Hyatt Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Hyatt Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2787 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Hyatt CEO Mark S. Hoplamazian
Mark S. Hoplamazian
1043 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours in the Hospitality Industry(in 160 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance will always be challenging in the hospitality industry where we offer services 24/7(in 121 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hyatt part-time

    Pros

    free accommodation, management would like to listen to you.

    Cons

    Busy working environment, hard job

    Hyatt2019-07-04
  2. "h6st"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hyatt full-time

    Pros

    I like the working environment

    Cons

    To much work load to do

    Hyatt2018-12-19
  3. "GSO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hyatt part-time

    Pros

    good working environment, friendly colleagues

    Cons

    bad management and high staff turnover rate

    Hyatt2018-11-29
  4. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hyatt full-time

    Pros

    Good free stay benefits and room to grow.

    Cons

    Long hours, terrible pay and understaffed

    Hyatt2018-10-31
  5. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - General Manager in Melbourne

    I have been working at Hyatt full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent communication, business relations and networking skills to identify, broker and promote strategic alliances across service industries.

    Cons

    A strong and disciplined work ethic, able to model an ethical, inclusive, professional and enthusiastic style of working. 


    Hyatt2018-09-18
  6. "AM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hyatt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee friendly company, would love to work again in future!!

    Cons

    can't think of any, had a good time

    Advice to Management

    Be good

    Hyatt2018-09-24
  7. "Hyatt Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Outlets Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyatt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company Benefits, Career Growth, High wnd venues.

    Cons

    Long Hours, Not many cons.

    Hyatt2018-09-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hyatt full-time

    Pros

    Good team Easy to communicate across all departments Travels, training and conferences Well developed systems

    Cons

    DOSM don't know what she's doing, only care about her salary.No care for team members and cannot make her own decisions as a leader, as a result losing business to competitor.

    Advice to Management

    Put someone on the job who can really do the job, we don't need selfish leaders to just sit in the office and look at ebay or complimentary room bookings pages all day

    Hyatt2018-07-09
  9. "Wouldn't recommend this company to my worst enemy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Porter in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hyatt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free stays after a year of employment.

    Cons

    Upper management treat staff like they're the help. HR do not take any harassment or bullying claims serious. I was told "don't take it personally". Hotel owner believes he is more important than the guests. Declined transfers after being told they were approved (Even with multiple years experience in the field I applied for). Underpaid. Training was helpless. I had to teach myself most things. Being banned...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get your act together. Stop treating staff like you're going to fire them if they don't do a simple task like 'picking a sticker off the ground' fast enough, when a real leader would have done it themselves. HR department needs a lot of improvement. Eight hour orientation with 75% of that playing stupid 'get to know each other' games is a massive waste of time, especially because you never speak to those people again....

    Show More
    Hyatt2018-04-21
  10. "Professional appearance with imperfect management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hyatt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Brand name, huge presence in the industry. Recognized by many employers

    Cons

    Work life balance would be hard to manage with working hours. Plus, Salary package will make you work overtime without getting paid

    Hyatt2017-11-06
Found 2787 reviews