Bechtel Reviews

Updated 31 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Bechtel Chief Executive Officer Brendan Bechtel
Brendan Bechtel
277 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance is not great when you are on a field assignment, but this is pretty standard for any company doing work in the field(in 71 reviews)

  • "Re-location to new projects, sometimes long hours,(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "HSE Advisor"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HSE Advisor in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bechtel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Career development, large scale projects, good benefits the longer you stay.

    Cons

    Sometimes you are a number instead of an individual on large scale projects.

    Bechtel2020-02-28
  2. "Great Organisation"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Cost Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bechtel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great organisation to work for

    Cons

    Should be willing to relocate where the work is

    Bechtel2020-05-31
  3. "Bechtel Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tradesman in Gladstone, Queensland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Bechtel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was decent, hours are long

    Cons

    Poor management, red tape for the sake of red tape

    Bechtel2020-04-27
  4. "Process Engineer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bechtel

    Pros

    - Okayish pay. No hidden components in salary. Bonus over and above salary. - People get hired with a salary factor of 2 to 2.5. salary = Number of years of experience × (2 to 2.5). If you aren't hired at this salary you've been fooled. Although, now I think every other company offers the same factor. Other sectors offer even more. - Good treatment, comparatively (with other MNCs) less partiality and transparent atmosphere. - More chances of getting recognition (as compared to other MNCs) for your hard work. - Good colleagues.

    Cons

    - This is based on my opinion: They tend to hire more people and squeeze the schedule, without caring what'll happen to these when projects are over. They can retain people if they want to, but they won't. - Since their strategy is to bid for more profit by providing an excellent construction quality and in challenging schedule, there is always uncertainty in this industry about projects. Client thinks a lot before taking FID. I don't blame Bechtel for this. - Kinda old school. For instance the floor where the big shot executives sit has carpet and other floors don't. Grow up guys. What about equality now, huh ? - This is based on my experience: HR is quite rude. Although she's just a burden on company, she thinks she owns the company. I bet she can't even draw a proper rangoli. - The technical experience gained was not so good during detailing.

    Continue reading
    Bechtel2020-03-03
  5. "Lead Field Engineer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Field Engineer in Onslow
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bechtel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The clarity in Human Resource Policies , Best in career progression, people Management, very well established process.

    Cons

    Prepare to move Globally

    Bechtel2019-09-12
  6. "Great systems and structured career planning"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bechtel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Enormous range of opportunities

    Cons

    Limited exposure to smaller projects

    Bechtel2019-07-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Document Controller in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bechtel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good work life balance, good work environment

    Cons

    No assurance when project ends

    Bechtel2019-06-08
  8. "CSU Instro"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSU Instro in Gladstone, Queensland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bechtel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work mates, packages of work supplied were second to none and easy to follow and equipment was fit for purpose

    Cons

    None being 100 % truthful

    Continue reading
    Bechtel2019-04-23
  9. "Great Family Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bechtel full-time

    Pros

    International development, wide range of functional opportunities, mentors everywhere.

    Cons

    Still a bit of an "old boys" club...

    Bechtel2019-04-08
  10. "Good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bechtel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great perks to be honest!

    Cons

    Non to say really! Everything is great!

    Bechtel2019-04-06

    Bechtel Response

    April 11, 2019Senior Talent Acquisition Program Specialist

    Thank you for your response and we are glad you are happy at Bechtel!

Found 1273 reviews