Bankwest Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Bankwest Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 123 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Rowan Munchenberg
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work / life balance and flexible working arrangements(in 24 reviews)

  • "Treated with respect, the leaders are so supportive and keen to help us develop, and the work-life balance is incomparable(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "A lot of restructure after CBA takeover(in 15 reviews)

  • "Based in the East Coast has limited opportunities so would recommend working with either CBA or another major who is based in the same city(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "No issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankwest full-time

    Pros

    Money, flexible working, different opportunities

    Cons

    Management have no idea what they are doing

    Bankwest2019-01-25
  2. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Bankwest part-time

      Pros

      Excellent Culture, flexibility, staff and support of management

      Cons

      A lot of restructure after CBA takeover

      Bankwest2019-03-06
    • "Customer Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Bankwest part-time

      Pros

      Nice people to work with

      Cons

      Upper management don't show concern Stress overload with time/tasks Customer reception is negative due to branch closures

      Bankwest2019-02-27
    • "Engineering Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Perth, Western Australia
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Bankwest full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Positive culture, very friendly and helpful colleagues. Big IT shop, opportunities to work on exciting technology. Great work / life balance and flexible working arrangements. Awesome office in perfect city centre location, with great facilities (cafe, showers, outdoor lunch area). Pay can be good starting off, with lots of benefits (bonus, shares, discounts)

      Cons

      Pay reviews almost non existant for past several years. Like most orgs, everyone dislikes performance review process

      Advice to Management

      End the miserly pay reviews

      Bankwest2019-02-07
    • "Fun environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Sydney
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Bankwest full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Quite flexible and people there are fun. Average staff doesn't have higher education compared to other major banks. They are more likely to hire people by referals and personalities.

      Cons

      They pay lower if you get a promotion, but higher to people who comes from outside. That's sad. Targets are harder and harder to achieve

      Advice to Management

      promote more people internally

      Bankwest2019-01-31
    • "Wasn't great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Bankwest full-time

      Pros

      Office - looks very much like MS Location - close to train station

      Cons

      1) No clear vision/roadmap. 2) Pay is mediocre and yet they want the best. 2) Focused on cutting cost. 3) New tech seems to be a means to cutting overheads. 4) Outdated applications, platforms, way of working. 5) Suffocating culture - it's another organisation with a typical anti-agile pattern. It might be effective for certain departments/areas. (please google anti-agile pattern. Bankwest fits right in)

      Advice to Management

      Have you really considered the consequences of so-called transformations that management has injected into the org so far?

      Bankwest2019-02-08

      Bankwest Response

      February 19, 2019

      Thanks for this feedback. At Bankwest, we are striving to become better. To help us take action, you can contact our HR Direct team on 1800 989 696 or the SpeakUp hotline on 1800 SpeakUP (1800 773 258) if you’d like to discuss this matter further.

    • "A champion of flexible working"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Perth, Western Australia
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Bankwest part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Open to home based work, hours flexibility and fantastic parental leave benefits. Strong Risk culture

      Cons

      Can’t think of any right now

      Advice to Management

      Continue to build capabilities, be mindful of capacities.

      Bankwest2019-01-22
    • "A company that fosters top performers"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Perth, Western Australia
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Bankwest full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great development and coaching culture, top-notch talent programmes - a great place to be for anyone who wants to do their best and become the best they can be.

      Cons

      Can't name any. Perhaps I have orange tinted glasses?

      Bankwest2019-01-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Rubbish"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Bankwest full-time

      Pros

      Anything goes there is no rules

      Cons

      Worse company to work for , all dodgy bankers with dodgy management anything goes

      Advice to Management

      Own up to your dodginess

      Bankwest2018-11-30

      Bankwest Response

      December 11, 2018

      Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry that you had this experience whilst working with us. At Bankwest, we are striving to improve in and we appreciate your insights. If you have any other feedback that you would like to share, you can call the SpeakUp hotline on 1800 SpeakUP ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (2)

      "Relationship Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Relationship Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Bankwest full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Flexible working - if approved, modern offices and technology

      Cons

      Management are not engaged and wouldn't know if you were at work or not. Only celebrate milestones for some but not all so it's now a bit of an office joke...overall low morale. Salaries less than CBA and excuse due to not being a major. Exceeded targets only to find reporting inaccurate resulting in less achievement. Projects go around in circles and they don't learn from the past. Based in the East Coast has limited...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Value your staff as they all bring a talent. Recognise their milestones and celebrate as a team. Get the basics right and management should demonstrate the company values, not just those in lower positions. I saw a number of lower staff being treated unfairly which just isn't fair.

      Bankwest2018-10-29

      Bankwest Response

      December 11, 2018

      Thank you for your feedback. At Bankwest, we are striving to improve in and we appreciate your insights. If you have any other feedback that you would like to share, you can speak to your MOR or contact our HR Direct team on 1800 989 696 or the SpeakUp hotline on 1800 SpeakUP (1800 ...

      Show More
    Found 123 reviews