Foxtons Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Foxtons Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 316 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Foxtons CEO Nic Budden
Nic Budden
163 Ratings
Pros
  • "The hard work you put in at this company ultimately benefits you(in 25 reviews)

  • "Great people and training given(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "The long hours are not for everyone but the rewards outstrip the sacrifice(in 90 reviews)

  • "Working hours are too long with no flexibility(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rare Short Lets Negotiator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Foxtons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Extensive training and support. Great for networking and socialising. Big on team morale.

    Cons

    long hours and weekend work.

    Advice to Management

    support your negotiators, promote.

    Foxtons2019-04-19

    Foxtons Response

    July 26, 2019

    Thank you for the feedback and all the best of luck in your future career!

  2. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foxtons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, helpful and supportive collegaues

    Cons

    Lack of recognition, long hours and hostile management

    Advice to Management

    Trust your team, we are all on the same boat!

    Foxtons2019-09-20
  3. "Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Move Consultant in Chiswick, England

    I worked at Foxtons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The friends you make and the games they run

    Cons

    Working on the weekends Can be very cutthroat

    Advice to Management

    More care for employees well being

    Foxtons2019-09-16
  4. "Good place to start off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lettings Consultant in Chiswick, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foxtons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The learning and training are good!

    Cons

    The hours and work is tiring

    Foxtons2019-09-01
  5. "Good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at Foxtons full-time

    Pros

    Training was very comprehensive, better than most

    Cons

    Hours were very long indeed

    Foxtons2019-09-10
  6. "Good Starting point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Negotiator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foxtons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training programme, senior roles are very kind

    Cons

    So far so good, great potential.

    Foxtons2019-08-15
  7. Helpful (5)

    "central = ££££"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rare Sales Negotiator Mayfair in Mayfair, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Foxtons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    £, me £146k after tax (plus 'neg bonuses'...brown envelope- tho unofficial and approx £25k) My friend got a Porsche Boxster given as he got a higher price than vendor wanted at least that above the value of a Boxter. Vendors declare neg bonuses before sales begin. Professional contacts, again depending on area. I went to work for an UAE prince after I quit. Super Hot colleagues (called a branded sales force),... social-life, prestigious company (haters always hate the successful top dog you're a semi celeb as people stair longingly at you, as if diving a supercar, because Foxtons is a hated yet a very London phenomenon where 40% of all sellers instruct to sell) so much stock, awesome IT systems. Bonuses, depending on monthly billing average. I was 3rd out of 1500 negs but #1, Becky, did at least triple of what I managed. I did 4 £100k+ months straight of fees: may-Aug. Car bonus, branded mini cooper, unbranded mining Couper sports, Alfa Romeo Brera, BMW then your choice of car to a certain value, £50k think. Plus commission % increase up from 10 to 20%. Also quarterly high achiever international holidays. Super challenging and great stepping stone. Met Madonna plus loads of celebs and footballers, WAGS, facinting eccentric people eg David Yates. Great guy who I never new as actually him until after transaction. I LOVED IT, and I hated it. Best job I've had after the 1st year.

    Show More

    Cons

    Good /Bad area is very important. Need to work centrally Mayfair/Chelsea/Sth Kensington/Fulham/Islington or Hampstead, if you want salary above £50k. So interview well, beware it's bizzare process. Your released into a room without instruction. All the apps plus staff (beer is served, have one, it's not a trick, rather the culture.) MUST talk to every single person there whom already has a job, usually office... managers. Talk over others to be heard and be CONFINDENT.. valium helps, they each record a score of each applicant they remember...be remembered!!; It's up to you to find them and strike up a conversation regardless what they're doing. They want to be shocked a bit not insulted. A short 10 min standard type one-on-one cv interview. Read website thoroughly as it will be mentioned and you can brown nose the right people. They love a bit of brown nosing. The scores are then tallied later and positions given. Then location decided where you best for at end of the end of training week. So always bear that in mind. Horrible life event, that interview and taining week. The destruction of personal life, relationships, Sports, health and fitness, physiological and mental health issues. etc. Probation of 4 months...killer! Every weekend! Work every second Saturday. Mon-frid 8-8 (though smash targets, no one cares where you are, I was home by 5 every day with 2 hour lunches) Oh yeah, officially a no break policy including a lunch break.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Figures are everything, micromanage rubbish sales staff. Be ruthless. Performance manage. Inspirational chat each morning... Just try to think of subjects you don't repeat, repeatedly. Be a nice guy or girl, most are far from it. Quicker vertical mobility if your staff like you. Be very good at sales and translating it's intrinsic philosophy if not the catch phrases or behaviours.

    Foxtons2019-07-27
  8. "Satisfactory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Negotiator in Hackney, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Foxtons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training and perks.

    Cons

    Just a number and staff can be very bitter depending on what office/religion you are in. Long hours and management are very biased

    Foxtons2019-09-16
  9. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Move Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foxtons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great step to get into the corporate world. Enhances your communication skills Great environment to work at.

    Cons

    Long hours and weekends

    Foxtons2019-08-10
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Negotiator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Foxtons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great earning potential if you are in the right office

    Cons

    Can feel like too many KPIs are givin

    Foxtons2019-08-05
Found 316 reviews