C Space Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

C Space Reviews

Updated 14 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
C Space CEO Charles Trevail  (no image)
Charles Trevail
63 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I left C Space due to constant challenges with resourcing and workload(in 20 reviews)

  • "Long hours for little pay or praise from seniors(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at C Space full-time

    Pros

    dynamic and flexible workplace. Fun at times

    Cons

    Too political... Being promoted is about who likes you more than about your work

    C Space2016-05-31
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great People, Unsustainable Workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at C Space full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    During my time at C Space I enjoyed learning from a group of bright, passionate colleagues. The client list was impressive, as was the work C Space was doing. There was a true sense of camaraderie, even during difficult times and conversations.

    Cons

    I left C Space due to constant challenges with resourcing and workload. More than any other company I've worked for, C Space struggles to hire and retain enough people to support their work. I understand that the parent company presents some challenges, but not being able to back fill roles even during times of growth is demoralizing. I had no work-life balance and the stress level was unsustainable.

    C Space2020-02-14
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Good For Short-term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at C Space full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most clients are really good to work with and the work is very interesting. The people you work with on a day to day basis are the best part and what holds people there longer. Really good place for about 2 years or so but after that you start really noticing the negatives.

    Cons

    As many other reviews have said, Senior Management is completely clueless on what they are doing. Typically they come up with a new company strategy every year or so which is centered around a ton of buzz words that don't mean anything. Promotions, extremely inconsistent and seems based more on who someone is friendly with rather than their actually merits. Basically if you're not on the CX team you'll have to put in 60+ hours a week for a few years to get promoted. On the CX team theyll probably promote you your 2nd week. Benefits + Compensation: some of the worse you'll see. Right next to south station but don't provide anything towards a T pass. HR + Operations: Way too much power in the organization and completely ignore anything thats a problem until its a major one. Case in point: in our employee experience results presentation they spend 99% of the time on miscellaneous metrics that we improved on then flew by the most important metrics because we declined on them.

    Continue reading
    C Space2020-02-02

    C Space Response

    February 4, 2020Chief People & Operations Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. I’m sorry that despite working for great clients and with fantastic people, you’re sounding pretty frustrated by life at C Space right now. I hope that you feel able to discuss these issues with your reporting manager or team leader. Of course, I’m also happy to discuss any of your points with you in more detail if you’d like to swing by my desk any time or pop in time for a coffee. In the meantime, I can address some of your comments here in case that’s helpful for you or others reading this. We’re striving to build an open, transparent culture, and I’m surprised that your takeaway from last summer’s engagement results presentation was that 99% of the content was focused on metrics where we showed improvement. When Gabby and I put this presentation together, we structured it in four parts. The first recapped the highs and lows of the previous year. We then shared where we’d most improved (learning and development opportunities, improvements on last year’s survey, building a more diverse and inclusive culture). We then dived into where we excel (culture, living our values, focusing on clients, collaboration within departments). And finally, spent the final 25% of the deck (via 20+ slides) talking about areas where we did not score so favorably and what we plan to do about it (reward, ensuring everyone feels recognized for their contribution, more work to do on diversity and inclusion, collaboration across departments). After the presentation, we responded to individual and team requests for extra data, providing cuts by ethnicity and details about how scores varied based on tenure and level of seniority. We shared this information with the entire company via email and then gave everyone access to the full presentation for their reference. While there’s always work to do and we’re far from perfect, we’re making progress in the areas identified as improvement areas: rolling out sessions this February to the whole company clarifying our pay, performance and promotion process; continuing to build and expand the influence of our Allies Group; holding formal training around diversity and inclusion for Senior Leadership; rolling out a new training program for reporting managers. Last week, we also rolled out a new communications platform since that was another area people flagged as needing improvement. We’re receiving great feedback already on how this can improve information flows around the business. I feel obliged to provide some data on your comments relating to promotions at C Space as they don’t ring true with me. In 2019, we promoted 69 people (about 20% of our US team). I just scanned the list of names and three of this number were from our CX (Customer Experience) team. In addition, one person was promoted from elsewhere in the business into that team due to the fast growth they were experiencing. In 2020, another person has moved across into that team (the promotion was triggered by performance outside the team), we had one off-cycle promotion in January, and three people have been promoted out of that team into bigger roles (two of them outside of the team). It’s worth noting too, that the CX team did experience more than 100% revenue growth in 2019 so this certainly provided people in that team with a lot of opportunity to step up, develop skills and work on stretching assignments. This aside, promotions at C Space are ultimately dependent on people hitting the relevant competencies, living our values and a role being available (e.g. business need). We hold biannual calibration sessions with input from Reporting Managers, Team Directors to ensure promotions are applied fairly across the business. If you’d like more detail about how the process works, please attend one of the 7-8 sessions we have planned for February where there will also be an opportunity to ask questions about any aspect of how decisions are made. It sounds like your comments really stem from a broader feeling that you/ people in the sector teams are not as valued, or appreciated, or celebrated as much as those people in the CX or DnA team. This is something we alluded to in our last staff meeting. We need to ensure that all of our teams feel valued for the contribution they make. We work with a variety of different clients, who do all sorts of different types of work with us. We need to talk about the game-changing work that is pushing us forward, as well as work that is more ‘day-to-day’ but equally important to our growth and to our clients. This is something we’ve been discussing as a leadership team. I hope that you’ll have noticed that the first four projects/ wins that we have called out and celebrated on our new communications platform have been related to work being led by teams outside of our CX/ DnA teams. We also shared at our January staff meeting that we all need to work harder to break down team silos. We succeed and do our best work when teams are working together, not forging on alone in silos. Again, I’m sorry that you’re frustrated by so many things right now. I suspect that may answers above may clarify a few things for readers, but not ultimately change how you’re experiencing things right now, so as mentioned above, if you’re keen to stay and help us understand how we can work together to improve the things that aren’t working for you, please get in touch. Phil (Chief People & Operations Officer)

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Pays lip service to transparency and career growth but doesn't deliver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at C Space full-time

    Pros

    • Happy environment and frequent happy hours • Access to management and clients • Value centric culture but it's enforced not organic

    Cons

    • Figure out your allies quickly, you'll have to learn about big company policies that will affect your livelihood and career through water cooler gossip • Widely acknowledged that pay is terrible, creates low motivation to work harder than you should • Tension between client teams who actually do the work and sales who sells improperly scoped projects and unrealistic leadership who expect you to figure it out

    C Space2020-01-17

    C Space Response

    January 23, 2020Senior Director of HR

    Thank you for writing your feedback about your time with us as a Senior Consultant-- one of the busiest roles on our client services teams. I’m glad you experienced our positive culture and open-door connections with our leadership and many incredible clients. You also mentioned our values, which were relaunched in 2019 to provide more specifics around what great behaviors can look like, and where the risks are. I wish I knew more about why you felt they were more enforced than organic. It’s true we have provided tips for how people can celebrate each other through on and offline means (notes and shout outs for example), but to me that is more a sign of how busy at work we know everyone is –and that sometimes it just takes a quick reminder to remember to “show the love” for someone else. On the cons side, I am not sure how to respond to “figuring out allies quickly” other than it feels negative, that somehow you felt you needed to identify who would support you – which should have come naturally through our relationship-based culture. I’m sorry if that was the case. Regarding company policies, our People & Ops team is always available to help explain a policy or practice – water cooler gossip to your point, isn’t always going to be accurate. In terms of compensation, we benchmark externally as well as internally and pay within ranges based on experience and performance; our pay philosophy and practices are available, and our full value proposition for working here we believe strongly goes beyond pay to our highly flexible and supportive culture and robust learning and development program to name a few attributes. It’s unfortunate that you felt that the dynamics between our sales and delivery teams were tense, and leaders you worked with didn’t provide enough help for day to day work. I’m certain things don’t go perfectly for every project or deliverable, but generally we hear that our teams greatly enjoy working collaboratively together to solve our client challenges. I would hope that you reached out to your reporting manager, or People & Ops Business Partner for guidance when you weren’t as happy. Since you’ve moved on to your next opportunity I wish you all the best in your career. If you’re ever inclined to chat about your experience, feel free to reach out. Thanks for your hard work and contributions during your time here.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Grind it out and rely on yourself."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at C Space full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you work with are fantastic work driven, fun people who can relate to the work atmosphere. You get to work with some interesting clients and the company hosts some fun events. Culture is something they try to value, but the focus needs to change to more important things than "cool office". Great place to start your career, but not one to develop a career in my opinion.

    Cons

    I never felt like I had anyone who cared about my career growth or potential. The work is actually pretty un-impactful and the clients dictate everything. The company has a "say yes and figure it out" mentality that weighs heavy on the lower level employees that actually have to do the work. I can say I enjoyed my time at C Space, but professionally, I set myself back a couple years working here.

    Continue reading
    C Space2020-01-05
  6. Helpful (5)

    "embarrassed to have worked here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at C Space full-time

    Pros

    nice and smart people generally. Some interesting insight work. Flexible schedule and work from home. decent benefits. Interesting mission but too hard for an under resourced agency.

    Cons

    undervalues their people with terrible pay and laughably bad resources. Some people are ditzy which is embarrassing in front of clients. Work can be a grind. Some quit within months for other jobs with big raises. leaders treat clients and some workers as friends not as professionals. Promotions go to friends and management's favorites not to hard workers. Hard workers get paid the same as other workers who coast through their week. or two people with the same title and pay have two very different roles and workload

    Continue reading
    C Space2019-12-17
  7. Helpful (6)

    "A nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at C Space full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Part of the Omnicom Group (Big 4 in Advertising) which brings very attractive clients Gives good basic experience in Qualitative Research

    Cons

    "Cultural Crisis and Record Turnover" 2-3 people from project teams leave this firm every week because of the miserable pay and unbearable amounts of work laid upon them. C Space has a group identity culture enforced with a list of behaviors employees must demonstrate, they will describe themselves as a Inclusive Meritocracy, but it is the total opposite. The "360 feedback culture" enforces employees to criticize each other, in the name of "constructive feedback". This therefore creates a culture of fear and walking on eggshells (in my experience in project teams, consultants act overly keen, obsequious and desperate to sugar-coat some very basic research insights. Over half of people who are in key project-work positions are secretly looking for jobs themselves. Every Friday at 4, the entire London team is summoned by the CEO who desperately tries to be like Steve Jobs. During his endless monologues, whilst you keep worrying about your unfinished tasks yet will find solace in the free beer/wine before the week ends, you will receive an earful about how amazing and modern the culture is, despite its obvious flaws which are causing key people to resign every week. You will only truly succeed in this firm if you play the game right.

    Continue reading
    C Space2019-12-05

    C Space Response

    December 10, 2019Managing Director

    I’m really saddened that you had a negative experience at C Space and I wish we could have spoken about this while you were with us to see if there were things we could have done to improve your experience. I would like to address the points you make because as Managing Director of our London office, I'm accountable for our culture and our people. Group identify culture is the opposite of what we want to achieve. Our agency was founded on the belief that diversity breeds results. 80% of work is global and as a result we’re proud that our office hails from all over the world. We won the MRS Best Place To Work Award last year off the back of our efforts to recruit people outside of traditional agency backgrounds through blinded CVs, banishing the need for degrees and launching apprenticeships. Our behaviours are meant to guide the way we interact with each other on our best day and were co-created by C Spacers. It shouldn’t be a restrictive code of conduct or lead to uniformity so I'm sorry that this is how you felt. We believe in progress over perfection when it comes to working on diversity and inclusion and so we certainly don’t get everything right and your feedback is something that we’ll take on board. We’re committed to retaining our talent and building career paths that give people more opportunity to embrace their strengths and learn new tricks while they’re here. We want C Space to be a place where people grow the most in their career whether that’s in how to manage people, do amazing craft or grow client relationships. Friday at 4 is an important office ritual, a chance to reflect and celebrate everyone’s successes over the week so I’m sorry that you didn’t see that value. Since the inception of Friday at 4 we have rotated the leadership of the meeting through 14 different leaders in the business. Looking at the calendar there’s two slots a year that our CEO speaks at. We believe all team leaders should own the floor and not just the most senior people in the organisation. You’re right that we can’t rest on our laurels when it comes to our culture and it’s a constant work in progress which takes regular listening and collaboration across the business to work – from our senior team doing bi-monthly listening sessions with peer groups in the business to the culture club and CSR team who organise moments of togetherness across the company. Wishing you well in your next step and if you'd like to discuss any of the points I've raised, please get in touch.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "A place to grow... but after? Not sure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at C Space full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you find yourself in a passionate and engaged team, this place will help you grow leaps and bounds.

    Cons

    Resource is a bit of a problem but they're aware of it. The work can feel really thankless at times as well - you have to find a personal reason to be here, and sometimes that means looking HARD at yourself. Also the skills here are great if you want to stay in London but can be hard transferring to other industries.

    Continue reading
    C Space2019-11-13

    C Space Response

    December 5, 2019Managing Director

    Thanks for sharing your experience of working at C Space. I’m really glad to hear that you feel it’s a place where you can grow leaps and bounds. We want C Space to be a place where learn the most in their career – whether that’s how to build and lead teams, do fantastic client work or create their own business unit. This should be the case in whatever team you’re in and my job is to ensure that teams are operating in the right environment to make that happen. And within this we're working on ensuring that people feel more rewarded and recognised in the moment. I believe that we're good at all company shout outs and recognising people living our behaviours but leaders and managers need to make more time to say thank you in the moment with specific feedback that is more meaningful and thoughtful. You’re right to point out that resourcing can be an issue in a fast-paced agency environment and we don’t always get it right. We have recently shifted our focus of resourcing to be less about “time” and more about people – link people’s development more closely to what they’re staffed on. It’s definitely a work in progress and something we’ll continue to hone.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at C Space full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work is fascinating and I often find myself excited to come in and get to it. Overall I think the company had a high degree of self-awareness and leadership is always making an effort to reflect and recalibrate when things aren’t working. They don’t always get it right, but the fact that they can communicate about what isn’t working and show that they’re trying is appreciated. Because the company is in the middle of a big transition, there is tons of opportunity - both to try and learn new things and to grow professionally.

    Cons

    Like with any company, there are some challenges to working here. The technology available to employees is woefully out of date and we lose hours of productivity because of it. There isn’t a ton of transparency when it comes to raises and promotions and how they decide what levels to hire people at; I’ve seen a lot of inconsistency in terms of years of experience needed to be hired in at different levels. The projects I’ve worked on have for the most part been undervalued and sold for much, much less than they’re worth compared to what I’ve seen at other consulting firms. And it definitely requires an iron clad will and very, very firm boundaries to maintain a healthy work-life balance.

    Continue reading
    C Space2019-10-20

    C Space Response

    November 27, 2019Chief People & Operations Officer

    Thank you for your thoughtful and candid review. It’s great to hear how excited you are to come to work every day and we appreciate your trust in leadership – transparency continues to be our focus and it’s nice to hear that it’s palpable across the organization. As you mentioned, we are undergoing a big (and exciting) transition that we intend will serve our employees and clients for years to come and with that, there are certainly some growing pains. We’re sorry to hear about your frustrations with technology. We have tried to focus on improving our tech challenges by upskilling teams across all systems and platforms as well as creating process documents and “cheat sheets” to navigate our technology. Unfortunately, not all of the technology decisions are within our control. If you are having specific and persistent issues with your laptop and need an upgrade, please drop me, Paige or the technology team a note and we can work out whether we can upgrade it. Work-life balance can be tricky and is something many employees struggle with from time to time. We recommend you reach out to your Reporting Manager, share your concerns and see if together you can come up with a few ways to better balance your workload. If you don't feel able to discuss with your RM, please reach out to someone on our People Team. There may be other solutions that you haven’t considered or that aren’t on your radar. At our Boston office, we also offer on-site yoga, a masseuse, flexible work hours and locations, and our Speaker Series has included (and will continue to focus on) sessions about achieving balance as working professionals. We appreciate that work life balance is a shared responsibility between us as an employer and the individuals who work here... and that things are particularly busy during Q4. There’s always room for improvement, and we’d definitely welcome any and all suggestions so please do reach out to anyone in our People Development Team – Leah, Jessie, Andrea, Courtney, Liz, Phil or Maria.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (9)

    "No separation of HR and company politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at C Space full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Resume builder. Long hours means a lot of experience.

    Cons

    Politics. C Space has a serious problem when it comes to corporate politics. The leadership team and upper management have been working together for years and have developed a toxic social click. If you have a problem, regardless of its nature (pay, workload, etc..) do not expect HR to help you. They are a part of the toxic cult and will not even look into your problem because they are a part of the cult. Sales sells business that the company is not equipped to support, and other employees are expected to figure out. This results in understaffed teams, long hours and a stressful work culture. People are not happy here. Avoid at all costs.

    Continue reading
    C Space2019-11-12

    C Space Response

    November 15, 2019Chief People & Operations Officer

    I'm really sorry and saddened to hear that this is how you feel about the 3-4 years you spent working with us. I'm Chief People Officer, accountable for the experience our HR team provides and also part of the leadership team. I can imagine that you may not appreciate the point of view I put forward so I won't write a lengthy reply, but think it's worth addressing a couple of specific points you raise. I can speak to my own experience of being part of a leadership team who cares deeply about the experience we provide to the C Spacers, doesn't always get it right, and just spent the last 2 days working together on an offsite where 75% of the focus was on how we can work together to effectively lead our business through change. Many of the team have worked together for many years, that's true. And this year, we've brought 7 new people into the team who weren't part of it 18 months ago, including me. I can also point to the engagement scores in the July staff survey where 92% of employees participated. 80% agree we have a strong culture. 84% relate to our values. 85% believe people in our business live our values and 80% of people are proud to work at C Space. That's not perfect, and unfortunately, it sounds like your experience was different. If you, anyone else considering a role at C Space, or anyone who's currently part of the team would like to chat more about any of this, I'm always happy to grab a coffee. Just drop me an email or connect with me on LinkedIn. Otherwise, I wish you all the best in your next career step. Phil Burgess, Chief People and Operations Officer.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 163 reviews