Cactus Club Cafe Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Cactus Club Cafe Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Cactus Club Cafe CEO Richard Jaffray (no image)
Richard Jaffray
111 Ratings
Pros
  • "always busy, great people, room for growth(in 18 reviews)

  • "The people are incredibly fun and it’s a fast paced work environment(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "The long hours and management can sometimes by disorganized(in 25 reviews)

  • "Pay isn't great, and there are no benefits if you're not in management(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Club Cafe part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and managers! And they really know how to make you feel at home.

    Cons

    They do not have too much consideration for your availability as well as barely giving breaks to eat and use the restroom

    Cactus Club Cafe2019-12-05
  2. "Host"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cactus Club Cafe part-time

    Pros

    Wonderful culture and good pay for a host

    Cons

    Late nights, competitive to move up

    Cactus Club Cafe2019-11-28
  3. "Great training and good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Cactus Club Cafe

    Pros

    Extensive training. They take themselves seriously And you are forced to do so as well. I worked at the coal Harbour location and, being the flag ship restaurant of their chain, the work was intense but rewarding.

    Cons

    On one or two occasions I had to deal with some rude chefs and managers. However, within the restaurant business I think that you’ll find this in most places.

    Cactus Club Cafe2019-11-28
  4. "What is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Club Cafe full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Great job. Always help.

    Cons

    Fast paced you have to learn to speed it up quick

    Advice to Management

    None just compliments. They’re so amazing

    Cactus Club Cafe2019-11-23
  5. "Good to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Robson West, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Club Cafe part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment, great food (50% off)

    Cons

    can be a lot of drama between staff, some managers expect you to drop everything for work and won't even allow your time off no matter how far in advance you asked

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire whoever walks through the door, maybe take more time and consideration into who is being hired

    Cactus Club Cafe2019-11-21
  6. "Management is bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Line Cook 

    I worked at Cactus Club Cafe full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Made lots of friends here. Great for youth

    Cons

    No breaks (if BOH)discounts are strict.

    Advice to Management

    Give us some dam breaks and time to eat

    Cactus Club Cafe2019-12-01
  7. "A great, fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cactus Club Cafe part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Cactus Club management will work with you to create a flexible schedule if you are in school, have another job, or have other commitments. It's a fun atmosphere where everyone feels welcome.

    Cons

    Expect to hustle - it's a fast-paced restaurant (not really a con).

    Cactus Club Cafe2019-11-14
  8. "Great place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Club Cafe part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fun environment and great staff - Promotions from within - Growing company - Amazing culture - staff is taken care of

    Cons

    - some long hours of work

    Advice to Management

    none - management is amazing !

    Cactus Club Cafe2019-10-30
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Club Cafe full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and flexibility

    Cons

    Not consistent and very dependent on shift

    Cactus Club Cafe2019-10-14
  10. "Social-Ladder Complex"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cactus Club Cafe part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great training and overall positive work environment; people that work at Cactus, LOVE saying they work at Cactus

    Cons

    can be cliquey depending on management

    Cactus Club Cafe2019-10-26
Found 243 reviews