Danone Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Danone CEO Emmanuel Faber
Emmanuel Faber
418 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "HQ control - most top positions are expat French or Dutch(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "On balance a good place to work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 

    I worked at Danone full-time

    Pros

    They sell great products, nice staff

    Cons

    Poorly located office - too far from CBD

    Danone2019-09-03
  2. "Xx"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney

    I worked at Danone full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial, can do, humanistic, open, not hierarchical

    Cons

    Busy, poor work life balance, location

    Danone2019-10-28
  3. "Great talk. Not great walk."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Counsel in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Danone full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Engaging culture and vision. Good people and good products that it’s easy to feel excited about.

    Cons

    Very poor HR employment practises and many senior managers that are good technicians not leaders. Lack of processes and systems which are holding it back in being competitive.

    Continue reading
    Danone2019-08-10

    Danone Response

    August 26, 2019Employer Branding Trainee

    We are happy to hear that Danone’s culture is close to your heart. Our vision, One Planet. One Health, drives our actions every day. Thank you for sharing that it is attractive and meaningful to you, too. Thank you for your feedback. First of all, we regret that you had a negative experience at Danone. For us, the "how" matters as much as the "what". Our values are the beliefs we hold internally and our leadership values, CODES, are how we demonstrate and bring these values to life. As a company, we strive to guide our employees and managers to lead according these 5 values: Creates, Opens, Drives, Empowers and Self-aware. As this wasn’t the case in your experience, we will inform local HR, so act upon your feedback.

  4. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Assistant in Sydney

    I worked at Danone full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great office space and working environment. Lots of opportunity to progress.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Danone2018-09-09
  5. "Ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Sydney

    I worked at Danone full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good value and good culture

    Cons

    Can get lost in beauracy

    Danone2018-05-11
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Leadership a very large issue at Danone"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Danone full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people across the organisation, a thriving bottom line, flexible work environment, and a company on a mission that is worth believing in and you can actually see in action globally. Good technology and a comfortable environment to work in.

    Cons

    Complete lack of strong senior executive leadership, and extremely incompetent leadership at executive level below that. A controlling, transactional management style prevails. The lack of professionalism and discretion at management level can be quite shocking at times, and seems to be rewarded with promotion in spite of an obvious inability to retain good talent as a result. Leadership at the company level take work and content from employees and present it upward, essentially using employees like machines or apparatus to get things done. The values, on paper, are wonderful but they are least in evidence the higher up you go in the organisation in Australia.

    Continue reading
    Danone2018-01-19
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Weird Culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Danone full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free yogurt Plenty of trams in the area

    Cons

    A yes man culture late finishes most days business struggles to attract local talent only one opinion that carries any weight in the building Expects everything done yesterday No knowledge of Australian market as all senior management are from Europe

    Continue reading
    Danone2017-11-26
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Overrated culture & chaotic management team"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Danone full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good in marketing and packaging the Danone brand overall. - Relatively good benefits and parental leave policy. - Danone campus is good for employees

    Cons

    - "Great Company Culture" is used as a tool to market the company - Good HR branding but it's so far from reality. - Chaotic management team, too much of French & European influenced, lack of diversity in terms of background and sexuality. Too many expats. - Secured career opportunities if you are HR's best friend - High staff turnaround rate

    Continue reading
    Danone2017-08-08
  9. "Good people-long work hours"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Danone

    Pros

    Great people to work with Provides learning opportunities Genuinely into doing good for society and sticking to their mission of 1000 days Senior Management is friendly and approachable

    Cons

    heaps of work leading to stress and long working hours

    Continue reading
    Danone2017-01-17
  10. "Amazing opportunities to grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Danone full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - A great culture, built on strong team values, which positively nurtures talent - Strong ethical vision; our dual missions ensures every role is working towards a greater purpose - Mobility potential is amazing; being able to shift across business units, countries, and silos

    Cons

    - A collaborative culture can lead to a slower pace; there's a real need to learn agility - Global direction can be quite off from local needs; further, for a very diverse company, global leadership remains quite French

    Continue reading
    Danone2016-09-24
Found 660 reviews