Caribou Coffee Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Caribou Coffee Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 734 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
John Butcher
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free half pound coffee per week and free shift drink(in 72 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, (1) free shift drink, great atmosphere, fun job(in 50 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lower level management (like store managers) are not truly kept in check by upper management, so some things slip through the cracks(in 41 reviews)

  • "I’ve had multiple managers talk behind my back to other shift leads and team members(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Casula staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caribou Coffee part-time

    Pros

    nice food nice people very good

    Cons

    Busy low paying for parttime staff

    Caribou Coffee2018-10-23
  2. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at Caribou Coffee part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great community. Close-knit teams of employees. Free coffee during your shift and weekly coffee grounds.

    Cons

    They closed their stores in Illinois.

    Caribou Coffee2019-05-14
  3. "Perfect job for starting out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Caribou Coffee part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Customers, Best coffee, Mindful, Wonderful management, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Low to average pay, early mornings

    Caribou Coffee2019-05-07
  4. "A fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista, Shift Supervisor in Prior Lake, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Caribou Coffee part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very flexible hours, great employees and boss, good entry level pay, fun

    Cons

    low pay for jobs that require more work

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work i loved it so much!

    Caribou Coffee2019-04-29
  5. "Great coworkers, horrible benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Greeter/Barista in Morris, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Caribou Coffee part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I work with are so kind. I’m very new and everyone has been welcoming and helpful and really great at teaching me the ins and outs. They are so good about keeping the workspace clean, and not just on a superficial level. So far they have been an incredibly hard-working group. The pay is decent, it is as much as I made working in a group home, and that was a much more mentally taxing job.

    Cons

    The benefits are a real bummer. Part of the reason I got the job was because I spend so much there, it just made sense. All my barista friends in the Twin Cities said they got a discount and a free drink per shift, but this Caribou offers none of those perks. No discount, no free drinks, nothing. It honestly makes me feel so frustrated. We have to pay full price for all of our food and drinks, and it’s apparently not...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    A free drink for each shift should be the least you can do given how hard your employees work. And so much coffee goes to waste (I.e., if the drink needs 3 shots of espresso but the machine only makes double shots, one always goes down the drain). So it’s fine to waste all that product but we can’t have one drink?

    Caribou Coffee2019-05-09
  6. "Growth and Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caribou Coffee full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    -Life long connections -uplifting culture -Can challenge ideas openly to build the brand -Every opinion and stance is valued -Work Life balance -Amazing upper management

    Cons

    -Things change weekly -Spread thin on multiple priorities -Office politics are heavy

    Advice to Management

    Level out communication in the field, message should be consistent across brands. Harmonize equipment in the field and have more consistency in the menu mix

    Caribou Coffee2019-04-23
  7. "Okay for a but, but don't stay too long."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Caribou Coffee full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    free shift drinks, nice locations, great co-workers and customers.

    Cons

    long hours, little to be done with covering shifts, and work/life balance can get out of whack.

    Advice to Management

    listen to what the team is telling you and try to make it as best you can in the moment. Showing you are trying goes a long way.

    Caribou Coffee2019-05-06
  8. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista 

    I worked at Caribou Coffee part-time

    Pros

    Good job, good tips and management

    Cons

    Cranky customers and sometimes gets busy

    Caribou Coffee2019-04-21
  9. "Fun job, strict corporate rules"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Caribou Coffee full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - Very fun and fast paced - Active job, always on your feet - Socialized with regulars - Flexible hours w/ tips - Great benefits

    Cons

    - Very petty hierarchical workplace drama due to most hires being high school students - Basically always on call - If you don't come in when asked on off days, you will not be scheduled - Corporate management is horrendous - District Managers love to micromanage - Most customers treat you poorly

    Advice to Management

    Ensure staff is keeping store clean. Stop pushing unnecessary bean sales; they just drove customers away to other coffee shops. Give general managers bonuses for other reasons than maintaining correct pars, as it creates shortages on ingredients to a fault.

    Caribou Coffee2019-04-28
  10. "Enjoyable if you don’t have drama between coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Barista in Coralville, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Caribou Coffee part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Our location was pretty slow so we would stand around for awhile You get a free drink each shift You get leftover bakery items You get a free half pound of coffee each week (or 12 tea bags) You get discounts for purchasing anything in any caribou location I had good coworkers who (mostly) did what they were supposed to do

    Cons

    The wasn’t a general manager when I got hired, so our team lived through the chaos of not having enough kids to put on hot drinks and there was a week during the hottest part of the year where the air conditioning didn’t work, so it was 104° inside on a 90° day with our coffee machines and ovens going— people would walk in and walk straight out. Our chocolate chips melted. It was a mess. Also, training was rushed because...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t hire people for general manager unless they really seem invested (caribou gives a referral bonus of $1000 for general manager and like $300 for referring team members). Also, please train better and make sure air conditioning is working during the summer.

    Caribou Coffee2019-04-02
Found 734 reviews