CMC Markets Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

CMC Markets Reviews

Updated Sep 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
CMC Markets CEO Peter Cruddas
Peter Cruddas
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work-life balance, Relaxed environment, Autonomy in your work(in 17 reviews)

  • "there are nice and good people around all business units (globally)(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Career progression slow, Slow to evolve, No real home working(in 10 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I enjoy coming to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMC Markets part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Approachable, friendly people Flexible work environment Beautiful office

    Cons

    No major cons that I can think of

    CMC Markets2019-09-30
  2. "BEWARE: Unethical Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CMC Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Upscale visage, location and carefree attitude of employees which makes it a workplace with little to no demand.

    Cons

    Recently departed and after working in various countries and corporate cultures, CMC operates a siloed reactive business model. I concur with a few of the reviews below and want to touch on how unethical this business is. CMC lacks transparency and as a whole is suspect to micro-scale management due to its flat hierarchy and poor (unknown) business practices. I saw impacts to staff upstream and most importantly... clients downstream on a daily basis. They run a lackadaisical ethos which flows through floor departments causing disconnect, miscommunication and scaled inefficiencies. A lot of teams are in logjam due to the design of systems, reporting and so forth. I am appalled at this global firm's resource allocation, lateral opportunities, remuneration, decision making capabilities and incompetence by senior managers. It is very clear to me specific senior personnel have not managed small-medium teams before and discount useful, important capabilities. I strongly suggest you to tread carefully when approaching CMC and do not be defeated or absorbed by their static work culture.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to feedback, be proactive and solve problems the right way. Your staff and customers will make or break you.

    CMC Markets2019-08-29
  3. "Serious about your Career. DO NO JOIN CMC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at CMC Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Location - and you will start hating it after a while because company is not worth of it at all.

    Cons

    It's a jungle! Clueless and Inexperienced Managers on a power trip. Poor and weak HR. No growth Opportunities. Poor Communication. Don't believe me, go ahead and join to experience the magic!

    Advice to Management

    A lot is going wrong in the company. OPEN YOUR EYES! People are literally suffering - TOXIC Environment! FIX IT, I bet you Won't

    CMC Markets2019-07-22
  4. "I do not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at CMC Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work/life balance. Good people within teams.

    Cons

    Poor management strategy. Clueless managers holding key positions in some cases. I can see why client reviews aren’t so great either. Poor management = poor client experience.

    Advice to Management

    Change your HR strategy when hiring managers or promoting internally. Pay attention to complaints about managers.

    CMC Markets2019-07-15
  5. "Soul sucking micromanaging culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Services Executive in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CMC Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Paid 60k straight out of uni

    Cons

    -Micromanagement - Timed everything you did, down to the second - Soul sucking environment - No career progression - Crazy turn-over rate

    CMC Markets2019-06-08
  6. "Good company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CMC Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office and friendly staff, the IT team was solid.

    Cons

    Business strategy is not right, business is going down so a lot of people left

    CMC Markets2019-04-04
  7. "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CMC Markets full-time

    Pros

    Nice working environment Good work life balance

    Cons

    Reckless spending poor strategic management

    CMC Markets2018-12-14
  8. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CMC Markets full-time

    Pros

    Friendly Coworkers, free breakfast and industry-leading knowledge

    Cons

    Underpaied compare to other brokers. CEO is very strong in his own faith in supporting Trump and Brexit.

    CMC Markets2018-05-07
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CMC Markets full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People, exposure to new technologies. Being at the cutting edge of trading systems

    Cons

    Management needed to be pushed in the right direction, sometimes knee jerk reactions

    Advice to Management

    look after your people

    CMC Markets2018-02-26
  10. "Great people, a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMC Markets full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly & professional working culture Senior management are approachable Dynamic & fast paced environment

    Cons

    Flat structure means limited upward movement, however plenty of opportunities to move around the business into other teams.

    CMC Markets2017-03-20
Found 77 reviews