Keirton Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Keirton Reviews

Updated 14 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
95%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Keirton CEO Jay Evans (no image)
Jay Evans
22 Ratings
  1. "Great Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keirton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Keirton strives to help people grow, customers and employees alike. The company is willing to provide opportunities for further development, including internal or external training, cross training, and new responsibility/accountability. Company is heavy on goal setting. Once a quarter, employees does goal setting that contribute to the overall company goals. These are tied to quarterly bonuses. - Colleagues are great to work with. People are open and honest. It's a collaborative atmosphere. There are BBQs, beer Fridays, catered lunches, etc throughout the year to build that comradery between colleagues. - Management listens to people want. After events or activities, there are feedback surveys done. Mental health is taken seriously and there are mental health initiatives. - Team morning huddles, Friday company wide huddles, Team meetings, one on ones are ways to ensure transparency in delivering information, goals and initiatives. - Environment is fast paced and everyday is something different. - Management recognizes deficiencies and make changes to correct them. However, these take time and can't be fixed overnight.

    Cons

    - Limited office space. Lack of proper desk in certain areas and tough to book meeting spaces especially for conference calls. - Parking spots are limited. They're on a first come first serve basis so if you come in late or go out during the day, you may lose your parking spot. If the road is undergoing some work or there's no parking allowed, nearest parking spots are a bit of a walk, especially in poor weather. - Revisit the employee compensation package as the whole quarterly bonus shouldn't be fully tied to the goal setting structure. It's very discouraging and demotivating when employees are unable to hit goals due to circumstances beyond their control. - Lack of structure and clear processes. There is lack of clarity as to who does what in the process or what is the process. - The company is growing faster than the people can keep up with. Depending on the position, the capacities are maxes and distribution of workload to other maxed capacity staff doesn't make the situation better. Although I've pointed out a number of cons, there are changes being made to fix the situation. As mentioned above, management recognizes the issues and are have plans in place to fix them. Rome wasn't built in a day.

    Continue reading
    Keirton2020-02-14
  2. "Keirton is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keirton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunities for growth Fast paced environment Great people and culture Innovative

    Cons

    Experiencing growing pains from rapid growth

    Continue reading
    Keirton2020-02-05

    Keirton Response

    February 17, 2020CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. And thank you for helping us through our growing pains. We appreciate the feedback and support.

    Continue reading
  3. "Rapidly growing business with an eye to find solid people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keirton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Business is actively looking to find the best people to help improve. People are treated well; respected at all levels; given the necessary resources to succeed.

    Cons

    Space is tight both for warehouse and office in Surrey;

    Continue reading
    Keirton2020-02-03
  4. "Best Company I have worked for in years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Marketing in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keirton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As a long-time consultant I have worked alongside a large amount of companies. From massive corporations to small startups, I was able to get an inside look as to how they ran their business, interfaced with vendors and treated their employees. Very early in my career I had one stop with small start up that was only 5 people deep. It was the great mix of driven people that truly cared about the work that was done but also cared about each other personally. This small but nimble group had always set the standard for how I view all companies. Since joining Keirton 9 months ago, I can say that a new standard has been set. For an office of this size, it is impressive to feel how everyone is driving in the same direction. From morning huddles, to quarterly townhalls management is very transparent with goals and initiatives. Internal growth is welcome, staff is offered training opportunities and bonuses are tied to specific work deliverables. From a culture standpoint, there are BBQs, beer Fridays, an in-office gym and company excursions. The biggest one for me though is having a leader in the CEO Jay Evans. He has such a vision of the industry and does well to not only facilitate greatness but also cares about his people and drives our Mental Health initiatives in office. When a leader shows both care in the business but in his people as well it is hard to not be inspired. Since joining, I have recommended Keirton to many of my network. It truly is a great place to work.

    Cons

    Office space is tight but when you are a company that is growing as fast as ours it is to be expected. Parking spots fill up quick but there is always plenty of free street parking. Employee benefits packages need to be revisited. Living in Vancouver, the commute to Surrey isn't ideal, but considering it is counter traffic it is only a 25 min drive and given the makeup of the team, it is fully worth it.

    Keirton2020-02-03
  5. "Great People, great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Purchaser in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keirton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Keirton hiring staff pays close attention to ensure candidates are good fit for the company culture. This results in a very high level of trust, integrity & alignment of all staff in the companies core values. This company doesn't just talk the talk, they walk the walk; from top to bottom and side-to-side, everyone strives to make this company and work environment the best it can be. I like the flexible hours, the bonuses paid for exceptional results, the improved benefits, and the fun events; not to mention we make very cool products.

    Cons

    As a positive person, every down-side has it's upside. Keirton does a good job at recognizing what needs to be improved. We are going through the growing pains that every fast moving successful company goes through which is needing to re-vamp the systems that are no longer support sufficient growth, hiring new staff to help keep up with crazy off-the-charts sales, and expanding the physical space to be able to handle the growth. This all takes extra effort, so if you are up to the challenge of a fast-paced environment & improving as you go, the benefits will be there.

    Continue reading
    Keirton2020-02-03
  6. "The most challenging AND rewarding job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Manager in Ferndale, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keirton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quarterly goal-setting focuses work and offers rewards for a job well done. Friendly and casual workplace. Work/life balance is a priority. Leadership team listens and shares. Mental health awareness. Beer Fridays!

    Cons

    Seasonality in business can lead to some stressful times during the year.

    Continue reading
    Keirton2020-02-02
  7. "Long-term employee for a reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager, EA 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keirton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have been at Keirton for over 9 years, working my way up to new roles the entire way. There are many opportunities to grow with-in the company, and especially so right now. Great diverse culture, intentionally set by the Core Values the company instills. Many benefits offered including contributions to savings, further education and training for professional development, employee incentives, socials and celebrations.

    Cons

    None other than lack of office, shop and parking space; all of which will soon be no problem.

    Keirton2020-02-01
  8. "Helping People Grow is what they believe in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keirton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Opportunity for growth -They are big on people & culture -Happy environment to work in -profit sharing -Great Benefits -Everyone is so friendly and works together -flexible hours

    Cons

    - Parking can be limited - Space in the Surrey warehouse/office is starting to get tight (need more room) with the growing of employees

    Continue reading
    Keirton2020-02-12
  9. "Hey you, Click here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keirton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I'm two weeks away from my second year with Keirton Inc. I work remotely in the US and cover a few states within my territory. My position in the company requires close to 60% travel. As a Territory Sales Manager or Field Rep, you will be covering a large territory by car & plane. Relax, you do get the weekend's off and they don't expect you to work 12 hour days. If you enjoy traveling, meeting new people, building strong relationships, and building something special... look no further! Typical work week's are Monday -Friday with the weekends off. Exceptions to this would be trade shows or vendor days with our retailers which happen maybe 6-10 times a year. I've watched the company grow from 48 employees to now almost 80. I've witnessed promotions achieved within the company. Hard work, commitment, and being a team player pays off in the long run here. My Pros: I love my work family, I've never once felt micro-managed, You own your role in the company, Good Healthcare benefits, Travel Reimbursements - build those points up! Vacation time is great - specifically the longer you work here, Retirement Plan, Profit Sharing, Good base salary with quarterly bonuses that are achievable, fun office environment - I fly into Canada about 2-3 times a year. No drama, We really don't have a lot of turnover, We really do help businesses grow - which is a great feeling to have at the end of every work day. Our leadership team actually listens to what our employees say, want, and need. Which is a huge plus in my book.

    Cons

    It can be stressful at times and that's the only reason why I gave this review 4 stars instead of 5. Forecasting for any industry is never easy. Traveling quite a bit can sometimes get old. Until I remember working my corporate desk job 3 years ago and laugh. That being said, if you're not a little stressed from time to time, you most likely don't care anymore. At least that's what I've noticed. Some of these reviews have complaints about the parking. I don't work at the main office so I don't notice this. The last I heard a month ago, we're looking to move into a bigger building soon - So maybe take a breathe and "Walk it off" - Dad joke. We could use more team players. We gradually get busier every quarter, especially in the US with new states opening up. So hiring the right people to fill these new roles is crucial to our companies growth.

    Continue reading
    Keirton2020-02-06
  10. "Understaffed, gone downhill, everyone on edge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Keirton full-time

    Pros

    Most people are pretty nice. Family feeling. Benefits are good. Industry is booming so there is so much opportunity.

    Cons

    Major growing pains. No parking. Pay on the low side. Staff is low causing stress to be high. Turnover high due to the stress. ERP not well setup, adds extra complexity to simple processes.

    Continue reading
    Keirton2019-01-24

    Keirton Response

    February 2, 2020CEO

    Thank you for your comments. It's great you find the people here nice, we are a lucky group! I appreciate your concerns regarding our growing pains. We do have limited parking and the area construction has made it more difficult. I can say that we now have parking for 95% of our team and parking on the street is still less than a minute walk to our doors. We have had some challenges hiring some key positions that have added some workload to some. I hope this has been corrected for you and you are no longer affected - otherwise, please let me know. As for the ERP, we have begun to roll out a plan to make changes to our current system. It will be great to hear your feedback once the changes are in place. Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback. Jay

    Continue reading
Found 34 reviews