BlackBerry Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

BlackBerry Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1986 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
BlackBerry CEO John Chen
John Chen
638 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at BlackBerry

    Pros

    It was a very Good team environment

    Cons

    Can be stressful for the target

    Advice to Management

    better time management

    BlackBerry2016-08-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good team, horrible management though

    Cons

    pretty much 80% of my life at RIM was terrible

    Advice to Management

    Done promote people based on your personal relationships. Base it on knowledge and skills

    BlackBerry2013-01-30
  3. "System admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, friendly, innovative, free phone

    Cons

    Layoffs, unemployment, no hardware manufacturing

    BlackBerry2019-10-09
  4. "OK Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Good culture Good environment Good amount of responsibilities Good locatio

    Cons

    No really cons to mention

    Advice to Management

    Help employees to grow

    BlackBerry2019-10-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great people and team atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Analyst in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are wonderful, very welcoming. Very diverse set of skills and abilities within the organization. Never short from learning on a daily basis.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is very difficult. It may be unique to my role given I'm in security and monitoring. BlackBerry has a hard rule from working from home which has only gotten more extreme. Before it was casual and if you had a good reason, I'm thinking some people abused the freedom we had. Unfortunately this has stifled my family life and I feel like I'm always in the office.

    Advice to Management

    Discuss hours of operation, work from home capability again. Competing organizations are well advanced in comparison.

    BlackBerry2019-09-28
  6. "Post-Acquisition Woes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Associate in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Autonomous work environment Decent perks Schedule Flexibility

    Cons

    Not much of a culture Siloed departments

    Advice to Management

    The attrition since being acquired at Blackberry is the worst I've seen. Stop the bleeding, re-invigorate the sales/marketing teams, and provide clearer outlook on product roadmaps.

    BlackBerry2019-10-10
  7. "Different teams, different environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior BI Analyst in Allan Water, ON

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good management and lots of training opportunities in some of the teams.

    Cons

    Bad management, stressful environment, zero training opportunities in some other teams. It all goes to individual managers.

    BlackBerry2019-09-24
  8. "Good company with a lot of talent, but lack of vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Talented people, with good work culture

    Cons

    Lack of proper project management organization and product management organization

    Advice to Management

    None

    BlackBerry2019-09-22
  9. "Innovation and investment in people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in San Jose, CA
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with some great people who created the culture and environment of respect and success.

    Cons

    Weak executive management. No innovation. Invest in people.

    BlackBerry2019-10-06
  10. "Old fashioned company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Operations in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Location in London is great, 5 min walk to Covent Garden and a lot of theatres nearby. The office is opposite Somerset House with multiple transport links.

    Cons

    The decision making process is really long and the information is locked down within small groups of people. Communication across whole organisation needs to improved. No career progression but interview process is time consuming.

    Advice to Management

    Please open up to your employees and show your interest in them.

    BlackBerry2019-10-01
Found 1986 reviews