Extra Space Storage Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Extra Space Storage Reviews

Updated 7 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1005 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Extra Space Storage CEO Joe Margolis
Joe Margolis
429 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work- life balance: family is important(in 115 reviews)

  • "We are closed on Sundays which makes a perfect family day(in 45 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons this job is the best(in 27 reviews)

  • "It’s cult minded everyone steps on each other to get ahead dms and upper management suck no help(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Leadership in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The culture is great. Everyone wants to do the right thing and improve. Communication is open and transparent.

    Cons

    Overall not much to complain about. Benefits are average, would be nice to have more vacation or an accelerated path to earn more.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-28
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Love Your Job and You Will Never Work A Day in Your Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Leader in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I am ride or die for Extra Space Storage. The focus on team and work/life balance are unmatched. Competitive pay and opportunities to promote from within. You drive your development with a supportive team that is bought in to help you find your success. If you enjoy new challenges, a quick pace and two days that are never the same ...this is the adventure for you.

    Cons

    Cons??? I don't have one.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Kudos for the learner centered development.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26

    Extra Space Storage Response

    August 6, 2019Director Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the review! We have a dedicated team of District Team Leads who continue to make Extra Space Storage a great place to work. Thanks for all you do!

  3. "account officer or store controll"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lagos
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    more knowledge ,more skill to my ability

    Cons

    i dont know because have not work with them

    Advice to Management

    put company structure in place

    Extra Space Storage2019-08-05
  4. "Very Satisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training program is so organized and all employees have great teamwork

    Cons

    I am not able to think of any Cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Extra Space Storage2019-08-03
  5. "District Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company lives their values. The teamwork and collaboration at Extra Space is unparalleled.

    Cons

    Nothing at this time, the company is always asking for feedback and works hard to make improvements based on company recommendations.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the employee and customer focus, it makes for happy employees and happy customers!

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-31
  6. "The is the best Job I have ever had!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extra Space is the best place to work. I have worked Full time here for almost 2 years . Work/Life balance is great. Co worker are always available to help.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons.

    Advice to Management

    All of you are awesome! Great Support!

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-31
  7. "Love my Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On Site Manager in Coppell, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment - Benefits

    Cons

    working Saturdays -No sick days- Uniform - Riser Rooms

    Advice to Management

    Better wages for long term employees

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-31
  8. "Best place ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great hours, great people, amazing pay, PTO, understanding managers and coworkers, benefits, inside/outside workplace

    Cons

    None at all, na na

    Advice to Management

    Keep district 9672 great!

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-30
  9. "Great Place To Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance and culture are phenomenal!

    Cons

    Sure there are some (what job doesn't?), but nothing major or enough to scare anyone away.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Overall Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love the PTO and the flexibility we have on requesting days off. The bonus program is decent. I love the Extra Space University that teaches you how to become more business oriented and includes lessons on being more successful in the company. You can also apply the lessons to life outside of ESS. They are always coming up with new ideas to keep you interested and excited to be apart of storage. This company is always...

    Show More

    Cons

    I wouldn't say it's a con but I would like to see a little bit more affordable health insurance. The pay is pretty good but if the health insurance is going to continue at the rate it is. Maybe we could increase our pay so the insurance could be affordable.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, let's continue to encourage each other and our customers. Let's continue to be great in serving our customers and also let's continue to flourish in the storage industry.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26
Found 1005 reviews