Arm Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Arm Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 851 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Arm CEO Simon Segars
Simon Segars
531 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "HQ is at Cambridge so for some this may be a downside compared to living in London for example as it is much smaller(in 63 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance might be tricky in some positions although may not be a problem if you enjoy what you are doing(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "administration manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Arm for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff work life balance

    Cons

    Bad management poor communication and behaviour

    Arm2019-01-19

    Arm Response

    February 8, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    Firstly thank you for the contribution you made to Arm whilst being with us. We are pleased you enjoyed working with your colleagues and the balance was sufficient for you. Although, the management and communications note is something I would be keen to understand a little more about. Would you be able to contact me directly to discuss further? GlassdoorFeedback@Arm.com

    Show Less
  2. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Verification Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work Culture, Area of work

    Cons

    Nothing which I remember about

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Arm2019-10-11

    Arm Response

    October 14, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    We couldn't agree more - we also think Arm is an awesome place to be :)

  3. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff IP Verification Engineer in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great benefit, the company pay is good

    Cons

    no , the company pay is good

    Arm2019-10-11
  4. Helpful (21)

    "Great people, great culture, great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Engineer in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at Arm for about a year now. I've been given the opportunities needed to make significant contributions to the projects I've been involved in. Everyone in the office is friendly. The hours you are in the office are quite flexible. The building is great and is located 30 minutes from downtown Cambridge/Boston.

    Cons

    The Boston (Waltham) office is a bit of a satellite office (~50 employees), so that could be a downside depending on what sort of workplace you prefer. There are fewer female employees working here than I would like to expect (~15% of total).

    Arm2019-07-25
  5. "Challenging work at a company that cares about its people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Manager in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At Arm we have the benefit of working interesting problems and pushing to deliver into competitive markets, while in a culture that earnestly strives to invest in people and their development and happiness.

    Cons

    Sometimes the company still struggles with its rapid growth and can be a bit Cambridge-centric

    Arm2019-10-02
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Still a Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits 4 week sabbatical every 4 years 4 weeks starting vacation, 5 weeks after 4 years 26 weeks of maternity leave, 8 weeks paternity leave Brilliant engineers that are genuinely helpful Strong advocate of Diversity and Inclusion Internal social network service allows us to be expressive Great stepping stone towards higher paying companies

    Cons

    BURN OUT. If you are an RTL/Verification/Performance Engineer, then you now have to balance between working on multiple projects. When I first joined, engineers talked about life outside of Arm. Now all they talk about is how busy they are with no end in sight. A team that used to do monthly team lunches completely stopped and less time is spent improving the processes when we need it more than ever. Going away... lunches for engineers who have been at Arm for 15+ years are more common than team lunches. ATTRITION. Top engineers are leaving including fellows. All of them are leaving to higher paying companies and HR and upper management said they have no plans to change our compensation because “people leave managers” and “no one mentioned compensation on their exit interview.” INNOVATION DECLINE. That feeling of starting work on a new project is gone. Projects are now just adding features on existing designs. There’s no time to rewrite things that are out of date or to revisit things that could be worth improving upon.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work-life balance is the best thing about Arm, but it's slowly being taken away. Engineers are adding more projects to their plate without an end in sight. Arm has a lot of vacation and has an accrual limit of 200 hours. I know engineers that hit their accrual limit because they're too busy. What is the point of having all this vacation if we lose it because we're too busy to take it? It's preferable to keep our... existing talent rather than being forced to constantly backfill, but Arm is doing a good job at hiring engineers, especially the New College Graduates. Consider changes to the compensation. No engineer is going to admit that money is their motivation for leaving in their exit interview because they don't want to sound greedy. Similarly, no engineer is going to admit that their work doesn't feel exciting or meaningful. Even engineers who are the best at what they do shouldn’t be forced to keep working on things they’re good at. Give them an opportunity to move internally before they look externally.

    Show More
    Arm2019-10-01
  7. "Great people, great culture, exciting tech and innovations!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Culture is very positive and collaborative and there is a strong feeling of teamwork and people really wanting their peers and the company to succeed as a whole - Company REALLY cares about it's employees' well-being, work-life balance and personal development and there are plenty of perks and initiatives that ensure that every year. - Lots of innovation happening all the time so there are always plenty of... exciting, cutting edge projects to work on. It's a great opportunity to keep growing, learning and staying on top of the latest and greatest tech developments.

    Show More

    Cons

    - The rapid growth can sometimes cause miscommunication and disruption of balance between different teams where the ratio of manager-new employee gets too high too quickly and managers are finding it hard to give all employees / projects ample care and attention. - priorities and pipelines can quickly get overcrowded with new initiatives coming from all directions as a result of the fresh influx of new employees... and managers wanting to start new initiatives and build big things

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! This has been the best company I have worked in by far in my 8-10 year career. Please, do what you can to ensure that the rapid growth doesn't dilute / change the excellent culture and balance that exists at the company right now.

    Arm2019-09-30
  8. "Internship Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internship 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility . . . . .

    Cons

    Yet to explore. . . . . .

    Arm2019-09-27
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Little value for people who are working here currently"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good balance, lots of vacation and flexibility.

    Cons

    Salary is not competitive, no stocks. Bonus is like peanuts. Other benefits are okay at best. They seem to only hire when there are layoffs in other companies (Oracle/Qualcomm/Samsung etc.). Not a good sign. Experienced folks have been leaving left, right and center. Managements solution is to hire new people. Nothing is being done to reward the people who have been here. Yes new folks are good but don't... forget the employees who made arm what it is. Vacation/flexibility is being offered by every company nowadays, not something to tout about. This is all I hear management talking about. These are no longer incentives. Don't see any growth career wise, some teams seem to be preferred over others when it comes to promotions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do not forget about your current employees. Please do something to cut the attrition which has been happening. Reward fairly and look at the work an employee does to promote them instead of saying you need to be in this position for 3-4 years to get promoted. Would you rather prefer I take it easy for 3-4 years instead of working hard and do things better?

    Arm2019-10-01
  10. "Graduate Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    Recommends

    I have been working at Arm full-time

    Pros

    1. Good culture 2. good work life balance 3. lot of learning 4. They don't show that they care for their employee(they actually care) 5. New graduate engineers get a sponsored trip to UK

    Cons

    1. Some projects are very overloaded 2. Food is not that great

    Arm2019-09-24
Found 851 reviews
</>Embed