Gartner Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Gartner Reviews

Updated 20 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2755 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Gartner CEO Gene Hall
Gene Hall
1,685 Ratings
Pros
  • "pretty laid back work life balance(in 276 reviews)

  • "The people - these are the smart people in the room that you always hear about when discussing successful projects(in 127 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place and supportive team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Canberra
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities and is a fun place to work. Not sure where the bad feedback is coming from, however there are different areas/sales divisions depending on your sales maturity. Couldn’t be happier and clients like engaging with you.

    Cons

    Sales and results driven which I like. It is a sales role after all

    Advice to Management

    Local sales kick offs would be good

    Gartner2019-07-06
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Gartner Sales Manager Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gartner full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great training, nice people to work with.

    Cons

    Poor management. Numbers driven environment.

    Advice to Management

    Look beyond the numbers

    Gartner2019-09-16
  3. "Evolving to catch up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gartner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good stable job. Fair amount of flexibility.

    Cons

    Some cultural and policy elements are still in the dark ages, While the company is making some updates, its only the bare minimum to prevent anything from hurting the bottom line. There's no appetite among senior to lead from the front.

    Gartner2019-09-05
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great business, needs to work on their culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Partner in Sydney
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company, intelligent people, a lot of training provided, great research

    Cons

    No culture, career progression not clear. Sales organisation and high targets and not client focused

    Advice to Management

    Need to understand different markets globally and the culture there to get the best out the sales and be more client focused. Need to update research - some of it is behind the times.

    Gartner2019-08-29
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Great pay but you are just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Sydney
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gartner full-time

    Pros

    High salary Smart driven people Fast paced and high performance culture

    Cons

    Treated as a number - no real focus on development which has led to high turnover rates Office culture is lacking and no effort to improve from leadership. All about hitting your targets Sales driven organisation - if you don't get along with sales you won't last long

    Advice to Management

    Work on improving the office culture - this will decrease turnover Whilst sales drive the front-line revenue growth it is a team effort, don't treat other areas of the business as second class citizens and be open minded to constructive feedback

    Gartner2019-08-19
  6. "Good first role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Management Associate in Sydney
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great exposure to business, industry knowledge Good amount of responsibility and opportunity to develop if you are proactive Teaches you a good and proven sales process

    Cons

    Can be micro management throughout the grad program Used to have a well structured training program - not anymore

    Advice to Management

    Bring back a training program

    Gartner2019-08-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good base salary, provide an annual technology allowance and sales incentives to Hawaii.

    Cons

    Not many perks, old school corporate environment and feel like a number in there

    Advice to Management

    Review who you select as managers

    Gartner2019-08-12
  8. Helpful (9)

    "A company that needs to sort out its priorities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Events in Sydney

    I worked at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are opportunities to travel with the company and the role at the cost of overworking yourself.

    Cons

    I worked at Gartner for over a year and in that time I saw a turnover of at least 40 people in my office. A worrying amount for any workplace but apparently not enough to raise any alarm bells for Gartner. My role was unrelenting from the beginning with close to no room for respite. It was severely underpaid for the amount of work I was expected to complete day-to-day as well as the after hours meetings required... for me to liaise with the global team. Management was unsupportive and oftentimes unsympathetic to the needs of a one man team in a regional office. On multiple occasions the role expected you to work overtime with little to no support and little to no compensation. Management was almost impossible to compromise with despite expecting frontline staff to come up with solutions to hierarchical issues (and still not making any changes). The tasks themselves were fairly straightforward but the sheer quantity of work was too much for one person -feedback which fell on deaf ears. In my brief period at the company, I had 3 different managers -all of whom did not know how to manage a remote employee making it extremely difficult for career progression to be genuinely considered let alone acheived. The expectation of the role is beyond what is necessary for tasks to get done. The attention to detail required for the multitude of tasks is superfluous but treated as though it is of utmost importance. Many tasks are required to be completed to perfection with little understanding for error (despite being stretched so thin). Projects are expected to be completed under extremely tight deadlines with little understanding on how or why they need to be completed. My role was constantly considered a passion project in which you would only take on this job if you "love events". Whilst the majority of work in this role is autonomous, you are expected to form interoffice relationships as you support their needs. The office culture is toxic - resembling that of a frat house. Gossip, cliques and harassment run rife and are accepted as commonplace with little to no consequences for perpetrators. The result is mass exodus.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look at the culture of this company - why are some worked to the bone whilst others are praised for just showing face? Why is management so indifferent to the feedback of their frontline?

    Gartner2019-08-21
  9. "Toxic Culture and poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sydney office is in CBD.

    Cons

    No socializing or team events among staff Selling research is a bit like watching paint dry Very immature workforce with limited work experience. The office is clique and also very quite (everyone is stressed). Managers have been hired to fill gaps, not on merit

    Advice to Management

    Management is focused on own bonuses, they don't care.

    Gartner2019-08-27
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Pay is good but be ready for internal politics and admin work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. good company branding. Get to work with various clients.

    Cons

    50 percent of your time will be spent with clients but the other 50 percent will be on managing admins and internal conflicts

    Gartner2019-06-26
Found 2755 reviews