Automattic Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Automattic Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Automattic CEO Matt Mullenweg
Matt Mullenweg
34 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Best Place I Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Happiness Engineer in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Automattic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexibility - Most inspirational colleagues - Unlimited Time Off - Remote

    Cons

    - High stress and high paced - Numbers are prioritized

    Advice to Management

    None, I was let go due to my mistakes and negligence.

    Automattic2019-04-03
  2. "One of the best places I've worked at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Happiness Engineer in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning opportunity Friendly people Friendly leadership Strong feedback culture Great pay

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going the way you are!

    Automattic2019-04-03
  3. "Changing from startup to corporate is changing the culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Happiness Engineer 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home and traveling

    Cons

    Highly monotonous role due to the change in culture. The focus is on quantity over quality. Lower skilled new hires have lowered the bar drastically. Weekend work is mandatory

    Automattic2019-03-19
  4. "Happiness Engineer @ Automattic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Happiness Engineer in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Compensation, Work culture, Perks, 2 foreign paid meetups yearly, no. of Leaves

    Cons

    Could get monotonous, work could be stressful if not dealt with properly

    Advice to Management

    There could be improvements in streamlining certain processes. I feel there is a shortage of code wranglers.

    Automattic2018-12-19
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Supportive Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Happiness Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people are smart, engaged in their jobs, and eager to learn and share knowledge. Everyone supports and encourages each other. Working at home and making your own hours is invaluable to me; and the benefits are great. The job is interesting and you are constantly learning. The hiring process is intense, but the atmosphere is casual and supportive.

    Cons

    None, unless you don't handle change well, because there is always something new and the pace is fast.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for your support!

    Automattic2018-12-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great mission, smart people, wonderful culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time

    Pros

    - A meaningful mission that everyone is aligned with and excited about - More diverse opinions/backgrounds than you find at most tech companies - Fun, exciting challenges to tackle in each and every team–huge impact - Extremely transparent about everything internally, a culture of trust - Distributed/remote culture is great, fun travel involved for the job - Benefits are strong (can only speak as a US employee),...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Sometimes miss the office work enviornment...sometimes ;) - Great for those with focus and self-discipline, challenging for those without - Decision-making is transparent but sometimes we could prioritize better

    Automattic2018-11-28
  7. Helpful (17)

    "The future of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The flexibility of working from home is a tremendous benefit of working at Automattic, I think that it has provided an immeasurable improvement in the quality of life that my family and I now enjoy. I want to also note that as a data scientist, the dedication to developing a solid infrastructure for analytics has been a great factor in my productivity. I have observed that the company is dedicated to an increasingly...

    Show More

    Cons

    - I would encourage a shorter interview process. There are many that are discouraged by the length and it is also exclusionary to those who can't afford to devote a lot of time and resources to the effort.

    Automattic2018-08-22
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Great benefits, frustrating hierarchy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Automattic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredible benefits, flexible vacation/sick policy, some absolutely brilliant and kind coworkers doing wonderful things.

    Cons

    There is no hierarchy or room to advance. This is okay if you want to be a Happiness Engineer or a team lead forever. Otherwise, you'll start feeling like you have nowhere to go and no ways to develop after a while. This is especially frustrating for marketing and editorial people who want to do more things that Automattic, for some reason, insists on outsourcing to freelancers. Also, let's talk about Matt. Matt pops...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop letting Matt do everything, like you did for hiring. Listen to what you're being told.

    Automattic2018-09-30
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Mobile Wrangler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mobile Wrangler in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Best Company I ever worked! Working from home with your home office setup, a lot of benefits, unlimited vacation time. Lots of opportunities to work on projects across the company and expand your impact outside of your direct role. But most important is the people are smart, friendly, supportive and kind. I worked in different environments, startups, big companies, agencies, but Automattic is definitely the best.

    Cons

    For the first time nothing to write.

    Automattic2018-09-12
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Happiness Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Happiness Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, amazing co-workers, amazing benefits, a really good salary, relative flexibility, transparency within the company.

    Cons

    I think the only thing is career opportunities within the company that are not very clear, at least for HEs

    Automattic2018-07-11
Found 43 reviews