Booz Allen Hamilton Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Booz Allen Hamilton Reviews

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4849 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Booz Allen Hamilton CEO Horacio D. Rozanski
Horacio D. Rozanski
1022 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance is hard to maintain(in 202 reviews)

  • "Burns through people by chasing awful work to maintain company revenue after going public(in 101 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Strong firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good values and work ethic

    Cons

    Long hours, sometimes on the weekend

    Booz Allen Hamilton2017-07-10
  2. "very good work culture here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton

    Pros

    very good work culture here

    Cons

    i do not have any negatives

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-06-27
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible Pay and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Everything depends on your specific project/team/client Non client-facing positions usually offer some flexible working arrangements

    Cons

    Outdated culture Management talks the talk but doesn't walk the walk Benefits are being cut even during growth periods You will feel like just a number Pay is terrible and not on par with competitors Very little work / life balance Office space is terrible, company refuses to invest in decent / large enough facilities High turnover among younger employees b/c of everything listed above

    Advice to Management

    None. They won't listen anyways. They are stuck in the 1900's. If you want to be overworked and underpaid, fight your colleagues for office space, be nickel and dime'd by your own company, have your benefits slashed every year even when the company experiences growth, and experience all the worst parts of corporate culture - Booz Allen Hamilton is the place for you.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-02-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The CEO seem like a good guy.

    Cons

    "The Work Life Balance that it promises is usally not the reality" "It is common for a person to be hired and then let go in a few months for "lack of work""

    Advice to Management

    Stick with the pick

    Booz Allen Hamilton2015-06-10
  5. Helpful (436)

    "Great people, terrible business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are great. Everyone -- even the difficult types -- are eager to work and excel. There are some senior officers with questionable morality, but most people here are great people to work with.

    Cons

    1. Federal clients. Don't forget that you'll move at their pace, not yours. 2. The nature of the job means that sooner or later you'll be strategizing ways to get more money from the client (i.e. federal government), regardless of whether or not you'll actually add value. BAH runs on government money, a large chunk from DoD, and thus is part of the bigger problem we have in this country with fiscal responsibility....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'm leaving this job for two reasons, despite being hand-picked and groomed for greater responsibility by senior management. 1. You weren't paying me enough to do the job; especially when you factor in the amount of stress this job puts on a human being, the amount of time I sacrificed with my family, the amount of guilt this job inspired in me as an American. 2. The job is not meaningful to anyone who doesn't lust...

    Show More
    Booz Allen Hamilton2016-09-15
  6. "BAH Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Associate in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, 401k, tuition assistance, upward mobility, experiences/opportunities, fair salaries

    Cons

    Health insurance isn't great, work/life balance quality depends on the office

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-08-22
  7. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to work

    Cons

    limited growth for growing career

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-08-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, career growth, management support

    Cons

    Stacked with ineffective middle management

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-08-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "struggling to pivot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Associate in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity. Great training ground for self-motivated, self starters who know how to work on their weaknesses.

    Cons

    Directionless leadership; transition from private ownership to PE to public has fundamentally changed the employee experience. Danger of turning into a pure beltway bandit body shop.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-08-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people and great work life balance. Semi-interesting and valuable work.

    Cons

    Pretty hard to get different project experiences like a typical management consulting firm. Pretty easy to feel "stuck" on a current project.

    Advice to Management

    Management is overall supportive and wants you to succeed. Could do a better job giving constructive criticism.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-08-13
Found 4849 reviews