Course Hero Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Course Hero Reviews

Updated 2 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
96%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Course Hero CEO     Andrew Grauer
Andrew Grauer
70 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "People worried that they may get in trouble for uploading documents(in 18 reviews)

  • "Finding all of the documents could be time consuming(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Intelligence Analyst in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Course Hero full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and great teams. Course Hero encourages collaboration strongly.

    Cons

    More personal growth motivation needed

    Course Hero2020-01-02
  2. "Great work life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Math Content Developer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Course Hero part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance and fair pay.

    Cons

    Contracts can end abruptly with less that two weeks of notice to contractors.

    Course Hero2019-12-22
  3. "Great space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Course Hero part-time

    Pros

    Great environment and pay is the key.

    Cons

    Interface is a bit tacky.

    Course Hero2019-12-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing experience so far!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Course Hero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great culture and awesome coworkers. Everyone is nice and helpful. - Great mission and upper level management - Good location and park and office environment is pleasant - Good work life balance and flexible working hours

    Cons

    Lunch is not provided every day and do not have unlimited vacations

    Course Hero2019-11-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Taking care of customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Happiness Representative in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Course Hero full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    friendly staff, coworkers and good atmosphere.

    Cons

    No promotions needs more of a career path

    Course Hero2019-11-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting projects and high quality people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Learning Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Course Hero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Culture: The company has a collaborative and friendly environment. People actually care about the mission of the company and seem excited about their work. -Opportunity for personal growth: At least within the data science teams (both analytics and machine learning) there are many knowledgeable people to learn from and collaborate with. I've been especially surprised by some of the managers high level of technical knowledge.

    Show More

    Cons

    Our brand is not well recognized but we've just started putting more effort behind it.

    Course Hero2019-11-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BI Analyst in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Course Hero full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company, people, culture..List goes on and on

    Cons

    Cant think of it right now

    Course Hero2019-10-07
  8. "Campus Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Campus Representative 

    I worked at Course Hero part-time

    Pros

    Super Flexible when it comes to the events you want to host

    Cons

    Reimbursements are difficult with their system.

    Course Hero2019-10-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Very impressive so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Course Hero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's fun, business is booming and the compensation is very nice. They also offer really good benefits that are hard to match. Engineering-wise, the company is undergoing pretty amazing growth and there is lots of work to be done (which is an exciting thing).

    Cons

    The campus is nice but kind of out on an island where there isn't much else. It can sometimes be a very difficult commute just on account of the 101 traffic.

    Course Hero2019-09-16
  10. Helpful (2)

    "This place is amazing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Site Reliability Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Course Hero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative, mutually supportive community. Focused on getting things done, solving issues, and helping each other.

    Cons

    Feels almost to good to be true? Might be new hire shininess, might be a secret cult in the basement? That being said, I think a lot of the joy for me is the culture fit. I want a team based, work together, help each other up when you fall, everyone shares credit when you succeed workplace, with a focus on making real, traceable improvements based on metrics and high transparency. That is Course Hero down to the ground.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! Be careful to maintain the culture and values during the current rapid expansion... maybe implement some of the suggestions about writing down our core values and posting them everywhere. :)

    Course Hero2019-09-09
Found 89 reviews