John Hancock Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

John Hancock Reviews

Updated 21 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 492 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
John Hancock CEO Marianne Harrison
Marianne Harrison
51 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Not trustworthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    A paycheck is all its worth.

    Cons

    Not trustworthy for an insurance company

    John Hancock2019-06-10
  2. "Great first job to get experience, no room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great company and benefits -Fun culture and everyone is really nice and supportive - Executives are accessible - Exposed to a lot of different departments

    Cons

    - Pay is low - No room for growth - Claim they like to hire within but they just go externally - Management is afraid of conflict and never addresses any issues

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to address conflict and have tough conversations with people. They string people along or let them perform poorly without every actually saying anything. They essentially promote mediocracy.

    John Hancock2019-05-21

    John Hancock Response

    May 27, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. If you wish to follow up further, please email TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.

  3. "Stay away! Unless you don’t have other options."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at John Hancock

      Pros

      I hate to admit that I can’t find anything good to say about the company. Maybe I drew the short straw and had the worst managers. But companies are their people, I’m just glad I exited to a better company.

      Cons

      Diversity is a huge issue. Promotion is based on how well you can kiss the management’s rears. I have witnessed a senior manager praised an employee for the long hours spent in the office, but not the ones who works more efficiently with less hours. The list goes on.

      John Hancock2019-06-21
    • "A job you get when you want to settle down"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Account Representative in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Work-Life Balance Work from home Easy to get to (commuting ) Great name Easy interviews

      Cons

      Boring company Not a lot of stress on employee appreciation

      Advice to Management

      Have more exciting things for employees

      John Hancock2019-05-30

      John Hancock Response

      May 31, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

      We are happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

    • "Current Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Investment Analyst in Boston, MA

      I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      people, great benefits and strong culture

      Cons

      hours, sometimes management seems disconnected

      John Hancock2019-05-14

      John Hancock Response

      May 15, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

      We are happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Compliance Manager 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      An established company with brand recognition.

      Cons

      The technology for the firm lags behind other firms that are well established in the industry

      John Hancock2019-04-29

      John Hancock Response

      May 3, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know you had a positive experience.

    • "Large but slow to move"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Benefits, Remote work, Work/Life Balance, great Back Bay location

      Cons

      Too large to make changes quickly, very focused on bottom line, constantly cutting expenses, financial technology is lacking

      John Hancock2019-04-27

      John Hancock Response

      May 3, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to know you had a positive experience.

    • "Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Consultant in Bloomington, IN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at John Hancock part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great company to work for, yes

      Cons

      None that I know of

      Advice to Management

      None that I can give

      John Hancock2019-04-23

      John Hancock Response

      May 3, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know you are having a positive experience.

    • "To much back office work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales in Overland Park, KS
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at John Hancock full-time

      Pros

      Great name recognition. Competitive premiums in most lines.

      Cons

      No leads, hard to find prospects.

      Advice to Management

      Have a better lead system.

      John Hancock2019-05-01

      John Hancock Response

      May 3, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to know you are having a positive experience.

    • "A great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at John Hancock full-time

        Pros

        Great people, care about their employees and clients

        Cons

        Matrix management structure leads to competing priorities

        John Hancock2019-04-01

        John Hancock Response

        April 8, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

        Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know you are having a positive experience.

      Found 492 reviews