Hatch Mott MacDonald Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Hatch Mott MacDonald Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Nicholas DeNichilo
45 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good luck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Clerk in Iselin, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They paid for my books for college

    Cons

    Managment _ hired a new manager when someone has been there for 20+ years should have been in that position.

    Advice to Management

    Make people stay because they are treated well, not because you need them to

    Hatch Mott MacDonald2019-06-17
  2. "Good company, good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Controls 

    I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time

    Pros

    Overall good place to work; what you’d expect, typical office setting but with nice, hardworking people.

    Cons

    Typical office environment. Sometimes boring. A lot of contracted management personnel not fully invested in the company.

    Hatch Mott MacDonald2019-05-01
  3. "Draftsman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CAD Drafter in Monroe, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits & Pay vacation days and working half a day on Friday

    Cons

    Cut-throat environment, buddy system and click

    Advice to Management

    very much the buddy system, if you weren't in there little click you didn't move up nor did you stay long. A bunch of liar's and back stabbers, I worked there for two years and while I was there the vp of the company came in and started screaming and cussing one of my fellow employee's over nothing, then threaten him with violence. 6 months later I was called in to the office and was terminated due to bad behavior. I...

    Show More
    Hatch Mott MacDonald2018-02-26
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Piping Design Engineer in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good Work environment and Management is cooperative

    Cons

    Compensation is not up to the market standard

    Hatch Mott MacDonald2017-12-23
  5. "Engineer II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time

      Pros

      Good benefits, broad area of fields to work in

      Cons

      Big company, can get lost in the shuffle

      Hatch Mott MacDonald2017-11-01
    • "Project Office focus"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Very interesting and engaging work - tunnels, light rail, urban planning. The staff is competent and professional. Most of the work is done in project offices at the client's worksite. Actual HMM offices are very small on west coast. Many people retire from HMM as it's a good place to work overall. Pay is excellent

      Cons

      Working in clients project offices can be isolating. Moving into management with the stock options is a carrot dangled before project managers that rarely comes to fruition. UK company so benefits are limited.

      Hatch Mott MacDonald2017-10-12
    • "Project manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time

      Pros

      Good project team people to work with

      Cons

      Little to no training offered or guidance unless you know where and how to find it.

      Advice to Management

      Pay attention to the entire project team not just the team leads.

      Hatch Mott MacDonald2017-03-05
    • "Thoughs"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time

      Pros

      Good range of projects, flexible working hours in the form of flexitime

      Cons

      Sometimes gets busy, but as with any industry it comes and goes

      Advice to Management

      Manage people more efficiently

      Hatch Mott MacDonald2017-01-05
    • "Good starter for those out of school"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald

      Pros

      Flexible career path Access to people in management

      Cons

      Not much emphasis on training (despite their spiel of its importance) Pay is on the lower end of comparable positions in other companies Despite being in many industries, employees are usually bound to one in particular

      Advice to Management

      Emphasize training

      Hatch Mott MacDonald2016-10-06
    • "Project Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald

        Pros

        Flexible hours for employees that perform well. Management doesn't micro-manage mid-level employees.

        Cons

        Salaries don't keep the good employees around. Only a few "preferred" employees are well-compensated, leaving others to pursue greener pastures.

        Advice to Management

        Raise pay scale for mid level mangers to keep them around. Not a good business model to have those employees constantly searching job boards.

        Hatch Mott MacDonald2016-09-21
      Found 89 reviews