Howdens Joinery Reviews

Updated 22 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Howdens Joinery CEO Andrew Livingston (no image)
Andrew Livingston
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good bonus scheme, training available,(in 12 reviews)

  • "The people at Howdens are fantastic(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours, never able to switch off(in 11 reviews)

  • "Honestly I don't think there are any cons working for Howdens(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Really good company to work for"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Engineering Intern in Bolton, England

    I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time

    Pros

    Really nice people. Good benifits such as free dinner subsided breakfast. Gokarting trips etc

    Cons

    Cannot say a bad word about the company

    Howdens Joinery2020-05-22
  2. "Not what it’s cracked up to be"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Kingston upon Hull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time

    Pros

    Local depots help service requirements

    Cons

    Demands during COVID pandemic very unrealistic

    Howdens Joinery2020-05-19
  3. "Job"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Developer in Guildford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Howdens Joinery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None, awful company! Bullying goes on like you wouldn’t believe!

    Cons

    Stay away! Awful bullying, hated every minute there!

    Continue reading
    Howdens Joinery2020-05-17
  4. "I’ve never seen bullying like it"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Howdens Joinery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There aren’t any good points as the bullying outweighs everything.

    Cons

    Bullying from top to bottom. The most corrupt and bullying HR Dept I’ve ever come across. Most managers from senior level upwards are nervous wrecks who are not allowed to make decisions. I watched them sack people whose face didn’t fit or they dared speak up against an injustice or a faulty product. Some dept worked very long hours for no additional pay or overtime, and if they asked for time off they were bullied even more and told they were lazy and not a team player. The bullying culture is horrific.

    Continue reading
    Howdens Joinery2020-05-13
  5. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in High Wycombe, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to progress within the company for those that have the drive and desire to do so.

    Cons

    Only real downside is working Saturday's. However it isn't a surprise and it part of the contracted hours.

    Continue reading
    Howdens Joinery2020-01-26
  6. "Sales Representative/sales executive"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Sales Representative/Sales Executive 

    I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time

    Pros

    To work in an organization where problem solving and analytical skills are required. An environment where challenges are assigned and innovation and creativity demanded in order to achieve team and organizational set goals.

    Cons

    no no no no no

    Howdens Joinery2020-01-18
  7. "Superb Company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Litigation Paralegal in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Positive and successful business. Job security. Market leader and passionate about what they do. Great hours and salary, bonus and perks. Several company trips and events annually and generally.

    Cons

    Sometimes more appreciation could be given and recognition for going above and beyond what is expected.

    Howdens Joinery2020-01-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Long hours"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Howdens Joinery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Big bonus before Christmas if you do well in the October sale.

    Cons

    Working every sat with no extra pay, being told continuously it would change. Being spoken to like a child when not understanding how to use the computer system 100% after doing my first order. Everything is paper based and hand written making jobs harder than they need to be. Being shouted at in the middle of the showroom for being 2 minutes late as there was a road accident and I had to detour, I apologised and the reply was 'it's the same as being an hour late'. Most people employed are family and friends. Manager slated the person who's job position I was taking over.

    Continue reading
    Howdens Joinery2020-01-23
  9. "Way too much stress"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Depot Manager in Haslingden, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Howdens Joinery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    pretty good pay, good staff, good rewards

    Cons

    Too many hours, too much stress, poor management, poor dispute resolution, poor inter branch relations.

    Howdens Joinery2020-01-20
  10. "Bullying/ micro management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Howdens Joinery full-time

    Pros

    Nothing good to say about this company. Values to staff are shocking.

    Cons

    Be prepared for the onslaught! Great for induction training! If your face fits all branches have too many family members working alongside each other!

    Continue reading
    Howdens Joinery2020-01-28
Found 157 reviews