Cortland Reviews

Updated Jul 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 416 of over 434 reviews

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Cortland CEO Steven DeFrancis
Steven DeFrancis
317 Ratings
Pros
  • "Cortland is a great company to work for(in 21 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and retirement plans(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work/life balance can be challenging at times(in 29 reviews)

  • "Multiple levels of upper management(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A great employer to work for!

      Jul 16, 2021 - Service Technician III in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loads of support and resources from the top down! Servant Leaders Loads of training and development Loads of advancement opportunities Growing every year International organization Loads of integrated services and integration opportunities A progressive organization; always striving to stay ahead of the change curve People- and performance-oriented; motivated and inspired (Driven!) Proven exceedingly exceptional care for the employee members, especially from the ground up!

      Cons

      I am NOT a fan of the integrated valet trash service, especially for the property for which I serve. The integrated valet trash service at the property for which I serve does NOT have much margin for error before the service becomes an extremely unwelcoming occurrence. I LOVE the progressive nature of this company in producing new and exciting ideas that quickly become initiated and implemented. Unfortunately, there's not enough preliminary testing before pulling the trigger companywide. However, it keeps things exciting and new, which I really appreciate the organization's interest, innovative ability, and responsibility to staying ahead of the curve.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Cortland - Leasing Agent

      Jun 9, 2021 - Leasing Agent in Kingwood, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Commission and bonuses (when in lease up).

      Cons

      Your HR reports will likely not be taken seriously. Residents have free range to treat you however they choose (this includes yelling in your face and cussing you out via email or phone). Living onsite you get a 20% discount which is not worth it, due to you being on call basically and not compensated?? The toxic work environment (Me and another associate were cussed out by a coworker and she was never written up)

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Everyone's experience is different

      Jul 24, 2021 - Leasing Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, can be a good working environment if you have the right team where everyone works hard. Has a better reputation than many other management companies, but there is also better out there.

      Cons

      No work life balance, favoritism in certain teams within the region. If you aren't a favorite property or don't perform as well, it shows in the way they treat you. Only gives 2 weeks PTO (like most companies), but it really isn't enough for what they are paying. Working 5 days a week (on weekends) is not feasible or does it give work life balance. Maintenance teams typically treat office staff poorly and do not get reprimanded for it. Specific to my property, it seems that they stick all the "wait and see" employees there to see who can get it up and running again without their intervention. At the end of the day they still won't, and if you stick through it then great, but you won't be happy. It was a rough one, so glad I no longer am forced to waste my time!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It was ok

      Jul 28, 2021 - Leasing Consultant in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent salary… nice communities .. normal working hours some locations closed on Sunday

      Cons

      Upper management does not care about you at all.. your just another body.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work and Grow!

      Jun 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Growth opportunities, motivated team and supportive corporate headquarters.

      Cons

      The nature of clients and their expectations

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I really enjoyed working here.

      Jun 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent hourly pay Great team Great benefits

      Cons

      Commission structure changed a lot Upper management is a bit out of touch with the people on the front line

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Difficult to grow - Little work life balance

      Jun 21, 2021 - Leasing Consultant in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Positive Culture Commission structure is fair if your community is doing well Opportunity to travel Many new communities, so it is easy to move to a new location Extensive Training programs

      Cons

      Commission structure is not great community is low in occupancy and/or not meeting budget goals Very difficult to grow despite the company advertising the many opportunities for growth Very corporate, so upper management does not always hear employees at the communities

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Ok starter job

      Jul 19, 2021 - Leasing Consultant in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity for growth......can move up pretty easily

      Cons

      No work life balance.....will work you to death

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Company Culture

      May 25, 2021 - Property Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone shares the same values and pride in what we do. Everyone is happy and friendly and humble. It's unlike any company I know of.

      Cons

      Can't think of any cons

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cortland Response

      Ashley Gordon, VP of Talent Acquisition

      Hey! At Cortland, we aim to provide a work environment for our associates that encourages togetherness. We’re glad to know your team believes in the core values and portrays what it means to be a family. We hope you continue to enjoy your associate journey with us!

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not worth the time

      Apr 27, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cortland started off as a great company, but really went down hill.

      Cons

      Cortland would be amazing if C.M's were held accountable, but most of them think they are invincible, which has sadly been proved correct. Multiple HR complaints were made against a C.M and all they did was tell her and allow her to make fun of us. We dealt with racial slurs and sayings along with lots of unprofessionalism. Even went as far as cutting ties with Cortland altogether. I know a few employees considered lawyers due to the environment we were put in.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Cortland Response

      Rina Sharpe, VP of Talent Engagement

      Hello, there. We hold every associate at Cortland accountable for their actions, and we do not tolerate the use of any racial slurs or forms of discrimination. In fact, we do take associate complaints very seriously – just like we did for this one.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 416 Reviews

    Work at Cortland? Share Your Experiences

    Cortland logo
    or