Fidessa Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Fidessa Reviews

Updated 16 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 283 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Fidessa CEO Chris Aspinwall
Chris Aspinwall
145 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not much career progression opportunities(in 11 reviews)

  • "It's been bought by Ion Trading and they don't seem to care about their employees(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Fidessa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good working culture Work life balance

    Cons

    not great pay rises or bonuses

    Advice to Management

    Be more dynamic

    Fidessa2018-06-16

    Fidessa Response

    July 18, 2018

    Thank you for addressing some of the great things about working at Fidessa. We participate in annual compensation surveys to ensure we are aware of the current compensation market trends.

  2. Helpful (2)

    "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fidessa full-time

    Pros

    small office, very flexible o personal needs

    Cons

    no autonomy, very dependent on main UK office

    Advice to Management

    look at actually managing, e.g. how the office can work better

    Fidessa2016-05-27
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Nice company, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fidessa full-time

    Pros

    Small group of good people within the Australian office

    Cons

    Dealing with APAC staff can be quite troublesome, especially with cultural differences and perspectives in regards to work/life balance

    Fidessa2016-05-19
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be a Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Development 

      I worked at Fidessa full-time

      Pros

      Smart, hard working team of people, making best in class smart trading platform software. You could feel proud to work there.

      Cons

      New owners, Ion Group, do not value their own people or their customers. They bought Fidessa supposedly for their best-in-class solutions and now they are not so slowly taking away all of the tools to create those solutions. Their message is: we don't value your talent, we don't value the bond you created with your customers, we don't think those values make good business sense.

      Advice to Management

      It's too late. You sold out to the highest bidder, which wasn't good for anyone in the company except a small handful of top executives. You built a great team and then you abandoned them. This is what's wrong with the myopic "what's best for the shareholders" mantra. A company is a shared dream.

      Fidessa2019-06-06
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

      I have been working at Fidessa full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great people to work with

      Cons

      Change in upper management has thing in flux

      Fidessa2019-06-07
    • "Good Life Balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Fidessa full-time

      Pros

      - Good life balance - Nice people - OT Pay

      Cons

      - low base salary - no career progression - some manager are useless

      Advice to Management

      - Listen to the staff

      Fidessa2019-06-03
    • "Application Support"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in Hong Kong
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Fidessa full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Friendly and enjoyable working environment

      Cons

      Not much prospect and much future in this company

      Fidessa2019-06-01
    • Helpful (3)

      "Management sold out to ION"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Fidessa full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Work life balance. Nice people.

      Cons

      Most management doesn't seem to know what they are doing. Poor communication across regional team.

      Fidessa2019-05-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Used to be a wonderful place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Woking, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Fidessa full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      There are some really intelligent forward thinking people working at Fidessa.

      Cons

      IONs purchase of Fidessa and their subsequent mistreatment of some employees has caused many talented people to move on. They are losing many of the key people that have made them so special.

      Advice to Management

      Read the Glassdoor reviews, don't dismiss them as unimportant. You are losing good people and you wont be able to attract new people to replace them.

      Fidessa2019-06-16
    • Helpful (8)

      "Was better before the takeover"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Fidessa

        Pros

        Friendly environment Free tea and coffee

        Cons

        Fidessa was bought out by Ion in 2018. They have been ruining the company since. Work load has been increasing coupled with the fact that the company loses experienced people regularly means we struggle to meet expectations within the standard working hours.

        Advice to Management

        Please pay out bonuses when they were agreed to be unaffected in the takeover. And increase pay in line with inflation at least...

        Fidessa2019-05-07
      Found 283 reviews