Boise State University Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 393 of over 428 reviews

4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Boise State University President Bob Kustra
Bob Kustra
147 Ratings
Pros
  • "A great work environment in Higher Education(in 23 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule allows for class work(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay, cap you at how many hours you can work(in 28 reviews)

  • "There are a lot of proficient staff in BSU(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Would work there again

      Jul 21, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked on campus as an administrative assistant for a government agency that is housed on campus, so I reported both to the government agency and to the university. Good things about the job: -They were flexible and understanding about my class schedule and worked with me so I could attend school while working full time. -Compensation and benefits were good, especially discounted tuition. Considering my youth, they were not stingy with my starting salary and raises. -Easy hiring process -Low stress. I had a lot of down time on the job and my primary responsibility was to help callers and walk ins. If I wasn't busy with that and didn't have any pending projects or tasks, I was welcome to read, study, or surf the web. No need to appear busy if I wasn't. -I never got calls on my days off or had to work late- they respected my life outside of work well. -Nice environment to be on campus near students and campus activities -Good training, I knew what was expected of me at work and was trained well on how to do it. If I had questions my supervisor was easily accessible to help me out.

      Cons

      -The team I worked with were polite but distant. I only had 1 really good friend at work, and one decently good friend. The leadership was a bit aloof. -You have to pay for a parking pass, which is a few hundred dollars depending on how close to your office you want to be. I feel like that should be free for staff, or at least discounted or have a designated lot. -Some bureaucracy that comes with an organization of that size: work orders, IT tickets can be slow to be resolved. Sometimes there's a lot of layers to work through to get approval for simple things.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good Place to work, excellent benefits

      Jul 18, 2021 - Student in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are great, and the energy on campus is good.

      Cons

      Pay, the base pay for most entry positions is quite low.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work!

      Jul 19, 2021 - Academic Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredibly Flexible, Amazing benefits, Great department community

      Cons

      Pay lower than some competitors

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      What You Make Of It

      Jul 13, 2021 - Programs Administrator in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits (health insurance, tuition waiver, on-campus resources), mission-driven, lots of connection to community, decent support for professional development

      Cons

      Low/slow to grow pay, lots of discrepancies in pay equity, work/life balance and culture vary widely across departments, not much opportunity for growth in most positions

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Super fun job!

      Jun 27, 2021 - Childcare Worker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved working there because I loved working with children and getting close to them in a classroom setting.

      Cons

      the pay is low because of idaho minimum wage

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Non-competitive pay for your graduate degree

      Jul 11, 2021 - Content Writer in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clear lines of communication Transparent hiring, payment practices Tuition reimbursement

      Cons

      No additional compensation if you earn additional degrees/certifications in your field Non-competitive pay Talk up their 'impressive, highly competitive benefits' but it's really just okay health insurance and tuition reimbursement. It's impressive for a highly specific group of people.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      state politics impacting functioning

      Jul 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people to work with.

      Cons

      State politics have really negatively impacted the functioning of the university. Budget and program cuts have left morale low.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work

      Jun 25, 2021 - Biologist in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learning opportunities and growth potential

      Cons

      The pay can be a bit low

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      student

      Jun 24, 2021 - PhD Graduate Student in Hailey, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive, and resourceful environment to work

      Cons

      The pay is low for the workload

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      n/a

      Jul 15, 2021 - Intramural Referee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is very flexible with your school schedule

      Cons

      Waste of time, earn little money

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 393 Reviews

    Work at Boise State University? Share Your Experiences

    Boise State University logo
    or