Decathlon Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Decathlon Reviews

Updated 28 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
78%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Decathlon CEO Michel Aballea
Michel Aballea
625 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "working hours - not a healthy work life balance(in 71 reviews)

  • "ration / Charge de travail / Relation avec les marques(in 55 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Store Manager Decathlon Australia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Decathlon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Autonomy - Fast-Paced - Human Focused - Exciting

    Cons

    - High workload but you do receive a lot of training and support

    Decathlon2020-01-12
  2. "Decathlon is old and french"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Decathlon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Leader in Europe Growing company

    Cons

    Old and French management, quite incompetent

    Decathlon2019-09-18
  3. "Decathlon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant 

    I have been working at Decathlon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - great culture - great people - lots of ability to grow and gain new experiences and qualifications

    Cons

    - previous flat hierarchy was not efficient

    Decathlon2019-06-20
  4. "It was good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Decathlon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment and salary

    Cons

    Not anything I can remember of now

    Decathlon2019-06-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Massive potential marred by narrow-minded management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sport Leader in Auburn, New South Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Decathlon full-time

    Pros

    *Hard to find many but the company affords the employees the opportunity to devote some of their time to the individual "mission", which can be in any field in the company like IT, marketing, supply chain, etc. * Can play sport! * 25% staff discount! * Opportunity to meet people all over the world. Advice for future employees: Better be a part-timer: clearly defined responsibilities and good penalty rates for weekends.

    Cons

    - Emphasis on brainwashing employees by exploiting their passion for sports and turning them into retail slaves. - Preference to backpackers from Europe, toxic work environment with Europeans having little regard to egalitarian Australian working culture. - Widespread discrimination - Lying to employees is commonplace. - Upper Management defensive to suggestions, lying to staff about their potential career and their roles at Decathlon- in our case, the company over hired staff to work during implantation (building the store from scratch which sometimes involved heavy lifting and working in the sun), then 2 weeks after store opening a lot of employees were given redundancy notices citing poor sales. Not a good way to treat the staff, definitely. - Rostering issues, they use excel and google docs as their rostering platform. Last minute changes to rosters without notifying staff. - Lack of clear communication regarding company policies. - Not enough reward for effort: below average pay. - Little regard for work/life balance. - Too much emphasis on facing of the products and little about customer experience.

    Continue reading
    Decathlon2019-01-23
  6. "Sport and Recruitment Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Leader in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Decathlon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I do what I love! I started working as a Sport Leader for Decathlon Australia, now as the business in Australia has grown, I have more recently taken on the role as Recruitment Leader for Sydney. Meeting new people every day, mixed with growing such a global business in a new country, working in Decathlon has been amazing opportunity so far, I definitely have to pinch myself every day!

    Cons

    The only cons I have are, as we are such a new business in Australia, we are still learning and teething through some of the issues on a variety of topics. It has taken time and effort to build the foundation we have here, this can be frustrating at times, however we try to never make the same mistakes twice!

    Continue reading
    Decathlon2018-09-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Worst company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sport Team Leader in Tempe
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Decathlon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I struggle to find any...

    Cons

    Overworked, underpaid, brainwashing employees to love their job when it is a toxic environment with everyone talking behind each others backs, bad teamwork, rostering issues, no time off, no free time outside of work, expectations to work very long shifts with little or no breaks, an enormous amount of responsibility (they expect one person to complete 4 or 5 peoples work per day) and early morning starts and finishes,

    Continue reading
    Decathlon2018-08-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "DO NOT FALL INTO THIS TRAP - The worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Thane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Decathlon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    are u kidding me? The only pro is that whatever you do next is always gonna be better. Employee rapport is extremely good.

    Cons

    Its a company which fools sports passionate people into doing the job of a salesman. Say goodbye to your life.

    Continue reading
    Decathlon2014-07-26
  9. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Decathlon part-time

    Pros

    Healthy workplace for employees ok

    Cons

    Physical work is too much

    Decathlon2020-02-28
  10. "Excellent Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sports Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Decathlon full-time

    Pros

    This work place is like family strong core values

    Cons

    Long hours sometimes Not for the faint hearted , must be responsible

    Continue reading
    Decathlon2020-02-20

    Decathlon Response

    February 27, 2020Decathlon UK

    Thank you for taking the time to do a review , we hope you continue to enjoy your time in the company and the feedback will taken on board.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 909 reviews