Canadian Tire Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Canadian Tire Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Canadian Tire CEO Stephen Wetmore (no image)
Stephen Wetmore
273 Ratings
Pros
  • "No bonus, instead you get profit sharing in April(in 102 reviews)

  • "Great Work life balance, and many different programs to improve yourself(in 75 reviews)

Cons
  • "Like any retail job it is minimum wage(in 46 reviews)

  • "The full-time salaries are a joke(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Well led, hardworking company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Tire full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    CT has a lot of people that are great to work with and a positive work environment. They share in their success through a great profit sharing program and promotions are very much performance based.

    Cons

    With the company being so much more aggressive now the pace of change is very fast and the demands on the employees have increased sharply. The result is stressful environment where there are not enough resources to get the job done well.

    Advice to Management

    Remeber how valuable your employees are. Don't drive them away by making them choose between work and their families.

    Canadian Tire2014-03-11
  2. "Best Time of my Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Tire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Close to home, 5 min bike ride Made me appreciate any other job Gave me time to reflect on life

    Cons

    Horrible and uneducated manager (had a shrill voice, yelled frequently over the PA, got on everyone's nerves), wanted to get in everyone's business regardless of the scale (which consequently wasted a lot of time), and was in general the most annoying human being I have ever met. Other than it and a couple of other co-workers, it was your basic plain sales associate job. They just made it 10x worse.

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire annoying humans

    Canadian Tire2018-03-22
  3. "best job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Canadian Tire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    profit share and flexibility of schedule

    Cons

    pay is not really what is should be

    Canadian Tire2019-10-19
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Tire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Events, perks, less bureaucracy, agile

    Cons

    Unstructured, less processes clarity, no leadership pipeline

    Canadian Tire2019-10-19
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Auto Service Advisor in Burlington, ON

    I have been working at Canadian Tire part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -friendly employees -good management -flexible hours

    Cons

    Some employees have lack of work ethic

    Canadian Tire2019-10-16
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Business Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Tire full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Profit sharing, benefits and company discount.

    Cons

    Large workforce means lots of people vying for senior positions.

    Advice to Management

    Lots of long term employees whose value is questionable.

    Canadian Tire2019-10-14
  7. "Good student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Tire part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relax not much responsibility so its good

    Cons

    Can get stressful at times

    Advice to Management

    We work well for the pay we get

    Canadian Tire2019-10-10
  8. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Tire part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything beyond well organized and well done

    Cons

    Hours we’re tough as there was only so many

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Canadian Tire2019-10-10
  9. "Great entry level position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Replenishment Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Tire full-time

    Pros

    I worked at CTC for ab 2 years. Work environment is healthy (unless you choose to associate yourself with the 5 chronic complainers who think they should get paid 100k for answering emails and being able to use vlookup). Everyone is welcoming and helpful. CTC has a lot of resources for new hires to get help when needed. Most of the processes are well documented, there are many reports that help you do your job well.... Management is very supportive. Work hours are flexible, you have the ability to work from home 1day/wk. Great benefits and perks such as sample sales, subsidized breakfast and lunch, free coffee and tea, 2k a year for education. The pay is adequate to your duties. All you need to do your job well is some basic communication, excel and access knowledge (although many RAs have no idea how to use Access), and common sense. The learning curve is a bit long but once you learn your job, it is not stressful as long as you understand your role in a team. Merch AVPs were great. supply chain AVP/VP probably did not know who I was, access to them was nonexistent, and if you did want to meet them it was on you to facilitate that and if it is your 1st or 2nd job out of university the chance is that you won't. I would suggest that SC AVP/VP make more of an effort to connect with their analysts. No bonus, instead you get profit sharing in April. Overall I appreciated my experience at CTC. It was a great entry level position, taught me a lot of soft skills and I would not mind returning to CTC in a more senior position.

    Show More

    Cons

    Managers had no team budget and would often pay for team events with their personal funds. To me this is unacceptable and a budget should be created to address this issue. RAs are locked in their positions for two years before they are allowed to move internally. You should recognize great employees and help them grow by making exceptions for them and letting them move on before the 2 years is up. It takes a... long time to get promoted Low raises

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep being supportive.

    Canadian Tire2019-10-04
  10. "Duly noted."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bike Technician in Lethbridge, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Tire part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work space personalized and enclosed. Minimal customer contact.

    Cons

    It is sometimes disorganized in the warehouse with new young staff learning their way around.

    Canadian Tire2019-10-03
Found 1349 reviews