Gartner Reviews

Updated 18 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4,424 of over 5K reviews

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Gartner CEO and Director Gene Hall
Gene Hall
2,544 Ratings
Pros
  • "They completely understand how to help individuals balance a work/life balance(in 409 reviews)

  • "Employee friendly work environment(in 179 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-Life balance is highly variable(in 143 reviews)

  • "Middle management is super duper fat(in 83 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best company I have ever worked for

      16 Jun 2021 - Account Manager in Canberra
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Excellent work life balance - As a working mum I am always supported with flexible work arrangements and understanding when things don't go to plan. I mostly work from home, however also have the option to go into the office. - Management want you to succeed and will do everything to help you prosper - Targets are achievable, the base is strong and earning potential uncapped - The culture is excellent - we win as a team - Managing VP for ANZ is down to earth, intelligent, motivated and puts his people first

      Cons

      At times the sales cycle can be long

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Scary Place

      17 Jun 2021 - Account Executive in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots to learn Smart analysts Made some good friends

      Cons

      I believe I was taken advantage of. When I was here people got promoted simply because they got to winners circle which is 130% of target. Most of that was luck or a good territory or your manager moving some stuff around internally for you. Didn’t matter if you were corrupt, narcissistic, evil, racist, sexist or a bully as long as you got to winner circle. Once you did you were immediately considered leadership material and could do no wrong. If you became a manager your target dropped to 101%. High performance was is measured in terms of numbers only. In my opinion thats a top-down issue always promoting the wrong self-serving people with no people management skills. There was so much toxicity and over half the people I knew just disappeared. I saw so many new starters dreams crushed in such a short time. I was scared working here. My family convinced me to leave and now I am so much better.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great career opportunities, Complex sales environment

      11 May 2021 - Regional Sales Manager in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Executive Leadership team is particularly strong and genuine change agents 2. Work with some of the brightest minds in the industry advising some of the countries largest businesses 3. Everyday is a school day, constant learning and development 4. Coaching on how to be a better leader is ongoing 5. Support comes from all angles, things are never left solely to you to add value to our clients 6. Business performance is outstanding and compensation reflects that

      Cons

      Gartner is going through a period of change where there is more value placed on the well being of its people first and foremost, but we are still going through this and big change management takes time. There is an incredible sales process that Gartner follows but it doesn't solve everything and so the business is slowly flexing its approach with how it delivers value but again, this change takes time.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Don't be fooled by the hype

      2 May 2021 - Senior Business Development Executive in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with intelligent people, learning Access to best practice research, magic quadrant, vendor support Creating solutions to executive challenges

      Cons

      Processes are stifling – even with years of experience, if you don't fit into Gartner's box you will be pushed out. Relationships with business partners are strained – unless you contribute to metrics there is no incentive to work with each other. It's an uphill battle to do what's right for the customer which considering the value prop, is misleading and puts a strain on product offering Internal politics – like everywhere this is evident. However, Gartner's internal politics are irrational, like high school kids running amuck on a power trip. Rules were always bent for the right people Don't work here if you're looking for a great culture – it's stale, rife with politics, and doesn't prioritise employees. Many colleagues were physically and mentally unwell from the toxic environment and workload People were promoted or remained in leadership positions even with questionable behaviour that the higher ups were well aware of. This does not incite inspiration, nor does it make people want to be led by them You're told to work at 150% to be considered for a promotion, or for a salary increase. But it's smoke and mirrors of commitment from managers, and even if you've already proven you're a high achiever, the goal posts always change Huge turnover – not only does this put pressure on; managers, sales, service partners, but inspires low workplace morale You'd think that a best practice providing company would be able to use their own research, instead, you could probably use Gartner as a case study on what not to do

      17 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Toxic Culture & Bad Managers

      4 Jun 2021 - Customer Success Manager in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Brilliant minds to work with in Research & Services. People who are intrinsically motivated to help their clients succeed.

      Cons

      Micro-management with zero focus on employee success and wellbeing. Always droning about the numbers. HR is an employer HR not a people HR. Surprised they keep getting listed as top places to work. There's no listing of corporate values anywhere. Bullying and narcissistic behaviours are tolerated and in fact, encouraged as long as the metrics are good. Very limited opportunity for career growth in services unless you aim to move to another head office outside of Aus. Some of the analysts are so overworked that they lash out on services & support. HR & Recruiters will over-promise and not deliver. Also, in services, don't expect market rates (compensation).

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Worst career experience

      15 Jun 2021 - Senior Manager in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great research Very intelligent people. Good benefits.

      Cons

      Joined a service delivery manager. In one year, I had accounts with Sales account executive turnover of up to 500% - yes, in 12 months 5 different sales people were introduced to manage this account. The systems are TERRIBLE - for an organisation that matches analysts with clients - it can take 2-3 weeks to get a booking for a service that costs $100-300k a year. Sometimes it takes a week or two to find out it is a do not cover. The organisation is highly metric driven with metrics that do not put the client first.

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Loving it

      13 May 2021 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - C-level exposure - Helping clients with real problems, in real time, making a real impact - Great formal training - Everyone is happy to help when asked - Work life balance has been great, my manager told me to sign off when i sent them an email past 5 pm

      Cons

      - "Boys club?" - there is a "boys club" in every single company. this is not a gartner thing, i've seen much worse in other companies i've worked at, thats the patriarchy. gartner are part of the movement trying to overcome this. - The sales targets are tough but don't take a sales role? you're going to have tough KPI's, this is what motivates most salespeople, every where you go will have tough kpi's in sales, salesforce might have a bigger commission but their targets are unattainable.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Made me wonder if it was more tolerable during Hitler's time...

      20 May 2021 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Meeting others who were going through mental health issues as a result of working in the company. Able to support each other and cry together. I give it 1 star overall for this reason.

      Cons

      I used to hear people vomiting in the toilets from anxiety and stress. One day I even bumped into one of them and asked them if they were ok. They broke down and told me they were being picked on constantly to perform despite joining the business on the condition of doing an Account Manager role not a heavy BD role. They were told this AFTER 'academy'. Couldn't believe it. Disgusting. If you get approached by someone for a job here, good luck. If you're in a relationship, be prepared to have issues when you start prioritising so much to do with this job coz you're worried you're gona get into trouble or criticised again for something. Salary ranges are so big even though you're all doing the same job.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Wouldn’t recommend

      4 Jun 2021 - Customer Success Manager (CSM) in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Building relationships with clients The research published is interesting and insightful

      Cons

      The culture is non existent and toxic Little provided in terms of coaching, feed back and support Sales teams are so stressed and you have to manage that and shield your clients The service team are always an after thought, we do a lot of the heavy lifting on accounts especially because there is so much open territory in sales, it’s largely thankless and unrecognised by the business Progression is capped and largely non existent Mental health and employee well being is not a priority Management want to protect the Gartner brand and cover up the reality of what is unfolding rather than address the issues Would be curious to see attrition % feels like at least half the business has left in the past couple of months

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Amazing Company fast tracking leadership training

      18 May 2021 - Sales Manager in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Smartest people you will find - High performance culture delivering great $$ - Diverse teams - Every single day you learn something new - Always looking to find new ways to deliver value - Huge investment and focus on Family and Health.

      Cons

      - Still opportunities to evolve and develop more streamlined service delivery - Plenty of room for improvement around Health and Family to go, but the program and focus from the top down is already seeing a GREAT turn around with this.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 4,424 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Gartner Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Gartner? Share Your Experiences

    Gartner logo
    or