Counsyl Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Counsyl Reviews

Updated 14 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 99 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Counsyl CEO Ramji Srinivasan
Ramji Srinivasan
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch catered lunch everyday, including a salad bar and a make-it-yourself deli sandwich bar(in 8 reviews)

  • "The engineering team produces and expects very high quality work, and you get to work with very smart people in other fields(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "I think there are some growing pains as the company evolves from its start-up roots(in 7 reviews)

  • "TechOps (although this could be getting better)(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Genetic Counselor 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Counsyl part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent culture that allows life-work balance, smart and helpful co-workers, innovative.

    Cons

    Although noticed opportunities for growth at other departments, there was little room for growth within mine.

    Counsyl2019-07-14
  2. "Great until the Acquisition :/"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South San Francisco, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Counsyl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Liked the ability to propose ideas to make the system and workflows be more efficient and it gets implemented. Get to work with smart people. I really liked the culture in my department and the people too.

    Cons

    Wished the acquisition was handled better, but then again, there may be no good way to do it. Other than that, I liked the company and the people.

    Counsyl2019-06-19
  3. "Downhill after acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Client Service Associate 

    I have been working at Counsyl full-time

    Pros

    Great company as a whole but falling apart after the acquisition.

    Cons

    Nothing is getting better after the acquisition

    Counsyl2019-05-12
  4. "Payroll"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payroll in South San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Counsyl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Counsyl2019-03-22
  5. "Great company, up until acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Counsyl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Techy • Catered Lunch • Very smart employees working there • Great middle management

    Cons

    • Acquisition resulting in change in culture

    Counsyl2019-03-20
  6. "Started of great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Counsyl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are smart an innovative. Some teams are very close knit, but everyone gets along with one another.

    Cons

    Tend to promote based on favoritism, not necessarily on experience and knowledge.

    Counsyl2019-03-22
  7. "Fine Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Medical Affairs 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Counsyl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most things were okay with few exceptions

    Cons

    Some things were not okay

    Counsyl2019-03-21
  8. ":( Acquisition changed everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Counsyl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the people WERE great, but the great people have left or will leave

    Cons

    everything changed once acquired by Myriad. Myriad lied about their experience in integration and had zero respect for what made Counsyl successful, they have zero interest in open feedback and retaliate against those that give open feedback.

    Counsyl2019-03-20
  9. "Interesting Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Counsyl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of different projects to work on. Ability to contribute in a meaningful way if you wanted to contribute.

    Cons

    Limited business resources. Lack of engagement with business processes - too many people on computers during meetings. Many spectators but little useful action sometimes.

    Counsyl2019-01-16
  10. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Counsyl

    Pros

    Great Company to work Benefits are good Talented team

    Cons

    Does not move fast to enter into different markets

    Counsyl2018-12-29
Found 99 reviews