Agoda Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Agoda Reviews

Updated 13 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Relocating to Bangkok has been a great experience(in 39 reviews)

  • "Good working environment, good company benefit, lots of internal career opportunity(in 36 reviews)

Cons
  • "employees, there is only one Thai person in a senior management role (none in the C-suite)(in 20 reviews)

  • "Agoda tries to sell itself as being able to offer a Silicon Valley experience in Bangkok(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Market Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Agoda full-time

    Pros

    Very encouraging team to work with. All staff members are friendly and overall a great environment to work in.

    Cons

    there are no cons that I can think of

    Agoda2017-08-01
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Boys Club - Sneaky - immoral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Agoda full-time

    Pros

    -Get a wealth of knowledge about tech online companies

    Cons

    -Management encourage dishonesty towards partners. -Reward bad behavior -double standards between management and staff - horrible atmosphere towards women.

    Advice to Management

    - Have a HR representative in the country - Have an exit interview with outgoing staff - Trust employees more

    Agoda2019-03-02
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Market Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Agoda full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent bonus scheme, good training program and friendly working environment

    Cons

    Very low base salary, plenty of favouritism, women hardly make it to the top management

    Advice to Management

    Need further work on gender equality

    Agoda2019-02-14
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Market manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Agoda full-time

    Pros

    Office is nice and well located

    Cons

    The clients hate the brand

    Agoda2019-02-04
  5. Helpful (3)

    "A company where I created my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Agoda full-time

    Pros

    - Career opportunities including international relocation's - Leading and development initiatives - Moves fast and innovates - Inspirational people; people make this company

    Cons

    - A global approach doesn't always factor in local needs

    Agoda2018-12-14
  6. "CEG Team Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Agoda full-time

    Pros

    Young teams, flat hierachy, good colleagues

    Cons

    Stressful, under average pay (management position earned less than entry level position with competitors)

    Agoda2018-12-13
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Senior Full Stack Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Agoda full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Progressive -Fast paced -Open to ideas from developers

    Cons

    - When they hired me in Bangkok, in the interview they were bragging about how good they were and how they could get anyone they wanted in the company and how they only employ 1% of applicants. Everything seems... over exaggerated. Despite all this, I come from a western country and left a very high paying job. Their offer was MUCH less than my offer back home. I told them I would only stay for a short time in the... job and wanted to do it to enjoy my time while it lasted in Bangkok. Despite this, they were so confident and arrogant that I would stay more longer than the time I quoted that even during my exit interview they were like "when we hired you, we knew that you would stay for more longer than xxx time" after I told them I was quiting. I found them to be quite cocky and over confident of their worth to my career. For a whole year, they bragged on about how they could pay anything to get westerners to come and work for them but when push come to shove and I told them how much they needed to pay to be just as good as my offers back home, they turned around and said "You're not worth that much". I would personally tell them that they aren't worth MY TIME either, but that's above their heads at the moment because they are arrogant.. As for the person that said this: "There's a tension in the company regarding the low salaries paid to the "local" Asian workforce vs. the high salaries and stock options typically awarded to Western expats (or Asians educated overseas) and senior management." They do this because they have to, to retain these staff. The offers are STILL not attractive even for the western expats anyway despite what Agoda says. The salary after tax verse the cost of living is still worse with Agoda than back home in most western countries. The only westerners who work in Bangkok are there for just lifestyle reasons and not money which is understandable due to the nightlife and beach scene.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be less cocky. Agoda is not as great as you think you are.

    Agoda2018-11-11
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Avergar place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Agoda full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance and small team

    Cons

    No structure andmanagement is substandard

    Advice to Management

    Need more experienced managers. Learn how to communicate effectively.

    Agoda2018-08-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great employer with lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Market Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Agoda full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ample opportunity to make what you want of it. Work hard with a positive attitude and the sky is the limit for any candidate who has the desired characteristics of the company. Will goes a long way!

    Cons

    Head office BKK - not always convenient for head office direction

    Agoda2017-07-04
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic, fast paced company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director, Partner Services in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Agoda full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    International colleagues from all walks of life, opportunities to travel locally and internationally, including relocation for career opportunities. A fast-paced ever-changing environment to work in... if you don't like change, don't work here... if you do, buckle up and enjoy the ride!

    Cons

    Processes and systems are still being refined, but being a part of that journey is part of the fun.

    Advice to Management

    Nurture your stars and don't make sure your Managers watch out for signs of burn-out

    Agoda2017-07-04
Found 555 reviews