Discover Reviews

Updated 26 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Discover CEO Roger Hochschild
Roger Hochschild
177 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "As with any call center, it can be stressful to avoid burnout from repetition(in 64 reviews)

  • "no regard for work/life balance(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Discover full-time

    Pros

    Great Staff and great environment. Management do look after you and the perks are good too. Would certainly work there again.

    Cons

    Did not really come across any cons that i could really list easily. It is just a nice place to work.

    Discover2016-02-10
  2. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Discover full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Loved it, it was super involved and a healthy place to grow

    Cons

    Communication was not as present as necessary for company that large.

    Discover2020-05-26
  3. "Top Chicago Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Discover full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We treat you like you treat you.

    Cons

    Long commute from Chicago to suburbs.

    Discover2020-05-20
  4. "Great place to get experience"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Attorney in Riverwoods, IL

    I worked at Discover full-time

    Pros

    Well-established and provides good connections and experience

    Cons

    Salary is below the Chicago market

    Discover2020-05-20
  5. "Great for Certain People!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Balance Transfer Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Discover part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    AMAZING supervisors! Fun coworkers. Overall a very social workplace. Regular opportunities for a raise on your paycheck. You as an employee are ACTUALLY cared about! Constant appreciation for the job you do. At work festivals are common. If you need time away from the job for a few minutes, your supervisors will work with you so you get the time you need!

    Cons

    It is a call center. If you can't or don't feel comfortable with phone calls like me, this job will be unnecessarily difficult.

    Discover2020-05-19
  6. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Management in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Discover full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are very helpful and have great managers.

    Cons

    They need to be more transparent about job tasks when initially hired.

    Discover2020-05-14
  7. "Great starter job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Discover full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great and so are the employees

    Cons

    Constant calls and very micromanaged

    Continue reading
    Discover2020-05-14
  8. "Its like joining a Union, No one is held accountable or does their job."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Loan Processor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Discover full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was going to say cafeteria but then i remember it failed the state food inspection late 2019...

    Cons

    Management, phone system that automatically answers and routes an incoming call to your headset regardless of what you are in the Middle of. No Voicemail allowed

    Continue reading
    Discover2020-05-20
  9. "Great organization to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Discover full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good employee benefits, great work culture

    Cons

    Company is not supportive of immigration challenges

    Discover2020-05-02
  10. "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Discover full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good pay. Work-home life balance.

    Cons

    Company has grown substantially that you no longer feel like a family. You’re just a number.

    Discover2020-05-14
Found 1950 reviews