CIBC Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

CIBC Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2884 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
CIBC CEO Victor Dodig
Victor Dodig
1,139 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "just another emplyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CIBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    ok pay for the industry

    Cons

    could be better for the industry

    Advice to Management

    talk to staff

    CIBC2019-06-11
  2. "personal banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Edmonton
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CIBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great place to work overall

    Cons

    low pay compared to other places

    CIBC2019-04-12
  3. "Poor work and balance lifestyle, no programs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Toronto
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CIBC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Large organization where you can move around for experience.

    Cons

    Internal senior promotions are very difficult to achieve. CIBC likes to hire outside for senior management and executive levels.

    Advice to Management

    Have more work and balance programs. Not every employee can start at 8:30am/ jobshare programs/ work from home a couple of days program ... other organizations have established good programs for work flexibility, CIBC is far behind.

    CIBC2014-10-02
  4. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Card Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CIBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice Pension Plan and great people

    Cons

    Too much work load and low bonuses

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff to reduce wait time

    CIBC2019-10-13
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Back Office 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CIBC full-time

    Pros

    My coworkers were actually the best part of working there. We had a lot of fun.

    Cons

    They can do better with the salary

    CIBC2019-10-11
  6. "banking that fits your life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Services Representative 

    I have been working at CIBC full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work at

    Cons

    Technology and processes needs upgrade

    CIBC2019-10-12
  7. "CFA level I candidate. CSC certified."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Services Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Reachable targets

    Cons

    High turnover, management change frequently. 1 yr commitment to position and hard to change different career path.

    CIBC2019-10-10
  8. "farewell my love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CIBC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    ethical strong culture working on breaking down silos promotes inter connectivity relationship building/partnering

    Cons

    still struggling with promoting women in IT - very imbalanced with 'old boys club' culture still being perpetuated

    Advice to Management

    create more opportunities for open dialogue to understand forward thinking concepts allow for 'different' be wary of status quo thinking talk to everyone and not make decisions based on funneled information

    CIBC2019-10-09
  9. "Great opportunity for newly arrived bilingual immigrants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Financial Services Representative in Montreal, QC
    Recommends

    I worked at CIBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Salary is really good if you're just starting in Canada -Really good health insurance (dentist etc) -Colleagues are often in the same situation as you (newly arrived) so you can make friends easily

    Cons

    -Performance is measured in numbers. So it's a lot of pressure and do more and more. -When my team began we were given the afternoon and night shifts for months.

    Advice to Management

    When it comes to some managers there is a fine line between motivating and bullying. Please keep in mind that people always perform better when they feel respected.

    CIBC2019-10-08
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Documentation Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CIBC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Professional, talented and diverse workforce - lots of opportunities to grow and do good work

    Cons

    Struggling to adapt the traditional hierarchical banking culture to a modern technological peer-oriented one

    Advice to Management

    Knowledge is an asset is not written into your corporate business DNA. You might want to think about that.

    CIBC2019-10-08
Found 2884 reviews
</>Embed