Broadcom Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Broadcom Reviews

Updated 18 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2168 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Broadcom CEO Hock E. Tan
Hock E. Tan
230 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and work environment(in 165 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance, great work schedules that don't burn people out and good management(in 145 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor work life balance though it may vary from one team to another(in 135 reviews)

  • "On many occasions, long hours with tough schedules exist(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Pros and Cons about Avago(Broadcom Sydney)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Broadcom full-time

      Pros

      Broadcom Sydney has the only one job opportunity for an IC physical design engineer all over Australia. it has got amazing working environments, and My manager and colleagues were pretty nice and experienced.

      Cons

      There are so many uncertainties for Sydney office because Avago always insists on the policy of cost-down.

      Broadcom2018-11-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Systems Design engineering"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Broadcom

      Pros

      Helpful team, great work life balance

      Cons

      No spoon feeding, and you have start working from first week

      Advice to Management

      treat contractors with same respect as employees

      Broadcom2016-08-13
    • "ASIC Enginner Senior Staff"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - ASIC Engineer Senior Staff in Sydney
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Broadcom full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great work culture , very open and accessible management

      Cons

      Not sure - may be tight work schedule

      Broadcom2015-11-06
    • "All about the bottom line"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Software Support Engineer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Broadcom full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      In some ways my headline is a pro and a con. Broadcom purchased my company and before the purchase we were all about pleasing the customer. Sometimes to a fault. Broadcom seems more about dividing up the clients into the ones that pay us a lot of money and the ones that do not and the service we provide is based on that. Obviously that is working for them because they are very successful. But it gives you a sense...

      Show More

      Cons

      Again, to save money, Broadcom uses Google mail, Google chat, etc. and even a smaller "knock-off" product of Salesforce that is cumbersome. These applications make the day to day job of an employee more difficult.

      Broadcom2019-07-18
    • "Broadcom acquired our company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Broadcom full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Inclusive in communications. Direct in intention.

      Cons

      Could have used the exiting team members better.

      Broadcom2019-07-17
    • "Place to make money"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Colorado Springs, CO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Broadcom full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Strong goals and pay in proportion to the work

      Cons

      work-life balance is missing in this organization

      Broadcom2019-07-12
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Broadcom full-time

      Pros

      Good health and bonus benefit and good people

      Cons

      Work stress and long work w Hours

      Broadcom2019-07-11
    • "Great company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Design Engineer in Irvine, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Broadcom full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great company, and great people to work with

      Cons

      Mature and downsizing business, and won't support future h1b lottery

      Broadcom2019-07-09
    • "Needs to work on Motivating employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Operator in Fort Collins, CO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Broadcom full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good benefits Good pay for some of us Good schedule Low stress Fun people

      Cons

      PTO below average HR policy changes sluggish Very slow to change anything

      Advice to Management

      Fix the pay gap, equal pay for equal work. I get that new employees should start out lower than experienced ones, but if they perform well and work hard or harder than the experienced employees then let them be able to reach that same pay rate in a reasonable amount of time. I get very frustrated to see some operators work their butts off and getting paid 30% less than someone who does bare minimum just because they been...

      Show More
      Broadcom2019-07-07
    • "Not bad if you work hard and have a good manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Support Engineer 

        I have been working at Broadcom full-time

        Pros

        Manager engagement Understanding about family Vacation time

        Cons

        Large workload, sometimes seems impossible

        Broadcom2019-07-19
      Found 2168 reviews