Inter-American Development Bank Reviews

Updated 8 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Inter-American Development Bank President Luis Alberto Moreno
Luis Alberto Moreno
101 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If you a consultant forget about getting a staff position(in 25 reviews)

  • "No benefits (health, retirement, etc(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Overall, a good place to work."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Washington, DC

    I worked at Inter-American Development Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment. Staff association is very active.

    Cons

    Few opportunities for career progression. Knowledge of Spanish language is required.

  2. "Nice people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Inter-American Development Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pleasant work environment. There is also a gym in the building.

    Cons

    There is no way to grow as a consultant.

    Continue reading

    Inter-American Development Bank Response

    June 16, 2020Sourcing

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and we are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here. All of our career opportunities are posted on our Careers website and are accessible to everyone. Our Human Resources Department revises each application carefully. We invite you to apply for any position you are interested in.

  3. "Improving Life"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Executive Director 

    I worked at Inter-American Development Bank full-time

    Pros

    Help improve the life and well-being of the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.

    Cons

    There is noting wrong working in this magnificent institution

    Inter-American Development Bank Response

    June 16, 2020Sourcing

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We work every day to improve lives in Latin America and the Caribbean and strive to offer a rewarding positive experience for all our employees.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity to truly improve lives in the Latin America and Caribbean Region!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Inter-American Development Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great organizational culture with highly motivated staff.

    Cons

    More diversity needed at HQ, as Afro-descendants and the differently-abled are under-represented, as well as very few non-native Spanish speakers.

    Continue reading

    Inter-American Development Bank Response

    May 26, 2020Sourcing

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We work every day to improve lives in Latin America and the Caribbean and strive to offer a rewarding positive experience for all our employees.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Underpayed for the market"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Inter-American Development Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Impactfull work in the development sector

    Cons

    You are going far less than your market value and an untransparent bureaucracy

    Continue reading

    Inter-American Development Bank Response

    June 16, 2020Sourcing

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. At the IDB, we work every day to improve lives in Latin America and the Caribbean. We are a trusted partner of governments, NGOs, startups, and other stakeholders who also work for the region. We must maintain our rigorous standards to fulfill our purpose successfully.

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Pleasant environment but no proffesional progression"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Partner in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Inter-American Development Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment no career advancement

    Cons

    If you a consultant forget about getting a staff position

    Continue reading

    Inter-American Development Bank Response

    May 26, 2020Sourcing

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. At the IDB, we care about our employees’ career development. We offer international experience, with more than 25 offices in Latin America and the Caribbean. We also help employees get better at their jobs, offering a wide-range of trainings year-round and promotions are based on competitive processes, accessible to everyone.

  7. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Economic Consultant in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Inter-American Development Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good exposure to top professionals in economics and international development. Great for non-US citizens or residents.

    Cons

    Too bureaucratic, little chance of growth within the institution.

    Inter-American Development Bank Response

    May 12, 2020Sourcing

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy working with your team members. At the IDB, we work every day to improve lives in Latin America and the Caribbean. We are a trusted partner of governments, NGOs, startups, and other stakeholders who also work for the region. We must maintain our rigorous standards to fulfill our purpose successfully.

  8. "improving lives"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Inter-American Development Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed my time working there, in general the people are really nice.

    Cons

    There is a slow career progression

    Inter-American Development Bank Response

    May 12, 2020Sourcing

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your input and we are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here. We hope that what you enjoyed the most at IDB is being surrounded by people who love what they do and are passionate about improving lives in Latin America and the Caribbean. We also care about how we can make our employees better at their jobs, and we offer different types of training that are available year-round.

  9. "This is a great institution if you are into social development"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Data Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Inter-American Development Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's a medium-sized institution that has characteristics of a regular bank but also as a International organization It could be a great platform to move to others IFI's The salaries are good and it allows you to go further in your academic goals The employees come from all the 28 countries that are the board members They have a diverse projects portfolio and it focuses on country development areas They have financial products for the public and private sector The work areas are good, the common and shared areas are great for teamwork. They have art galleries and events to promote the culture of the country members. They provide you with a special work visa (G4) They have 4 official languages: Spanish, English, Portuguese and French. The employees have a very good academic level The permanent employees have good benefits, including travel to their native countries, support for their college education, health insurance, and others.

    Cons

    Difficult to make a career. The limitation for permanent positions is a big problem The work visa provided by the institution only works for a few other organizations It's a very political institution, bureaucratic and slow organization. The benefit differences between staff (permanent employees) and contractual employees are big. It's only possible to work as a contractual employee for a 3 years period once in a lifetime.

    Continue reading

    Inter-American Development Bank Response

    May 12, 2020Sourcing

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Working at the IDB is a complete international experience. We have 48 member countries, and we are proud of this. Our diversity allows us to understand different realities, know new flavors, and even learn a language, as we have four official languages at the Bank: Spanish, English, French, and Portuguese. At the IDB, we care about our employees’ career development. We offer international experience, with more than 25 offices in Latin America and the Caribbean.

  10. "Great place to build up a career in the LAC region"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Inter-American Development Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Salary is very competitive, flexible schedule, professional growth

    Cons

    Consultants don't get many options to become staff

    Continue reading

    Inter-American Development Bank Response

    May 12, 2020Sourcing

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We work every day to improve lives in Latin America and the Caribbean and strive to offer a rewarding positive experience for all our employees.

Found 229 reviews