Flipp Reviews

Updated 27 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Flipp Chief Consumer Officer Michael Silverman
Michael Silverman
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible office hours and ability to work from home(in 22 reviews)

  • "Team - there are really great people here(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-Life balance is non-existent(in 17 reviews)

  • "Each mistake or new product that didn't do as well as expected means senior management will yell at employees accusing them of under-performing(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Tech Company that actually does good for society"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Real challenging work. No BS, you're not a cog in a wheel, you're able to influence strategy, product development, and org projects in a way you could never do at a huge tech company. With COVID the business is growing rapidly as people shift to digital. Really great to work at a place that is actually growing at this time The company helps families save money to make life affordable. Thats a really nice reason to wake up every morning. Much better than what other tech companies offer to society.

    Cons

    Small company relative to the big guns (Google, Facebook...etc) so you have to fight and work hard to win. Lots of change and passion required. DO NOT join this place if you want to just have a relaxing job - this place isn't for you.

    Continue reading
    Flipp2020-05-12
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Great team and culture!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Etobicoke, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team - there are really great people here. I continue to learn from the people around me every day. The atmosphere is fun and people genuinely look after each other Challenging work - the retail space is going through a lot of change right now. Flipp is working hard to support our stakeholders through the change Transparency - there has been an increased focus on communication within the organization, which has really helped drive clarity on the team Momentum - there have been a lot of positive changes over the past year including an increased focus on discipline. These changes are improving how we work as organization and driving better planning and alignment

    Cons

    Lots of change - our industry is changing rapidly so we need to be able to be nimble to manage through that change. That said, it also means there is a lot of opportunity out there for us

    Continue reading
    Flipp2020-05-06
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Best Company i've ever worked forr"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been at Flipp over 4 years and It's been an incredible experience. I've had the opportunity to move into several roles across the company and have learned and grown more than I could have imagined. I feel I am able to make a strong impact and contribution as a member of the leadership team and have really been able to apply my entrepreneurial spirit and creativity to my work at Flipp. I love my team, we work hard together to achieve great results and we genuinely get along and have fun together. It's been a very rewarding experience for me to grow with the company and there are great things coming - I can't wait for what the future has in store.

    Cons

    We move quickly and pivot with changing market demands when necessary which can be challenging but the recent goal-setting and strategy work has really helped stabilize the pace and priorities.

    Continue reading
    Flipp2020-05-12
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Overall Flipp is good!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work you'll be doing will be challenging. Throughout my years at Flipp I have been challenged in more ways that I could have ever imagined and it has a purpose. Compared to other organizations there are not a lot of hoops you must jump over to get stuff done! What Flipp does as a product is something not easily found from a company! Being a part of an organization that helps families save money makes me driven to the work I'm doing. You get to work with passionate individuals that want to drive change and will take the time to do so. The best part is teams getting along and driving towards the same goal. Most teams work very cross-functional allowing you to see into different areas of the organization. Yeah, it's fast pace but I don't see that as a con as you will find in other reviews. It's a tech company, most if not all tech companies work fast. That's the exciting part - you don't have to wait a year to see results!

    Cons

    While Flipp as a company is a fantastic place to be, there is room for improvement. Communication - although is said to be at the core of how Flipp operates, often times is inconsistent or sometimes barely there. When it comes to company updates and meetings, it's often hard to follow and ideas seem half baked out before they're shared. At times it just feels like information is shared for a false sense of visibility, but it does more harm than good. talking. Management - another con of working at Flipp, is that depending your reporting lines, you will have a very different experience. I wish it was the same across the board and managers were fully trained to do their job as managers. Not all should be promoted into management and that shouldn't be the only way people see growth or feel valued at a company. Compensation - while benefits are fantastic, specially if you compare them to other startups in Toronto, your base pay is subpart, if not lower than a lot of tech companies.

    Flipp2020-05-12
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Great company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    Very exciting place to work! The hiring/interview process was very smooth. Lots of opportunities for growth and learning.

    Cons

    Lots of change - Vision remains strong

    Flipp2020-04-28
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Fast paced, fun and intense."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work from home Competitive compensation and benefits Team members are super smart and you learn a lot from your peers. CEO really cares about the team members and loves to get your feedback and input and really takes it into consideration Exec team has been extremely caring during this pandemic and have fought hard to ensure the team are taken of and remain employed.

    Cons

    Hours can be long. Workload is huge and ad-hoc requests are expected to be dealt with immediately which makes prioritization difficult. Our executive always leaves everything to the last minute which means our team is scrambling and working well into the night to get her what she needs for a meeting or presentation.

    Continue reading
    Flipp2020-05-13
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Evolving company with a good outloook"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and relaxed environment. Most jobs are what you make it, you won't get a 'no' for a good idea. If it's good, you'll be running point on a project regardless of your level.

    Cons

    The company has evolved from a start up to a mid-size company so its had its growing pains. It's learned to grow past those pains and not get stuck. There's an executive that's trustworthy and a newfound willingness to listen. Could use more formal development resources.

    Continue reading
    Flipp2020-04-28
  8. Helpful (4)

    "One of the best cultures in the city"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Opportunity to work with awesome, smart, driven people - A culture of transparency and high trust - A new executive team really focused on intentional but smart growth - It's hard work, but generally speaking people seem to actually like what they do! - You'll be given the opportunity to voice your thoughts, and regardless of "level" people will listen.

    Cons

    - Growing pains - If you're used to the strict heirarchy and well-established processes of a blue chip company, you aren't going to find that here (for better and for worse) - Things move really fast, this isn't a 9-5

    Continue reading
    Flipp2020-05-18
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great Place to Work. Lots of potential"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Account Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing. You learn a lot and will have some amazing and talented people to learn from. Great team connections. Everyone is willing to help each other out and get things done. There has been some major changes in upper management which has been positive to the company. The leadership team has done a fantastic job through the Covid-19 pandemic and supporting their employees in their new ways of working which shows they seriously care about their employees (also no layoffs!). They have changed their strategy to support retailers and users of the app with the changing economy. Flexible working hours. Great equity and career opportunities. Lots of internal training happening.

    Cons

    It is a really fast pace place to work and at times, you have to deal with some ambiguity on product roadmap. There is definitely that entrepreneur mindset with lots of change but honestly, it keeps it exciting.

    Continue reading
    Flipp2020-05-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Overall Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    Competitive salary, smart people, great tech stack (in datateam), good company culture, looking forward to future (after some recent restructuring and changes)

    Cons

    Everything is in constant flux all the time (incl a recent downsizing)

    Flipp2020-05-27
Found 187 reviews