Boots Opticians Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Boots Opticians Reviews

Updated 15 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 160 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Jonathan Gardner
5 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The favourites can also have their mobiles on the shop floor, instead of in their locker(in 9 reviews)

  • "Not enough optics trained management(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Too short employment to really know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Boots Opticians part-time

    Pros

    good work environment with friendly staff

    Cons

    would have liked to stay longer

    Advice to Management

    none

    Boots Opticians2018-11-27
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Optical Consultant in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly staff - Good staff discount in opticians and main store

    Cons

    - Low pay even when qualified as an optical consultant - Hours could work 12:30 - 9:30 then 8:30 - 5 next day - No progression

    Boots Opticians2019-07-15
  3. "Don't bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Assistant in Ipswich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff are great, just over worked.

    Cons

    They don't care!, no matter how bad the process is, they won't change it but expect you to 'improve it'.! There computers are a pain, you still have to use paper files? And the customers are just there to milk for money not help! Time management is just keep your staff back as late as possible.

    Advice to Management

    Get some!

    Boots Opticians2019-07-13
  4. "Great values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Manager in Egham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing support from Area manager.

    Cons

    No Christmas bonus if your a store manager.

    Boots Opticians2019-06-17
  5. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Customer Service 

      I worked at Boots Opticians part-time

      Pros

      Very knowledgeable and gained new skills

      Cons

      Long hours are very tiring

      Boots Opticians2019-07-01
    • "Good Solid Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Dispensing Optician 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good company perks, discounts, holidays

      Cons

      Not the best salaries

      Boots Opticians2019-06-21
    • "Boots"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Staff discount and great access to products

      Cons

      Late hours, weekends and bank holidays

      Advice to Management

      Appreciate staff

      Boots Opticians2019-06-05
    • "Good Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Trainee Optical Consultant 

        I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Easy job when you get the hang of it Good pay (£8.50 per hour) Talk to customers/patients on a daily basis Good phone experience and customer service experience

        Cons

        Can get fast paced No real training (learn on the job) Management can be awful

        Boots Opticians2019-06-19
      • Helpful (1)

        "A shadow of it's former self"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Optical Consultant in Manchester City Centre, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Fantastic work force in every store, every day is different, less sales driven than other competitors, good trainee program.

        Cons

        Walgreens took over halfway through this period and they've turned what was a health based company that focused on promoting it's own staff, to a understaffed, overworked hell hole, that employs managers externally who are unfit for the role. Overworking/understaffing means no time to train newcomers, high staff turnover, not enough people per customer, horendous, border-line illegal paper based filing system, opticians...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Start promoting internally again, people who actually know how Boots is run and it's core values, or at least what were it's values.

        Boots Opticians2019-06-16
      • "Used to be FANTASTIC, now the leadership has disintigrated."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Practice Manager 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Excellent pay for experienced people including clinicians. Good holiday times and allowance. A passion for customer service in a lot of people.

        Cons

        I was no longer invited to management interviews whilst pregnant. I was strongly discouraged to return to a management role when I returned from maternity. I had worked my way into management over many many years, yet as soon as I took time away for maternity I was treated appallingly.

        Advice to Management

        Focus on speaking directly to your PM's, not just listen to the RM's and what they want you to see. Spend time in your stores, listen and watch what your customers and staff actually want.

        Boots Opticians2019-06-13
      Found 160 reviews