BlackBerry Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

BlackBerry Reviews

Updated 15 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1936 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
BlackBerry CEO John Chen
John Chen
622 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at BlackBerry

    Pros

    It was a very Good team environment

    Cons

    Can be stressful for the target

    Advice to Management

    better time management

    BlackBerry2016-08-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good team, horrible management though

    Cons

    pretty much 80% of my life at RIM was terrible

    Advice to Management

    Done promote people based on your personal relationships. Base it on knowledge and skills

    BlackBerry2013-01-30
  3. "Good Company, Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Systems Developer in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked on a great team, good perks employees are well looked after

    Cons

    salary a little below average progression is slow

    Advice to Management

    Bring back BlackBerry phones

    BlackBerry2019-07-15
  4. "Great culture, smart people, innovation hindered by process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Infrastructure Specialist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits, excellent work life balance, subsidized meals and free healthy snacks.

    Cons

    Senior management is unfortunately very reactive instead of proactive. Innovation is often crippled by excessive policy and lack of appropriate IT framework. My job (like most) is 85% process, 15% actuall work. Might as well be government.

    Advice to Management

    Create an environment where people can learn and innovate instead of being bogged down by process.

    BlackBerry2019-07-12
  5. "Good Place to Work Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Good salary with bonus incentive. Good work-life balance with flexible hours. Strong leadership from CEO John Chen.

    Cons

    Go-to-market strategy not fully baked for new solutions. Limited career growth opportunities.

    BlackBerry2019-07-10
  6. "Bleh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Associate 

      I have been working at BlackBerry part-time

      Pros

      Friendly and positive to work there

      Cons

      Not compatible with my career

      BlackBerry2019-06-25
    • "Good company. Constantly changing."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Product Manager 

      I worked at BlackBerry full-time

      Pros

      Good package, leadership has been consistent for some years.

      Cons

      Significant transformation has taken place and likely will continue. That's quite normal these days, but difficult if you're not comfortable with change,

      BlackBerry2019-06-25
    • "Unclear and improper career tracks"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Automation Tools Developer in Waterloo, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Large enterprise so opportunities to learn where productivity is at a slower pace compared to smaller companies

      Cons

      Career tracks are ill-defined and no career guidance or resources.

      BlackBerry2019-07-08
    • "Great company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Manager in Waterloo, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great compensation. Some inspiring leaders to work for . Opportunities to grow and learn if you seek for advancement

      Cons

      Communication is always challenging in big companies and BlackBerry is not the exception. Time of transition and restructuring were difficult years of uncertainty for employees but it feels as it is all in the past and the environment is much better now.

      BlackBerry2019-06-08
    • "Leave"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Free lunch, great office location.

      Cons

      How long have you got?

      BlackBerry2019-07-12
    Found 1936 reviews