Hatch Mott MacDonald Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Hatch Mott MacDonald Reviews

Updated 3 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 90 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Hatch Mott MacDonald CEO Nicholas DeNichilo (no image)
Nicholas DeNichilo
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good luck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Clerk in Iselin, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They paid for my books for college

    Cons

    Managment _ hired a new manager when someone has been there for 20+ years should have been in that position.

    Advice to Management

    Make people stay because they are treated well, not because you need them to

    Hatch Mott MacDonald2019-06-17
  2. "Get it in writing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Controls Analyst in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent middle management, good work/life balance

    Cons

    Clickish, Who, not What you know

    Advice to Management

    Worked for the company for 2 1/2 years. Only accepted their offer of employment because I was promised a specific project and was added to that projects proposal which was accepted. I was then shuffled around like a chess piece from project to project with the promise of the proposed project constantly dangled like a carrot to keep me there. After constantly inquiring about the promised/proposed project, I was... laid off and told the project I was hired on for wasn't going to happen. I later learned that the project (which was the only reason I ever agreed to accept their offer of employment), was still active and they'd hired the project managers wife's friend for the position they'd promised to me. I will be lobbying to have this type of mistreatment of consulting firm employees added as a bill to my state legislature to be turned into a law. If a company hires you for a specific project, then changes mid stream (after the proposal has you listed as part of the package-and the client is expecting you), that's bait and switch. Clients are tired of it, and it's time for it to be corrected. My advise to Mott Mac management; get to know your lower level employees, it would serve you well to know who you're dealing with.

    Show More
    Hatch Mott MacDonald2019-07-03
  3. "Good company, good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Controls 

    I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time

    Pros

    Overall good place to work; what you’d expect, typical office setting but with nice, hardworking people.

    Cons

    Typical office environment. Sometimes boring. A lot of contracted management personnel not fully invested in the company.

    Hatch Mott MacDonald2019-05-01
  4. "Draftsman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CAD Drafter in Monroe, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits & Pay vacation days and working half a day on Friday

    Cons

    Cut-throat environment, buddy system and click

    Advice to Management

    very much the buddy system, if you weren't in there little click you didn't move up nor did you stay long. A bunch of liar's and back stabbers, I worked there for two years and while I was there the vp of the company came in and started screaming and cussing one of my fellow employee's over nothing, then threaten him with violence. 6 months later I was called in to the office and was terminated due to bad behavior.... I was shocked for I had never been called in the office for anything, nor been given a write up. So upon investigating I learned they wrote down I was a very violent individual, claiming I had struck a co-worker and pulled a knife on another. all of these of course were untrue and after several months of legal battles we were able to come to an agreement. However this has been on my work record for several years now. I would highly recommend who ever is seeking a job stay away from this company....

    Show More
    Hatch Mott MacDonald2018-02-26
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Piping Design Engineer in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Work environment and Management is cooperative

    Cons

    Compensation is not up to the market standard

    Hatch Mott MacDonald2017-12-23
  6. "Engineer II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, broad area of fields to work in

    Cons

    Big company, can get lost in the shuffle

    Hatch Mott MacDonald2017-11-01
  7. "Project Office focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very interesting and engaging work - tunnels, light rail, urban planning. The staff is competent and professional. Most of the work is done in project offices at the client's worksite. Actual HMM offices are very small on west coast. Many people retire from HMM as it's a good place to work overall. Pay is excellent

    Cons

    Working in clients project offices can be isolating. Moving into management with the stock options is a carrot dangled before project managers that rarely comes to fruition. UK company so benefits are limited.

    Hatch Mott MacDonald2017-10-12
  8. "Project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time

    Pros

    Good project team people to work with

    Cons

    Little to no training offered or guidance unless you know where and how to find it.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the entire project team not just the team leads.

    Hatch Mott MacDonald2017-03-05
  9. "Thoughs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time

    Pros

    Good range of projects, flexible working hours in the form of flexitime

    Cons

    Sometimes gets busy, but as with any industry it comes and goes

    Advice to Management

    Manage people more efficiently

    Hatch Mott MacDonald2017-01-05
  10. "Good starter for those out of school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald

    Pros

    Flexible career path Access to people in management

    Cons

    Not much emphasis on training (despite their spiel of its importance) Pay is on the lower end of comparable positions in other companies Despite being in many industries, employees are usually bound to one in particular

    Advice to Management

    Emphasize training

    Hatch Mott MacDonald2016-10-06
Found 90 reviews