Crowd Surf Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Crowd Surf Reviews

Updated Mar 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Crowd Surf Co-Founder Cassie Petrey (no image)
Cassie Petrey
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Fine, but don't rely on it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Crowd Surf full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is generally a good supply of work. The interface works reasonably well. The pay is acceptable and one can make decent money if you're good. You can set your own hours. Since a lot of the content to be transcribed is from universities, if you happen to have some technical or scientific knowledge you can make a very tidy amount of money. Business appears to be stable, I have made good money from them over... the last four years.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is sketchy. There is no contact information for anyone on their website. For all I know it's just an automated program running on someone's computer somewhere. Their bonus system is designed to make it as difficult as possible to claim bonuses, which make up a solid portion of your pay. The quality control system is a catastrophe. There is no oversight. You submit a task, someone else scores it.... If the score is too low it may bring your average down to the point where you lose your bonus. You have a limited number of scored tasks that you're allowed to dispute even if the reviewer was blatantly in the wrong. You need very good headphones and a very good keyboard to be efficient at this. I have a Cherry MX Blue keyboard ($160) and a pair of OPPO PM3 headphones ($400). You will not be able to do this with your laptop and a pair of earbuds from Wal-Mart, and if you do not already own such hardware it's probably not worth the investment. There is opportunity for advancement but it is completely unclear how one is supposed to ask for a promotion given that there is no apparent way to contact management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to be more transparent and have a more fair and straightforward payment system.

    Crowd Surf2019-03-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not Worth It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Transcriptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Crowd Surf part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work when you want, make a few extra dollars if you can type fast, usually always work available

    Cons

    Incessant technical problems, support is rude, ignores workers, low quality audio, a million "guidelines" to memorize, your work is judged by other workers not by company; I was banned from their platform with zero notice due to, in their words, too many tasks marked "poor" or "fraud". The truth is, my quality score dropped drastically from one day to the next. I had not had any rejections or issues for at least a... year before this and they never withheld my pay for any reason. I was never once contacted by them with these concerns until after I reached out to them, and I still don't have all the answers. I'm an experienced typist and I honestly think I was completing so much work that it set off some kind of flag, but they can't bear to be smarter than their computers. I'm going to keep pursuing this solely on principle, and if this happens to anyone else, you should too.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your workers with respect, especially when you're only paying them 5 cents at a time.

    Crowd Surf2018-12-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Online Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Crowd Surf part-time

    Pros

    Easy online work and flexible Hours

    Cons

    Very low wage Not many jobs available

    Crowd Surf2018-05-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Transcriptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist in Mount Vernon, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Crowd Surf part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work when you want.

    Cons

    Could pay more. But, we all want more pay right?

    Crowd Surf2018-03-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great but busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crowd Surf full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - other staff members are awesome - great environment - flexible schedule - work from home Fridays - learn a TON - definitely have huge dream clients that are thrilling to work on

    Cons

    - To Do list is always long - there is a lot to keep up with - Does require some night and weekend hours

    Advice to Management

    - Great job giving staff feedback and teaching new things - Would like to hear more about overall goals and long term plans for the company

    Crowd Surf2018-02-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "I work on transcription a few times a week. As a newbie I am still getting used to the platform."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crowd Surf part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home to earn a little bit if extra money each week.

    Cons

    Pay isn't very good. Also having to skip poor audios takes up precious earning time!

    Advice to Management

    Good place to work. Pay could be better, but I am only at level one currently.

    Crowd Surf2017-11-28
  7. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Crowd Surf

    Pros

    Lots of fun people to work with, learned a lot of new things everyday

    Cons

    Their were times when I did not have much to do. Wish there were more events

    Advice to Management

    Have more things for interns to do

    Crowd Surf2017-09-11
  8. "Easy but not as rewarding as I would have hoped"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Crowd Surf

    Pros

    Nice group of people and fun office. If you are just looking to sit at a desk and do social media all day this is the place for you. It is perfect if you love music as well- always hearing new sounds.

    Cons

    Lots of busy work with no direction. Not enough hours for interns. Lost a lot of time that could have been used to benefit new comers in the industry. Did not leave with that much knowledge of the music industry.

    Advice to Management

    Interact with the interns more and help them feel useful besides just the busy work.

    Crowd Surf2016-09-18
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Very Nice Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Transcriptionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Crowd Surf

    Pros

    Almost always lots of work available

    Cons

    Sometimes you are marked wrong when you transcribed correctly and if you don't have enough credits, you can't dispute. You are only allowed so many credits to dispute so you have to choose if it is important enough to use a credit.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Crowd Surf2016-01-13
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Transcriptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Crowd Surf for less than a year

    Pros

    Ability to set your own hours and work from home

    Cons

    The pay is low but is a good way to get transcription practice

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay for most accurate workers

    Crowd Surf2015-09-10
Found 16 reviews