Hunter Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Hunter Reviews

Updated 30 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Hunter CEO Grace Leong (no image)
Grace Leong
14 Ratings
  1. "Gold Standard for Places to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hunter full-time

    Pros

    I worked at Hunter Public Relations for 8+ years. There is no better place to learn, grow and succeed as a PR professional. The leadership at Hunter PR is top notch and apparent through the community and first-rate programs that come out of the shop. If you are looking for a PR firm with which to start or continue your career, this is the place to go.

    Cons

    There are no cons to working at or with Hunter PR.

    Hunter2018-03-27
  2. "Used to be a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Lake City, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Hunter full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Family Atmosphere. We are like a family.

    Cons

    Financially unstable for the past 10 years

    Advice to Management

    None at this time

    Hunter2019-05-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "I feel heard, valued, and challenged at HUNTER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hunter full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I made an unexpected career switch to PR and was worried about taking an entry-level position at this point in my life. I could not be happier about where I landed. I learn something every day, I am surrounded by people who are industry experts and I feel heard when I speak up. The low turnover rate here is a product of a supportive, creative and flexible work environment. Sometimes communications companies are... their own worst clients but HUNTER does an excellent job of clearly communicating expectations and I always feel privy to what upper mgmt is up to, to an appropriate extent. I am excited to grow here and know, should I ever choose to leave, I have the best possible PR foundation. Added bonus, there is always tons of food in the office.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is always tons of food in the office....

    Hunter2019-03-06
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hunter full-time

    Pros

    - intelligent and hard working colleagues - top notch clients - focus on culture - balance between a successful tradition while also aware and keen to growing with the industry - as far as PR goes, work life balance is pretty good - good benefits - strong HR - in comparison to other agencies, low turnover rate

    Cons

    - as with any agency, people are often over-worked, underpaid - growth opportunity varies by team

    Hunter2019-02-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "SVP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hunter full-time

    Pros

    Focus on culture, senior service mentality

    Cons

    Below average salaries, little room for growth

    Hunter2018-08-10
  6. "Love Hunter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hunter full-time

    Pros

    work life balance & people

    Cons

    Involve junior staff more otherwise N/A

    Advice to Management

    None

    Hunter2017-09-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hunter full-time

    Pros

    The environment is collaborative, supportive, creative and flexible. They really care about nurturing talent.

    Cons

    The office is always freezing!

    Hunter2017-08-24
  8. "Wonderful Experience Working with Exceptional, Dedicated PR Pros"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Management in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hunter full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    * Caring and dedicated leadership * Opportunity to work on A-list clients * Lower than average turnover * Collaborative, team-oriented culture * Great work is recognized and rewarded * High priority placed on staff growth and development

    Cons

    * Client over-servicing can result in inefficient use of staff and resources

    Hunter2017-08-18
  9. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hunter full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good clients who are willing to do outside-the-box creative work.

    Cons

    Work environment is a little old-school.

    Hunter2017-08-10
  10. "Great company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hunter full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I built my career here and was so fortunate to work with some of the smartest, creative and most caring people. They have a great roster of clients and every year continue to bring in big iconic brand clients. Clients and staff stick around more than at other agencies so there is a ton of institutional knowledge and resources within the agency.

    Cons

    There are a lot of senior folks involved in the details, which can lead to over-servicing. Great client service is what this company stands for but it can lead to some teams being understaffed and over-worked.

    Hunter2017-08-08
Found 21 reviews