Guru Studio Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Guru Studio Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Guru Studio CEO Frank Falcone
Frank Falcone
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low salary compared to other studios(in 7 reviews)

  • "Utterly dysfunctional upper management, as demonstrated by the constant turnover in the senior ranks(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing Studio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 3D Animator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guru Studio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work/life balance, great culture, cute projects, amazing team leaders, a strong group of artists, free snacks! , awesome work parties/ events, full benefits.

    Cons

    Sometimes projects are behind schedule but that's kind of just the nature of the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Guru Studio2019-09-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Studio All Around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 3D Animator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guru Studio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This studio is perfect for new animators to get their feet wet in the industry. The mentor ship offered to new animators is amazing (feed back fridays/master classes). The studio looks at your goals as an artist and helps create a path for you to get there. They also understand work life balance allowing flex hours, because of this i was able to continue on with post grad studies on the side. Work is constant and... stable on most shows. - Amazing / diverse projects -Flex Hours -Mentor ship and growth -Safe stable work -Good benefits

    Show More

    Cons

    Pay is lower then most studios but its evened out by good projects and stable work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on allowing artist to grow within your studio.

    Guru Studio2019-07-15
  3. "Very Happy to Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guru Studio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For the artist that craves longevity, Guru is a great place to work. Employees tend to stick around for a while. Which is comforting for those who worry about where their next contract is coming from. Guru tries to promote from within, and allow artists new opportunities to grow, or just hop onto a new project. The studio is very community minded. People are friendly, and the company takes part in a lot of... moral boosting social activities. Like participating in sports together, parties, show screenings and snack days. They also provide benefits and flexible hours.

    Show More

    Cons

    The biggest downside of Guru is the smaller paycheck. However, the job security and benefits can out-way this depending on what your priorities are.

    Guru Studio2019-07-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Creative and Artist Driven Studio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guru Studio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Creativity and storytelling are front and center. - Highly ambitious in their approach to creating just about anything - aim for the stars! - As a result, some of your best work will come out of this studio. - You get to work on a wide range of products across television, games and film. - 99% of marketing initiatives are managed and executed in-house: from designing merchandise to putting together a live show..., you get to do it all. - Cross functional collaboration! Unlike other studios, at Guru, you get to collaborate directly with producers and artists on marketing related initiatives. - The people are highly talented and super friendly, your coworkers will inspire you every day.

    Show More

    Cons

    - There should be as much focus on the people as there is on the amazing brands that come out of the studio

    Advice to Management

    Empower middle management. Discourage micromanagement. Offer thoughtful career path plans. Summer hours?

    Guru Studio2019-06-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D Modeler in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guru Studio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Love the flexible hours, talented team, management is nice.

    Cons

    Communication is really really bad, there is always an in-between person before the info gets to you, management and directors never speak directly to the team. Pay is also very low, if you do your research Guru pays one of the lowest salaries in this field downtown.

    Advice to Management

    Break the divide that there is between the people who do the work and the people who make the decisions. It’s a terrible shame that I’ve never ever spoken to the director. Also a ton of people including myself have decided to leave recently and maybe people in management don’t know, but amongst us, it’s really a lot to do with pay among other factors.

    Guru Studio2019-07-03

    Guru Studio Response

    July 19, 2019Director of People and Culture

    We’re sorry to hear you felt communication needed improvement and wished that you had raised this concern while at Guru. Our Producers have regular meetings with their teams to update them on what’s going on. With regards to pay, we’re always trying to stay competitive in the market and frequently review our rates to ensure they remain competitive. Thank you for your feedback!

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D Artist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guru Studio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company and flexible hours.

    Cons

    Not too many.There are new productions starting all the time so you can jump from one contract to the next.

    Guru Studio2019-05-29

    Guru Studio Response

    July 19, 2019Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed working at Guru. We’re always inspired by the creativity and positivity of our artists!

  7. Helpful (5)

    "This is a good company ,but salary is low."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D Artist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guru Studio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, nice location, flexible working hours and a few very skilled of co-workers

    Cons

    Production needs to be more organised.

    Guru Studio2018-12-28

    Guru Studio Response

    March 1, 2019People & Culture Manager

    We’re happy you enjoyed working at Guru and appreciated the culture we’ve worked hard to create for our studio! We take great pride in meeting our production deadlines and we’re always ready to listen to new ideas from smart people about how we can improve our process.

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Story Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guru Studio full-time

    Pros

    Sometimes the projects can be interesting. There are a variety of talents there.

    Cons

    Unstable contracts, workload is enormous.

    Guru Studio2018-10-19

    Guru Studio Response

    March 1, 2019People & Culture Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. Contracts are structured based on project needs but we always try our very best to provide long-term contracts for our employees. Many of our artists have been at Guru for years - some over a decade, migrating from contract to contract and enjoying the same benefits, pay raises and security of a full-time employee. Work/life balance is extremely important to us and we encourage everyone at the studio to speak up if they’re having any issues managing their time.

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guru Studio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment and the work isn’t too challenging or stressful. Nice offices in a good location with lots of good lunch options. Friendly staff.

    Cons

    All preschool shows and they don’t push the quality very far. If you want to get a job at a top flight studio you’ll need to do your own work at home. Decisions are often made on the cheap. Office only has one washroom per floor.

    Advice to Management

    The business seems to be a successful business. Keep it up

    Guru Studio2018-10-21

    Guru Studio Response

    November 26, 2018People & Culture Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your time at Guru and we agree that the people here are great! We really enjoy creating stories for children and their families, but we're always taking on different kinds of projects that present new and exciting challenges for our Artists.

    Show Less
  10. "3D Animator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 3D Animator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guru Studio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good People , Good environment

    Cons

    I don't see any cons

    Advice to Management

    No

    Guru Studio2018-03-07

    Guru Studio Response

    March 13, 2018

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re pleased to hear you enjoy working at Guru. We’re always inspired by the creativity and positivity of our artists!

Found 38 reviews