Aesop Reviews

Updated 11 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
58%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Aesop CEO Michael O'Keeffe (no image)
Michael O'Keeffe
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get lots of free products to the point where you'll be begging friends and family to take them from you(in 18 reviews)

  • "Product, coworkers, beautiful work environment(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Global head office visits have changed; they (not all(in 14 reviews)

  • "Lack of support from the higher management (Those above the Store Managers)(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Lives up to expectations!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aesop full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get the chance to work with some truly inspiring, creative and driven people. A true values-based organisation that genuinely considers people and planet in decision making. Global mobility - regions work collaboratively and Aesop supports internal opportunities well. Generous product allowance!

    Cons

    Interview process is historically lengthy due to meeting with a variety of relevant stakeholders, however it paints a really clear picture of the role, culture, peers and leadership so you can make a well-informed decision before joining the organisation.

  2. "Retail store manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aesop full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Training, company incentives, great company culture,

    Cons

    Low pay, communication needs to be effective and consistent

    Aesop Response

    July 29, 2020Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, we're pleased you enjoy our great culture here at Aesop and your feedback is invaluable. If you wish to discuss your feedback further, please email peopleservicesanz@aesop.com


  3. Helpful (6)

    "Aesop"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Office in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aesop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -generous product allowance/discount -working with intelligent and interesting people who are genuinely passionate about the brand -growing global company

    Cons

    -constant gossiping and rumors -no career progression or direction for personal growth -team members not sharing information, very autonomous rather than a collaborative culture

    Aesop Response

    January 12, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that that your time at Aesop did not match our expectations of the employee experience. I assure you this is not the way we expect anyone who has worked with us to feel, so we take your comments seriously. If you wish to discuss your concerns further, please email peopleservicesanz@aesop.com.

  4. "Sales Consultant"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Sydney

    I worked at Aesop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair workplace and treatment, fantastic and thorough training

    Cons

    None. It is a great position to work in, within the retail industry

    Aesop Response

    January 12, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Dear Reviewer, your feedback is very much appreciated. Thank you for taking the team to share your positive experiences at Aesop. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at peopleservicesanz@aesop.com.

  5. "Great culture and products"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aesop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Genuine care for customers, consultant empowered to take customer’s case under company policies, great on boarding training and continual monthly and quarterly reviews; unique store designs and beautiful location, generous staff discount and annual gifts

    Cons

    Not much room to grow

    Aesop Response

    October 28, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Dear reviewer, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, your opinions help us identify areas in which we could improve.

  6. "Aesop"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aesop part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good discount and training provided

    Cons

    Upper management does not seem to care much about people on the shop floor.

    Aesop Response

    October 28, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Dear reviewer, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, your opinions help us identify areas in which we could improve

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great work environment at Aesop"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aesop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture Great management Interesting marketing strategy Skincare focus with great benefits Free product

    Cons

    Contract focused management team Blackout period -December (Christmas) Slow progression

    Aesop Response

    October 28, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Dear reviewer, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, your opinions help us identify areas in which we could improve.

  8. "Part time role"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 

    I worked at Aesop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company philosophy at Aesop.

    Cons

    Admin would take a while.

    Aesop Response

    August 20, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Dear reviewer, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, your opinions help us identify areas in which we could improve.

  9. Helpful (7)

    "Shut leadership"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aesop full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent product good for skin

    Cons

    Shut leadership and toxic environment

    Continue reading

    Aesop Response

    July 30, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that that your time at Aesop did not match our expectations of the employee experience. I assure you this is not the way we expect anyone who has worked with us to feel, so we take your comments seriously. If you wish to discuss your concerns further, please email peopleservicesanz@aesop.com.

  10. "aesop aesop aesop aesop aesop"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aesop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    discount, other staff, pay rate

    Cons

    not being about to be yourself

    Aesop Response

    April 29, 2019HR, Americas

    Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, your views help us identify areas in which we could improve.

Found 146 reviews