiring staff and creating siloed business units outside the organisation structure - Nepotism resulting in managers protecting the under-qualified, inexperienced employees they bring in, when they avoid work or misuse company resources and work hours. If you speak up, you become a target for bullying and harassment - breaches of privacy by HR: confidential bullying disclosures disseminated to managers (including those that were identified as bullies) without consent - positions appear to be reserved for favourite "in crowd" managers after they resign, so that they may choose to return if their new job does not pan out. New employees fill these positions on contract basis - professional development and pay increases minimal to non-existent (excuses always made about why pay cannot be increased) - staff are expected to satiate perceived "important people" such as executives and their lackeys, as well as board members/chairs/committee members

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop bullying those who have differing opinions/ ideas. Stop micromanaging people (they are professionals and adults) There needs to be a major overhaul to the 'top levels' of the organisation to remove some of the unnecessary management as the money they are being paid could be put to better use and actually benefit society. AHPRA doesn't care about the conduct of its managers and certain staff, just like... they don't care about public complaints about misconduct of practitioners.

    Show More
    AHPRA2019-08-25

    AHPRA Response

    September 5, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. At AHPRA, we are continuing to work to improve how we do things and to adapt to changing needs and expectations. Our overall goal is to make AHPRA a great place to work and an organisation which supports its staff. We would appreciate ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Glad I got out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Notifications Officer in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AHPRA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fellow notifications officers. Trauma brings people closer together.

    Cons

    Everything else, such as management telling you the outcome they want a matter to have before the investigation has concluded, the number of cases assigned per investigator, pressured to work overtime on Saturdays, favouritism, cliques, etc etc.

    Advice to Management

    Management wouldn't listen, they're only in it for their own gratification since they're all narcissistic individuals. Do a proper review of the organisation, have a look at the stats and reasons for stress leave, listen to the staff doing the actual work and make actual changes. There's a lot of talk but no action. Going to AHPRA is a career limiting move - don't do it. I wish I listened to the reviews before... accepting the role.

    Show More
    AHPRA2019-07-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic culture that isn't improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AHPRA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some really good, dedicated people

    Cons

    Toxic management culture and bullying

    Advice to Management

    Management have conducted staff surveys, formed lots of committees that don't appear to actually make a decision or get actions happening and nothing much has changed. If anything the culture is getting worse and the toxic environment is spreading across departments. Having worked in a number of areas in the few years I worked there I personally witnessed issues of bullying of staff that were not addressed... appropriately at any level. This was raised as far as management and nothing was done other than some Bullying Seminars that didn't get any follow up outcomes delivered. Staff are often told to speak to a Senior in the HR department, unfortunately this is a dysfunctional group of people. As individuals there are some really good people there (and some really horrid, bullying creatures) but as a group they are the worst. The head of the department must regret taking the job, there is someone with a big job ahead. The seniors in the team have a bully, a narcissist and a micro manager who smile to your face while they sharpen the knife that will go in your back. There are very few in that area that can be trusted to assist staff effectively. Having said that, there are some people there who are committed to the job at hand, which is to protect the public. Unfortunately they are getting pushed aside for the ones that are there to promote themselves and push their own agenda. The management board need to seriously consider a clean out from the top down and get some fresh ideas in there to promote the culture they aspire to.

    Show More
    AHPRA2019-07-03

    AHPRA Response

    July 16, 2019Recruitment Manager

    At AHPRA, we continue to work to improve how we do things and to adapt to changing needs and expectations. Our overall goal is to make AHPRA a great place to work and an organisation which supports its staff. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly in relation ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Incompetent management, unrealistic workloads, micromanagement to the point of stalemate!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Notifications 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AHPRA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Salary is reasonable - Subject matter is interesting - Centrally located

    Cons

    - No transparency from management - Bullying and hostile management style; - Micromanagement is rampant to the point of stalemate and bottlenecks in output - Staff are stressed, unhappy and burned out - current transition phase is sloppy, poorly rolled out; major change fatigue - no opportunity for professional development or promotion - culture of ‘passing the buck’ - sole focus on KPIs has lost sight of the... purpose of the scheme - zero support or acknowledgement from management at any level - hypocritical and unclear directions for work and scope of role

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Address the culture! Review the triage process. Train your management on how to apply the law appropriately and provide them with people management skills before placing them in the role.

    AHPRA2019-05-24

    AHPRA Response

    July 15, 2019Recruitment Manager

    I want to start by apologising for this late reply – we are now actively monitoring this site, so we won’t miss valuable feedback, like yours, in the future. At AHPRA, we are committed to creating a healthy, transparent and collaborative environment for all our employees that is why ...

    Show More
  8. "- prefer not to say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AHPRA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perfect place to gain exposure to the National scheme and be surrounded with professional, dedicated staff who care and genuine HR employee who is invested in the culture

    Cons

    Unstable restructure which needs to be addressed

    Advice to Management

    perceptions of staff need to be dealt with better via transparent information from senior leaders

    AHPRA2019-04-18
  9. "Shocking place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investigator in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AHPRA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Perth location pretty good. Work colleagues decent people

    Cons

    Excessive workloads, terrible management ,

    Advice to Management

    Leave - only way to improve culture is for them to go

    AHPRA2019-05-19

    AHPRA Response

    July 15, 2019Recruitment Manager

    I want to start by apologising for this late reply – we are now actively monitoring this site so that we won’t miss valuable feedback, like yours, in the future. At AHPRA, there is a strong commitment to working together, particularly to address issues such as bullying and harassment. ...

    Show More
  10. "WARNING - read the reviews!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reg Ops in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AHPRA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location and that’s really it. Close to Station.

    Cons

    Disgraceful management, unfair work given, constant abuse (not from the public) from people in senior areas), culture is really bad. I don’t know why they think discrimination and bullying is OK. Always new faces so they can’t keep people. Change is handled poorly. People treated like crap last year.

    Advice to Management

    The people around me were scared to speak up. Maybe hire people with management skills??

    AHPRA2019-05-17

    AHPRA Response

    July 16, 2019Recruitment Manager

    I want to start by apologising for this late reply – we are now actively monitoring this site so that we won’t miss valuable feedback, like yours, in the future. At AHPRA, we continue to work to improve how we do things and to adapt to changing needs and expectations. Our overall ...

    Show More
Found 35 reviews