Fairwinds Credit Union Reviews

Updated 12 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
47%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Fairwinds Credit Union President & CEO Larry F. Tobin (no image)
Larry F. Tobin
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits & 401k match(in 7 reviews)

  • "Frequent cool company events like big Christmas Party and Halloween costume contest(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management does not take criticism/ideas well(in 6 reviews)

  • "Management sets unrealistic sales goals that puts a huge amount of stress on everyone(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work somewhere else"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MSR II in Apopka, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fairwinds Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great entry level learning experience. Get banking experience and move on elsewhere. Their sales goals were easy and I enjoyed working for my direct manager. The company is rather conservative and does not take many risks. There is a lot of opportunity for advancement, if you know the right people.

    Cons

    Pay is low compared to the competition. The company raised the starting pay but did not take that into consideration for current employees. This left a really bad taste in my mouth after the company falsely claims to care about the employees. Add HR lies to the mix and it made it even worse. Not a fan of the CEO and upper management as they have the “we are better than you” attitude always.

    Continue reading
    Fairwinds Credit Union2020-05-12
  2. "Good Company, Poor Management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative III 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fairwinds Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fairwinds offers many benefits to its employees. Full benefits packages, ability to use sick/vacation time for various things. Set schedule.

    Cons

    There are a lot of good people at Fairwinds, but the management is poor. Referral goals must be hit or it results in performance management. Many branches consistently overstaffed. Must be willing to work in Orlando alone in order to see any promotion opportunities. Pay is not up to par as other financial institutions.

    Fairwinds Credit Union2019-09-19
  3. "Good pay."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fairwinds Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay and nice manager and co workers

    Cons

    Company culture feels forced on you.

    Fairwinds Credit Union2019-09-12
  4. "teller"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fairwinds Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I could not find anything good

    Cons

    everything is horrible about this bank

    Continue reading
    Fairwinds Credit Union2019-08-27
  5. "MSR-1"

    4.0
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fairwinds Credit Union

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with my members and helping them with their financial situations.

    Cons

    I did not like the focus on sales goals.

    Continue reading
    Fairwinds Credit Union2019-06-27
  6. "Ok Company to work for"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fairwinds Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay 401K Match Great Life work Balance Gym Membership Reimbursement program Good co-workers (if you're lucky)

    Cons

    Is another sales Job A lot Work for the pay Credit Union Members are spoiled (well most of them) Dated Technology Stressful Expensive Health and Dental Insurance

    Continue reading
    Fairwinds Credit Union2019-04-23
  7. "A company that cares about you"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative II - Call Center in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fairwinds Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great culture, everyone is very friendly and willing to help you -Awesome Christmas party every year; the whole company gets together -A management team that really cares about their employees -Great benefits & 401k match -Great people to work with

    Cons

    -Customers can be very nasty at times (should be expected in the call center of a financial institution) -Not as much opportunity for advancement as I would have liked; upper level positions rarely open up. However, still a great place to learn the foundation of financial services

    Fairwinds Credit Union2019-03-01
  8. "Lending"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fairwinds Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ok benefits. You are able to accumulate sick time, but what good is it if you are fired it goes to waste.

    Cons

    Department Management is quick to throw crew members under the buss when they are challenged. The only way to succeed with management like that is to carry a dictaphone to have your conversations recorder in case you need to CYA.

    Continue reading
    Fairwinds Credit Union2018-12-15
  9. "Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fairwinds Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Higher then average salary, Match 5% 401K,

    Cons

    some projects are launched without fully vetted

    Fairwinds Credit Union2018-11-21
  10. "MSR"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Fairwinds Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    401K matching up to 5%

    Cons

    Low Salary for the amount of work

    Fairwinds Credit Union2018-11-14
Found 73 reviews