Hyatt Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4,306 of over 4,809 reviews

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Hyatt President and CEO Mark S. Hoplamazian
Mark S. Hoplamazian
1,640 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, free lunch, caring leaders(in 288 reviews)

  • "Very great company to work for, truly cared for each employee to be their best(in 152 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours but well compensated(in 243 reviews)

  • "The job had relatively low pay but that is usually a given in the hotel industry until you reach a certain level(in 82 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to start off your hospitality career

      Sep 2, 2021 - Associate Director of Sales in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity to work in different countries. Great comp room policy. Smaller hotel chain compared to the other big guys, so easier to navigate.

      Cons

      Because it’s relatively smaller, there are less properties available hence less choice for a given location. Less properties, less job opportunity, and less progression.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Hyatt Regency

      Aug 24, 2021 - Concierge/Receptionist in Perth, Western Australia, Western Australia
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I could work outside sometimes. It was close to my home. Many of my co-workers were really nice as well as 99% of the management. I only had one really bad manager, but he was moved to china.

      Cons

      Their register system was really out dated. I had to keep track of all my own receipts during the day and then at the end of the day I had to close my own register and account for all the receipts. They seemed to be understaffed so I wasn't able to provide 5 star customer service a lot of the time. It's only just a livable wage. Overall though a pretty positive experience.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company, Slow Career Progression

      Aug 19, 2021 - Duty Manager in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company with some great work perks

      Cons

      slow career progression within the company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Hyatt or the Highway

      Jul 29, 2021 - Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great brand standard, consistent globally. If you are part of the in crowd, the culture appeared to be very supportive and family like even though they are a massive global listed organization.

      Cons

      Could have been just my experience, however when they are taking over a new property, it's very much the inner circle and if you are inherited from previous property management group, you are likely on the outer.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Vibrant hospitality

      Jul 17, 2021 - Hotel General Manager in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting interface Firm vibe Elite

      Cons

      Dynamic industry Rotational shifts Late night pm

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      It was okay

      May 4, 2021 - Food and Beverage in Perth, Western Australia, Western Australia
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      HR is quick to handle situations

      Cons

      Quarantine hotel Lack of communication between departments Outdated equipment

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      7/10

      Apr 24, 2021 - Customer Service Team Leader in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good pay and good colleagues

      Cons

      questionable management who do not lead by example

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A good hotel brand to start your hotel journey

      Apr 21, 2021 - Sales Manager in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smallish hotel brand, so not too overwhelming. Great to learn and grow.

      Cons

      Not as many opportunities as other bigger brands and have growth limitations. Salary isn’t so good either.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good to work with

      Feb 21, 2021 - Host in Melbourne
      Recommend