Flipp Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Flipp Reviews

Updated 10 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 151 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Flipp CEO Wehuns Tan
Wehuns Tan
92 Ratings
Pros
  • "Well established culture, great benefits (snacks, drinks, work from home once a week)(in 15 reviews)

  • "Many organizations say they have 'great people'; 'no politics'; they "care about making a difference" - this is a truly authentic company that cares(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work/life balance - the culture is filled with hypocrisy(in 15 reviews)

  • "Each mistake or new product that didn't do as well as expected means senior management will yell at employees accusing them of under-performing(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (32)

    "Love this place. Brilliant!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    CEO rules with an iron fist. People that don't understand should leave, I've learned so much from him and I can't thank him enough for his tutelage. When people confront you, just bury them in work until their complaint is no longer relevant. When you confront others and they ask you to justify it, just let them know that they don't understand, belittle them until they no longer have the will to contradict you. Brilliant!...

    Show More

    Cons

    How could a place like this have any cons? It's been an amazing journey, I just hope that I can survive to see the next phase of brilliance.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you're doing. As you've said, we must be relentless with your vision and we can't let things like facts slow us down.

    Flipp2019-04-01
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Fast Pace & Hard Working : You will get challenged and you will grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Etobicoke, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Growth Mindset - Always growing, learning and challenging (work and personally); Hardworking - Everyone is working hard with you (i.e. peak periods like Black Friday, teams support each other.. even if they are not on the team). Humble - You always have the few that aren't but I would say 95% of people I work with are very humble. When you compliment them, they shy away and prefer to compliment others. Results Oriented...

    Show More

    Cons

    Easy to get overwhelmed - There will always be more to do - my biggest learning is working on prioritization. It is hard to do because this is A LOT you can do, but we are encouraged and supported in looking for ways to prioritize Growing Pains - there are opportunities to streamline, simplify. That would make it easier to drive efficiencies and balance.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to bring a breath of knowledge across industries - it helps drive growth and different perspectives. There are some instances where legacy Flipp opinions are very apparent - sometimes good, other times potentially inhibiting. Continue to drive process, consistency and structure, as we continue to grow, that continues to be more important to grow more consistently.

    Flipp2019-05-10
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Amazing People, Amazing Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    Flipp is a great place for people who are really focused on team work and who want to build authentic relationships and solve massive problems. We all work very hard and I've been so impressed with the calibre of people around me every day. We work really hard to hold our standards high so we do have a work hard play hard culture. We've grown through the years and we're not a young startup anymore - that comes with...

    Show More

    Cons

    There are lots of places to improve at Flipp like any organization. We could improve the way we look at our benefits like Goodlife, or the way that we do performance evaluations as there aren't any perfect ways to do that yet but we're looking to make it better.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being humble, and keep driving improvements. We can only get better if we stay humble constantly.

    Flipp2019-04-18
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Amazing people & culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Management cares about the people who work here and has built an open and transparent culture. The new leaders we've hired also seem consistent with the culture that we have. - The business is healthy and the product has come along way but still has much more to improve but that's what I'm excited about. - In most roles, there is a lot of opportunity for ownership - the new mission based teams that we rolled...

    Show More

    Cons

    We've done alot of rework on our technology to make it faster to move, but there is much more to be done.

    Advice to Management

    I'd encourage management to make sure we continue to invest in things that will make it faster for us to dev.

    Flipp2019-04-27
  5. Helpful (4)

    "People & Talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    Many organizations say they have 'great people'; 'no politics'; they "care about making a difference" - this is a truly authentic company that cares. The people are amazing and it doesn't matter what level or title you have, people listen and act on it. There's so much opportunity and it's exciting every day! I also believe there are amazing benefits to help with everyday stresses: we have on site massage, physio,...

    Show More

    Cons

    There's so much opportunity and so many great people that we want to accomplish so much. We need to prioritize and slow things down. It's amazing for learning and growing but it can be busy.

    Advice to Management

    Stay true to values, principles and focus on people. Slow things down a bit.

    Flipp2019-04-26
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Good place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    Great office and very comfortable. The people here are amazing. Good working environment and very collaborative. When I need to get help everyone has been very helpful to me.

    Cons

    Wish there was more time to do personal projects

    Advice to Management

    no major negatives, maybe too many emails

    Flipp2019-04-19
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    Collaboration with some brilliant people. Challenging tasks. Flexible work schedule. Casual and fun atmosphere. Free snacks, and I live in Mississauga so commute is great.

    Cons

    Fast-paced -- sometimes too much so and need to keep up with it. Not enough time to think carefully about the best answer to problems.

    Advice to Management

    More recognition and reward programs may be good.

    Flipp2019-04-22
  8. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Flipp part-time

    Pros

    Food, Pay, Culture, Tech, and Games

    Cons

    Nothing to do sometimes, Bored easily, Coaching, Slow ticket processing, Still like a startup

    Advice to Management

    More things to do

    Flipp2019-04-26
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Amazing place to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    - Flipp is a company that absolutely stays true to who it is. The founders and execs have built a culture that is lasting and they invest in their people and teams. - Flipp really is the type of company that will make room for you to grow if you showcase your value. If you raise your hand and show that you're willing to work hard, Flipp will make space for you to do your thing. I have always had my coaches be receptive...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Like any startup, Flipp has gone through growing pains. There have been company pivots in strategy and vision and there have been times where changes in company strategy have affected the company in challenging ways. The ability to pivot and be agile is important here and I can see how the pace can be a challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to bring in experienced outside leadership (already making strides in this area) who can help shape the overall vision for Flipp. Additionally, continue to invest in more junior level employees who are looking to grow their careers into the management level.

    Flipp2019-02-24
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Amazing place, amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Co-Op in Etobicoke, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flipp full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The work is rewarding and the people are the nicest, youngest bunch you can find. The environment is undoubtedly the best I've been in, as I'm sure everyone who's been would tell you. Foosball, couches, snacks and lunches, and trips year-round.

    Cons

    The work for co ops can be repetitive by the forth month, but the team is always supportive for you expanding into other areas of development as long as you finish your tasks.

    Flipp2019-02-24
Found 151 reviews