Automattic Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Automattic Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Automattic CEO Matt Mullenweg
Matt Mullenweg
36 Ratings
  1. "A caring and encouraging environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is genuinely a great company and I feel incredibly fortunate to work in such a supportive and caring environment.

    Cons

    I can't think of any!

    Continue reading
    Automattic2019-07-16
  2. "Best work culture and supportive company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Happiness Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible schedule - Supportive work environment - Professional development and continuous learning encouraged - Lots of different paths you can take (different guilds, teams, opportunities) - Good benefits - Good salary - Open vacation policy - Work from anywhere! (Remote) - Awesome coworkers

    Cons

    - Very fast paced - Expect some long days (mostly when you first start) - Some internal processes are still very manual and need refining in the company - Communication between departments needs improving

    Continue reading
    Automattic2019-06-26
  3. "VIP Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Innisfil, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time

    Pros

    I am new to the company and already love the culture. You can tell before day 1 that the company truly cares about the employees. Everyone was helpful during a very well structured and educational onboarding process that helps new employees get oriented and understand the company and sets people up for success.

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can speak of. As a distributed company it can be a bit challenging to work remote at times but the company goes out of its way to address this by putting a focus on communication and having meetups to meet face to face.

    Continue reading
    Automattic2019-06-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic or Awful, Depends on Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Remote, OR
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Automattic full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary, excellent benefits, work from home, interesting and challenging work, passionate co-workers and community.

    Cons

    Experience depends entirely on which team you're on, and if the team lead is committee to work-life balance or just to work. High level of burnout on some teams.

    Continue reading
    Automattic2019-07-03
  5. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy going environment, easy to move up if motivated

    Cons

    Upper management is sometimes hard to get along with

    Continue reading
    Automattic2019-06-27
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Best Place I Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Happiness Engineer in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Automattic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexibility - Most inspirational colleagues - Unlimited Time Off - Remote

    Cons

    - High stress and high paced - Numbers are prioritized

    Continue reading
    Automattic2019-04-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best places I've worked at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Happiness Engineer in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning opportunity Friendly people Friendly leadership Strong feedback culture Great pay

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Automattic2019-04-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Changing from startup to corporate is changing the culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Happiness Engineer 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home and traveling

    Cons

    Highly monotonous role due to the change in culture. The focus is on quantity over quality. Lower skilled new hires have lowered the bar drastically. Weekend work is mandatory

    Continue reading
    Automattic2019-03-19
  9. "Happiness Engineer @ Automattic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Happiness Engineer in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Compensation, Work culture, Perks, 2 foreign paid meetups yearly, no. of Leaves

    Cons

    Could get monotonous, work could be stressful if not dealt with properly

    Continue reading
    Automattic2018-12-19
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Supportive Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Happiness Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are smart, engaged in their jobs, and eager to learn and share knowledge. Everyone supports and encourages each other. Working at home and making your own hours is invaluable to me; and the benefits are great. The job is interesting and you are constantly learning. The hiring process is intense, but the atmosphere is casual and supportive.

    Cons

    None, unless you don't handle change well, because there is always something new and the pace is fast.

    Continue reading
    Automattic2018-12-03
Found 48 reviews