Gap Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Gap Reviews

Updated 23 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5223 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
993 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They press you to push company credit cards pretty hard(in 233 reviews)

  • "not enough pay for the long hours(in 124 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Gap Australia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Miranda
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great team, amazing friends made, relaxed management

    Cons

    we are closing down, which isnt great

    Advice to Management

    none

    Gap2017-11-09
  2. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap

    Pros

    generous discount of 50% off to staff. Staff were friendly and there was always something for you to do. Cleaning/customer service

    Cons

    Minimum pay rate which was disappointing. Hardly any shifts (1-2 shifts a week) during busy period. Hard to move up as in becoming part timer from casual.

    Advice to Management

    More shifts would be better and consistency. Get to work and know your staff and build relationship. When people are in a working environment that they enjoy they work harder and able to hit targets easier and become more motivated.

    Gap2017-03-29
  3. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Gap

    Pros

    good team to work with

    Cons

    too many management changes took place

    Gap2017-02-01
  4. "Christmas Casual"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney

    I worked at Gap

    Pros

    Not bad salary. International well known company.

    Cons

    Staffs are not as nice and friendly as you would thought as a customer there. Two faced. Very small team. Not supportive. Expect you to know everything!

    Gap2016-08-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Like the image and the flexible hours. People were very friendly and considerate. Always willing to socialise a bit.

    Cons

    Local (in store) management was a bit of a joke. Nice people but no real commercial awareness. I suspect if GAP knew the full extent of this they'd be mortified.

    Advice to Management

    Get pro's to run your local retail stores. Obviously this will mean upping pay/ providing other incentives, but you need good talent on the ground.

    Gap2016-04-12
  6. "Great people! Super fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Boise, ID

    I worked at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All the managers are so supportive and want to see you succeed, also flexible hours!

    Cons

    Sometimes have to deal with angry customers

    Advice to Management

    Keep being supportive!

    Gap2019-08-24
  7. "Great fist retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good for a first job

    Cons

    It is difficult to move up

    Gap2019-08-23
  8. "Great place to work starting out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Gap Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Gap part-time

    Pros

    Flexible around your schedule period.

    Cons

    Small hours and holidays are the worst

    Gap2019-08-22
  9. "Great work experience for retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Gap part-time

    Pros

    My experience here was great, but it was less fun than I was led to believe it would be.

    Cons

    Some tasks felt tedious, there were some scheduling issues

    Gap2019-08-21
  10. "Good Part Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Gap part-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Low pay for sales associates

    Gap2019-08-19
Found 5223 reviews