John Hancock Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

John Hancock Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 507 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
John Hancock CEO Marianne Harrison
Marianne Harrison
61 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Overall Experience as assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fast team - Reliable - Fairly compensated - Over time rate was high

    Cons

    - A Lot of contact hours -

    John Hancock2019-08-11

    John Hancock Response

    August 14, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to know you are having a positive experience.

  2. "Good Company but millennials should avoid and agile effort is a failure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Director in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Has good business and has been in business for a long time so in theory potentially stable. Good Flexibility and Work/Life can be good in many areas. The company is at the very least is trying to change.

    Cons

    Constant re-orgs and layoffs with no logic to the moves. Work-life depends where you sit. Way, way too many managers from 1980s in IT and in the business, completely backward ways of thinking. Not a place for millennials to spend more than a year or two at. The worst kind of cronyism in many departments imagine lumberg has copied himself and filled the operations area with such folks. The company effort to become... more "agile" is largely a joke with management openly mocking it and undermining it at every level except maybe very senior leadership. I can blame the worker bees for the problems but really senior leadership is to blame for the mixed messages and lack of true leadership.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of a ton of managers who stand in the way of your vision. Do massive re-orgs once and for all. Empower teams to conduct business.

    John Hancock2019-09-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Pros and Cons to working at John Hancock"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scrum Master in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great perks. Good blend of work and life, work from home schedule, 9 paid holidays, including vacation and personal time. Paid maternity and paternity leave. Promotes diversity and safe working environment. You can learn and grow on the job, taking additional training, and by networking with other business areas and employee resource groups.

    Cons

    John Hancock under pays, espcially in emerging tech roles (e.g. scrum master, product owner). Always negotiate with John Hancock if offered a job. They will start at a below mid-point offer. You usually can go to another competitive firm that will offer much more money for doing the same job.

    Advice to Management

    There is a lot great talent a John Hancock, it's not always appreciated, but the company is taking strides to improve that.

    John Hancock2019-09-04

    John Hancock Response

    September 11, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to know you are having a positive experience.

  4. "good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good salary, and benefits, good support and flexible with time needed

    Cons

    disorganized office environment but that was starting to change

    John Hancock2019-08-19

    John Hancock Response

    August 21, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    We're happy to know you had a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible, but very adequate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Super flexible, great work/life balance. Fitness reimbursement available. Good benefits overall. Volunteering actually encouraged, lots of "extracurricular" opportunities. The people I've come across are kind and genuine.

    Cons

    There is a large attitude of "adequacy" at the company. People do just enough and somehow it meets expectations. There is no real upwards mobility, and promotions/pay increases are rare occurrences. People saunter in at 10am and leave the office at 3:59pm, or they just "work from home". A lot of the training/up skilling opportunities are empty offers, and don't truly allow you to develop in your career because there... are no available opportunities to apply them afterwards.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Compensate your people appropriately, but also hire talent that exceeds expectations - not just meets them. Recognize engagement scores are extremely low, and LISTEN to employees and their ideas about how to address this problem.

    John Hancock2019-08-29

    John Hancock Response

    September 11, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you are not having the best experience with us. If you wish to follow up further, please email TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.

  6. "Countless Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The intern program directors do a great job of stressing networking, and encouraging interns to reach out to whomever they want to help them learn more about the company, or gain career advice and company insight. Big group of interns can make for a fun summer too, you won't be the only younger person in your office/building. Debate/Case Study/Presentations are great events as well, and really helped me... practice different ways of public speaking, among other skills.

    Show More

    Cons

    With such a big program, communication between program directors and individuals/individual's managers can lack a bit.

    Advice to Management

    Be very clear-cut within the first two days to all interns (and have individual managers know it as well) the expectations in terms of days off, working from home options, what to do if an intern doesn't have a lot of work to do, and other housekeeping items.

    John Hancock2019-08-08

    John Hancock Response

    August 14, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to know you had a positive experience.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Don't work for RPS Business Intelligence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    work-life balance, paid holidays, remote work from home. people are nice

    Cons

    RPS BI is run by a bunch of idiots who don't understand anything. no recognition for hard work. others being promoted despite doing more work than most of the people. horrible health insurance plan.

    John Hancock2019-09-10

    John Hancock Response

    September 11, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have the best experience with us. If you wish to follow up further, please email TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.

  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and do the right thing

    Cons

    Many processes, moved very slowly

    John Hancock2019-08-05

    John Hancock Response

    August 14, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    We're happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

  9. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Assistant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance. Solid company. High morale.

    Cons

    Very Corporate. Old systems for legacy products.

    John Hancock2019-07-17

    John Hancock Response

    July 19, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

  10. "Managing Spends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Compliance in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good with management and sustainability!

    Cons

    Not really an understatement of what I want to learn about !

    Advice to Management

    To make sure student know what they want

    John Hancock2019-07-17

    John Hancock Response

    July 26, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to know you had a positive experience.

Found 507 reviews