Ashurst Reviews

Updated 15 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
66%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Ashurst Managing Partner Paul Jenkins
Paul Jenkins
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Smarter working allowed you to work remotely so great for work/life balance(in 9 reviews)

  • "Flexible working practices and remuneration seems pretty good(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and late nights are typical(in 15 reviews)

  • "Very late adopters of new tech (just like many other law firms, remuneration not necessarily linked to performance and experience(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Pretty good"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Lawyer 

    I have been working at Ashurst full-time

    Pros

    Great learning opportunities within the firm

    Cons

    Expect to work long hours

    Ashurst2020-04-25
  2. "Very traditional"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lawyer in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ashurst full-time

    Pros

    Not a bad place to work

    Cons

    Old school without the cool

    Ashurst2020-05-08
  3. "Great place to work at"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Practice Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ashurst full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility to work from home. Divers environment

    Cons

    long working hours, not enough advice from upper management

    Ashurst2020-04-05
  4. "Would not recommend working here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Team Assistant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ashurst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The TA team were very friendly and always willing to help if you were unsure on how to complete a task.

    Cons

    I was treated terribly and bullied by management over the course of my time there. I was not provided with adequate training and was told off when I made mistakes. I was advised I was not up to the standard but then not provided with examples of how I could improve.

    Ashurst2020-04-23
  5. "Poor work life balance"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lawyer 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Ashurst

    Pros

    Can say that I worked at a top tier law firm on my resume, great clients, good learning and development opportunities, free dinner and taxi, gym membership

    Cons

    You get worked hard. Long hours and late nights are typical. Barely have a day I get home before 9pm. I know other colleague who finish in the early morning. You get tasks to do around the afternoon and evening and are expected to finish by on the same day, or next morning. Your life is basically revolved around work

    Continue reading
    Ashurst2020-03-19
  6. "Whole of firm vs individual teams"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ashurst full-time

    Pros

    Firm doing good things towards progressive initiatives

    Cons

    Very traditional approach by my manager in particular meant lack of flexibility

    Ashurst2019-12-08
  7. "Long hours, viewed as dispensable"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lawyer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ashurst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great reputation to build a basis for a career in almost anything

    Cons

    Long hours, poor management, many offices are internal with no natural light

    Continue reading
    Ashurst2019-06-02
  8. "Psychotic megalomaniacs treat you like money makinig monkeys"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ashurst full-time

    Pros

    Can add 'top-tier law firm' experience in your CV. Working with smart people.

    Cons

    Due to the lack of separation of ownership and management, the workplace culture of Ashurst (and every other professional services firm, I'd imagine), is soul-destroying. Because the partners who run the practice owns the practice, their power is ultimate. And absolute power corrupts absolutely. So some of the partners are pschotic megalomaniacs who treat you as a scum and expect to be treated as the High King and God. Because every dollar you earn goes to the boss' pocket, and every dollar of your salary comes out of your boss' pocket, the pressure on you to make the partners more money is immense. Every cent of your salary is felt by the partners every time you take a break. This overwhelming focus on money making dehumanises you into a mere machine that makes money for the partners. Because top tier law firms are generally all filled with high-achievers, and generally high achievers have a hard working, competitive, do-what-ever-it-takes mentality, the people around you are like you in an unpleasant way.

    Ashurst2019-05-15
  9. "Would not recommend working for Ashurst"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashurst full-time

    Pros

    Staff benefits that are touted as industry leading are really just basic benefits that are provided by every other law firm, e.g. gym and employee assistance program.

    Cons

    There is a massive gulf between those who work in support services and legal staff in how you are treated and viewed. Pay is below market as they include superannuation in the job offer. Technology is below par and hamstrung by lack of strong and clear direction in IT. Lack of career development opportunities. Do not expect support or communication from leadership. Very london-centric in leadership and direction

    Continue reading
    Ashurst2019-04-24
  10. "Good Culture From Management"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vac Clerk in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ashurst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The upper management of the firm is very approachable and encourages a supportive culture.

    Cons

    People in the middle of the firms hierarchy are less supportive than senior personnel.

    Continue reading
    Ashurst2019-03-05
Found 115 reviews