Hyatt Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Hyatt Reviews

Updated 15 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2743 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Hyatt CEO Mark S. Hoplamazian
Mark S. Hoplamazian
1027 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours in the Hospitality Industry(in 160 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance will always be challenging in the hospitality industry where we offer services 24/7(in 121 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - General Manager in Melbourne

      I have been working at Hyatt full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Excellent communication, business relations and networking skills to identify, broker and promote strategic alliances across service industries.

      Cons

      A strong and disciplined work ethic, able to model an ethical, inclusive, professional and enthusiastic style of working. 


      Hyatt2018-09-18
    • "h6st"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Hyatt full-time

        Pros

        I like the working environment

        Cons

        To much work load to do

        Hyatt2018-12-19
      • "GSO"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Hyatt part-time

          Pros

          good working environment, friendly colleagues

          Cons

          bad management and high staff turnover rate

          Hyatt2018-11-29
        • "Sales"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No Opinion of CEO

          I worked at Hyatt full-time

          Pros

          Good free stay benefits and room to grow.

          Cons

          Long hours, terrible pay and understaffed

          Hyatt2018-10-31
        • "AM"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I worked at Hyatt full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Employee friendly company, would love to work again in future!!

          Cons

          can't think of any, had a good time

          Advice to Management

          Be good

          Hyatt2018-09-24
        • "Hyatt Company Review"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Assistant Outlets Manager in Sydney
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Hyatt full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Company Benefits, Career Growth, High wnd venues.

          Cons

          Long Hours, Not many cons.

          Hyatt2018-09-06
        • Helpful (1)

          "Sales"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No Opinion of CEO

          I worked at Hyatt full-time

          Pros

          Good team Easy to communicate across all departments Travels, training and conferences Well developed systems

          Cons

          DOSM don't know what she's doing, only care about her salary.No care for team members and cannot make her own decisions as a leader, as a result losing business to competitor.

          Advice to Management

          Put someone on the job who can really do the job, we don't need selfish leaders to just sit in the office and look at ebay or complimentary room bookings pages all day

          Hyatt2018-07-09
        • "Wouldn't recommend this company to my worst enemy."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Porter in Sydney
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Hyatt full-time (Less than a year)

          Pros

          Free stays after a year of employment.

          Cons

          Upper management treat staff like they're the help. HR do not take any harassment or bullying claims serious. I was told "don't take it personally". Hotel owner believes he is more important than the guests. Declined transfers after being told they were approved (Even with multiple years experience in the field I applied for). Underpaid. Training was helpless. I had to teach myself most things. Being banned...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Get your act together. Stop treating staff like you're going to fire them if they don't do a simple task like 'picking a sticker off the ground' fast enough, when a real leader would have done it themselves. HR department needs a lot of improvement. Eight hour orientation with 75% of that playing stupid 'get to know each other' games is a massive waste of time, especially because you never speak to those people again....

          Show More
          Hyatt2018-04-21
        • "Professional appearance with imperfect management"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Sydney
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No Opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Hyatt full-time (Less than a year)

          Pros

          Brand name, huge presence in the industry. Recognized by many employers

          Cons

          Work life balance would be hard to manage with working hours. Plus, Salary package will make you work overtime without getting paid

          Hyatt2017-11-06
        • Helpful (2)

          "Poor pay, poor leadership, but coworkers are the best."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Sales & Marketing Coordinator in Perth, Western Australia
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No Opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Hyatt full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Coworkers, interesting job, fun events and clients. The people are what make this job bearable. Free or discounted accommodation at other Hyatt hotels worldwide.

          Cons

          Terrible leadership, miserable pay and lack of career development and progression opportunities. Most of the staff work long hours and do not receive adequate remuneration.

          Hyatt2017-07-20
        Found 2743 reviews