Canadian Tire Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Canadian Tire Reviews

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1394 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Stephen Wetmore
291 Ratings
Pros
  • "Awesome profit sharing plan, 10% discount and sale price(in 97 reviews)

  • "Great Work life balance, and many different programs to improve yourself(in 73 reviews)

Cons
  • "Like most retail, its minimum wage(in 43 reviews)

  • "The full-time salaries are a joke(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Well led, hardworking company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Tire full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    CT has a lot of people that are great to work with and a positive work environment. They share in their success through a great profit sharing program and promotions are very much performance based.

    Cons

    With the company being so much more aggressive now the pace of change is very fast and the demands on the employees have increased sharply. The result is stressful environment where there are not enough resources to get the job done well.

    Advice to Management

    Remeber how valuable your employees are. Don't drive them away by making them choose between work and their families.

    Canadian Tire2014-03-11
  2. "Best Time of my Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Tire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Close to home, 5 min bike ride Made me appreciate any other job Gave me time to reflect on life

    Cons

    Horrible and uneducated manager (had a shrill voice, yelled frequently over the PA, got on everyone's nerves), wanted to get in everyone's business regardless of the scale (which consequently wasted a lot of time), and was in general the most annoying human being I have ever met. Other than it and a couple of other co-workers, it was your basic plain sales associate job. They just made it 10x worse.

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire annoying humans

    Canadian Tire2018-03-22
  3. "Senior Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Tire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of room to grow, great people

    Cons

    None that I can think of or have experienced

    Canadian Tire2019-08-22
  4. "Good Place to Work for Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at Canadian Tire full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Hours, good working environment

    Cons

    Boring Work, low pay, no training/devlopment

    Canadian Tire2019-08-22
  5. "Great place to work and build a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Tire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Room for growth. Great opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Could use more automation for processes

    Canadian Tire2019-08-19
  6. "Great management, good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Order Fulfillment/Packaging 

    I have been working at Canadian Tire part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy work, great team, easy and straightforward tasks/jobs

    Cons

    standing a lot, repetitive work, using arms a lot

    Canadian Tire2019-08-18
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Kitchener, ON

    I have been working at Canadian Tire part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good, regular job, enjoyable, good

    Cons

    nothing wrong, enjoyable, very good

    Canadian Tire2019-08-16
  8. "A Great Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fill Crew 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Tire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with are just about as down to earth as you can find. Good people make for a good day.

    Cons

    Staff to customer ratio is vastly unfair. Customer expectations unattainable.

    Advice to Management

    Employees have lives outside CT, please manage to give them a better work/life balance. Happy employees stay longer.

    Canadian Tire2019-08-16
  9. "Flexible Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Center Technician 
    Recommends

    I worked at Canadian Tire

    Pros

    Friendly and supporting colleagues and executives. Great opportunities to grow and learn

    Cons

    Work management can be improved.

    Canadian Tire2019-08-16
  10. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Tire part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, great benefits, lots of room for growth

    Cons

    Like any retail job it is minimum wage

    Canadian Tire2019-08-14
Found 1394 reviews