ELS Educational Services Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

ELS Educational Services Reviews

Updated 13 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 259 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Reiji Terasaka
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits for an ESL school (used to work for 2 other companies that didn't give any benefits)(in 24 reviews)

  • "Health Benefits, great international students(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay like most teaching position(in 16 reviews)

  • "There were not enough students to keep teachers on full time(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A great environment to learn and grow on the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This company is full of fantastic staff, motivated students and offers a caring and supportive environment. There are many opportunities for advancement within the company if you are prepared to work hard. Good work in acknowledged and rewarded.

    Cons

    The volume of work can be challenging at times. The size of the organization makes communication difficult at times. Would be good if middle level staff could have more input into policy and planning.

    Advice to Management

    Consult and listen to feedback from staff on the ground before making major changes.

    ELS Educational Services2014-01-27
  2. "It was alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Else Instructor in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ELS Educational Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive staff, great students, friendly teachers.

    Cons

    Just be watchful of things. The system is pretty tight and you have to really put as much as you can in the timeframe.

    ELS Educational Services2019-07-12
  3. "Wonderful Professional Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Ruston, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great teacher support and ample opportunities to advance career.

    Cons

    Only left my job due to cut backs

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    ELS Educational Services2019-06-25
  4. "No Job Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ELS Educational Services part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    international students and expanded cultural awareness

    Cons

    bad pay, no job security, incompetent, unqualified management

    Advice to Management

    establish consistent standards, then see that they are followed

    ELS Educational Services2019-07-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Needs new blood"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Students were amazing to work with. So was much of the Center staff.

    Cons

    Bloated management Not keeping up with the times - Change how you do things!

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your stakeholders

    ELS Educational Services2019-05-24
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Soul-crushing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    paid time off and health insurance

    Cons

    curriculum is poorly designed and students' time is often wasted on non-academic activities

    Advice to Management

    I have been teaching ESL/EFL for ten years in many different capacities. I’ve worked at public elementary schools, universities, one-on-one tutoring services, and private language academies. I understand that no school is perfect and that some things must be compromised in order for teachers to make a living. That being said, I have loved teaching at all of those institutions. I loved teaching until I came to ELS. As...

    Show More
    ELS Educational Services2019-05-09
  7. "ESL teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The staff are fantastic and the new management are very flexible and supportive

    Cons

    difficult to get seniority and regular hours because staff stay for a long time!

    ELS Educational Services2019-04-24
  8. Helpful (5)

    "You can do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good for a Language School

    Cons

    Low pay, disconnected, over-stressed, untrained management

    Advice to Management

    Understand that you and your administrative staff are less important than the product your selling - your teachers. Value teachers by paying them fairly and create an environment that nurtures a career worth keeping.

    ELS Educational Services2019-04-13
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Don’t"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor Specialiat 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are amazing. 4 weeks of vacation time is nice

    Cons

    Teaching isn’t where they make money so they don’t care about the teachers; pay is low

    ELS Educational Services2019-03-29
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Worst Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nothing at all, it is a mess here.

    Cons

    I agree with all the negative reviews. Teachers are treated like trash, no respect for effort and time that we invest to keep this place running. Anyone close to the management are given salary raise and promotion even when the company's performance is all time low. In this company, you can grow only if you are a sycophant. This is quite evident , look around the people who are reporting to the executive vice president....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To Curt - You have an opportunity to turn around this company. Old timers will not help you in this pursuit. A jet-setter with an entourage of parasites are bringing down this company. Look around, start with Operations and Admissions.

    ELS Educational Services2019-04-22
Found 259 reviews