C Space Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

C Space Reviews

Updated 15 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 154 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
C Space CEO Charles Trevail  (no image)
Charles Trevail
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "C Space is a company with a vision(in 20 reviews)

  • "Many senior employees who are working moms/dads-- feels good to be at a place that celebrates work/life balance(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "You can expect a high stress, disorganized environment with long hours and low pay(in 16 reviews)

  • "I would say that to be successful at C Space there is a level of pro-activity required on your part(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at C Space full-time

    Pros

    dynamic and flexible workplace. Fun at times

    Cons

    Too political... Being promoted is about who likes you more than about your work

    C Space2016-05-31
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Engaging work for lackluster pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at C Space full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Brilliant colleagues - High visibility within client organizations - Responsibility given when it is earned and asked for - Entrepreneurial culture - Self-aware organization always trying to deliver a better employee experience

    Cons

    - Pay is terrible - "Client-first" mentally can create martyrdom culture - Vision for the business is wishy-washy, creating confusion about where to place your bets to align yourself with future of business

    Advice to Management

    New hires prior to my departure were all very promising, most of all within the people operations roles and leadership. Continue building the culture that group has started, and bring pay up with the value employees deliver (which - shocker - may mean charging clients more for our services).

    C Space2019-09-06

    C Space Response

    September 18, 2019Chief People & Operations Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated the culture we're building and the incredible people who work here. We know everything isn't perfect, and I'm encouraged to see you valued our levels of self-awareness ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Sinking ship w. horrible compensation, unclear vision, and chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at C Space full-time

    Pros

    - Coworkers are kind and willing to lend a hand, some from elite schools and intellectually driven, think high performing psych major from Tufts U -Leadership is mostly transparent as I’m sure they will be in responding to this review - Get to build C Space as a company since we are transitioning -Even for jr employees, opportunities to reach up and do higher-level work - Work hard, play hard mentality with... some fun social events and lots of laughs, great for people with a sense of humor and bringing their full selves to work

    Show More

    Cons

    - No training. Leadership will defend the new learning program but really you will be thrown into the fire as soon as you start - I have to secretly look for a part time job to supplement my pay because I can’t afford to pay student loans with a C Space salary -insane turnover in my teams largely due to salary and resentment people develop towards C Space before they leave, also leaving no institutional knowledge... behind -half my time spent w. IT figuring out laptop crashes, software crashes, or losing all my progress on my report when the screen goes black - Too much focus on being consultants makes leadership openly disparage our market research work which IS the bulk of what we do. It’s like a cult.. -Too Boston focused including which schools we hire from [tier 1 liberal arts schools or tier 2 Boston-area schools] - Constant chaos. No one knows what anyone else is doing. Random account assignments and then you are yelled at for going over your assigned hours - CEO and leadership is too far removed from the work and don’t work as long hours as jr employees do ever - Jr employees do menial work while our competitors have automated these tasks 5 years ago. These employees then have to work like crazy to get the menial stuff done to gain actual skills by reaching up - New Omnicom promotion and pay increase policies make it even harder to get promoted and get a raise -ironically nonsensical branding of ourselves when we are supposed to be consultants to brands (??]

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It’s time to realize that C Space is a sinking ship. To salvage it, get your life preserve and Take a week to pause everything and seriously reconsider pay, who we hire, and how things operate internally. It’s been 10+ years of employees scraping by on your pay. It’s doable if you’re an East coast rich kid where dad can pay for your rent, vacations and trips home, but if you’re anything but that, life will be a... struggle. No more excuses, us employees have had it.

    Show More
    C Space2019-09-15

    C Space Response

    September 18, 2019Chief People & Operations Officer

    Let me start by saying how disappointed and sorry I am that this is how you’re currently experiencing life at C Space. You point to leadership transparency as one of the pros of working at C Space, which is good to hear and something we pride ourselves on. That said, I won’t try ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at C Space full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and work

    Cons

    Stress and poorly resources projects. Few snakes in the grass

    Advice to Management

    Focus less on hitting targets and more on employee wellbeing

    C Space2019-08-09
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Changed for the worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at C Space full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * High calibre. Most people are very intelligent, curious and ambitious * Innovative. Lots of exposure to new research techniques * Lots of the people are nice, friendly, funny. It can be good socially * HR know what they're doing. It just gets lost in the day to day of teams (see below). They must be pulling their hair out

    Cons

    Firstly - it’s not really innovation, it’s ideas and inspiration for clients at the start of the process. There’s not much commercial thinking, market sizing, logistics. They’re often good ideas, so don't dress it up and pretend to be something else But mostly, this year has been a nosedive in terms of culture. They won some awards last year (these were more deserved at the time, plus they put a lot of effort... into submissions), but since it's gone a bit wrong. Key things: * Thankless. Long hours for little pay or praise from seniors. Emphasis on feedback culture often used as an excuse to criticise and over-control. Very common to feel patronised * Unfair. The apparently rigorous progression process and some successful people are shouted about, but really it comes down to a manager's opinion. If you're one of the favoured few, great - if not you can be stuck * A lot of hot air. Some things feel like vanity/an Instagram post rather than for anyone's benefit * Believes it's more progressive than it is. Some leaders talk about how special/transparent/modern it is - and use that as a sticking plaster for low pay. Reality is a lot of what they talk about is standard in the agency world * Trying to be something it’s not. Self-compares to big, famous consultancies. That’s not why people work here. Bain, McKinsey etc. do a very different kind of work in a different atmosphere for a lot more money. Really competitors are small-medium market research agencies

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    * Value your people or more will go * Go back to how it was 1-2 years ago * Having things like ‘show the love’ stenciled on the wall and over-using the word 'empathy' doesn’t make up for being a bit brutal

    C Space2019-07-11
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Chaotic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at C Space full-time

    Pros

    Lots of growth opportunities if you have the patience

    Cons

    Left hand does not know what the right hand is doing

    C Space2019-07-13

    C Space Response

    July 16, 2019Senior Director of HR

    Thank you for posting your review of C Space. It sounds like you’re having a mixed experience so far (not sure how long you’ve been with us). We certainly believe that there are many opportunities to learn and grow here across client accounts and teams as well as growth to new ...

    Show More
  7. "A truly great place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at C Space full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -The perfect balance between a studious and fun workplace -Genuine opportunity for personal and career growth -The leadership listens and everyone, including senior people, is approachable -Strong company culture that encourages teamwork and allows you to be yourself -Exposure to some very interesting projects early on in your career -Responsibilities early on in your career -Feedback culture upwards and... downwards -If you prove yourself you aren't micromanaged -Work from home if you need to

    Show More

    Cons

    -With the company having grown a lot recently, it sometimes feel like we are lacking in space to do great work (crowded open space/not enough meeting rooms) -Some accounts can be a bit tedious (but you can have an open conversation about it with your managers) -Not all managers or account leads are equally good. Some are just average, and it all depends a lot on their personality, but I suppose that is the same in... every workplace. At least, there is a strong feedback culture where you are able to voice these sort of issues. -We do work hard and the pay is average -You can wait for a while before getting promoted, so despite great work, you can feel like you're hitting a plateau with how well the company rewards you. Promotions/pay rise do come eventually, but the wait can feel a bit long.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep on being open-minded Please adapt the workplace to a great number of people If you can, increase wages and find other ways to reward people in tangible ways (the charm of a nomination at Friday @4 does wear off eventually), if you haven't got any promotions to offer.

    C Space2019-07-03
  8. "Associate Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at C Space full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, beneficial work, driven environment

    Cons

    Tough advancement, lots of admin work

    C Space2019-06-20
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to Learn for Short Term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Boston, MA
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at C Space full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are straight out of college with a passion for market research/consumer insights, C Space is an amazing place to learn the ropes. Vibrant culture, and tons of millennials to befriend and learn from.

    Cons

    Honestly speaking, you are overworked and extremely underpaid. There is no nicer way of putting it. Everyone you speak to will say they enjoy many aspects of the job, but it's hard to appreciate it when you can barely scrape by in Boston (I don't even know how the NY folks are handling it over there). It's assumed here that after about 2 years here you're gone.

    Advice to Management

    It's hard to provide everyone the pay they want (and maybe even deserve) - most of us get that. But at least have upper management recognize lower level employees? We are like workhorses over here.

    C Space2019-06-10

    C Space Response

    June 21, 2019Senior Director of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m happy you’re learning a lot, making great connections and enjoying our dynamic culture, which is something we pride ourselves on. I’m sorry to hear that you’ve felt undervalued in terms of compensation and recognition. Though ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great clients, lots to learn, leadership gets in the way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at C Space full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very interesting work, a lot of learning opportunities, great clients. You will leave C Space a smarter person with broader viewpoints.

    Cons

    Leadership is hands down the part that drives things down. If you are bringing in the accounts and money, you can treat people as poorly as you wish, no one will do anything about it. Bullying is common and it feels like every man for himself. Promotions and bonuses are inconsistent and based on popularity. It is easy to be hardworking and valued by clients and under appreciated by your manager and your team.

    Advice to Management

    You are a people agency so think about how you treat your people.

    C Space2019-06-12

    C Space Response

    June 17, 2019Senior Director of HR

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I’m glad that you feel that people leave C Space smarter and with a broader perspective, and that you had a lot of learning opportunities during the 4 years you spent with us. Your comments about your views on leadership are disappointing ...

    Show More
Found 154 reviews